We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top rated”
Review of Maison Tofani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maison Tofani
Ranked #16 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We know why this is number one. Super location, room and elegant european style. Thanks to Giovanni our 9 nights were seamless. From transport to restaurants to sites we were directed to the best. Planning for another year.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golfhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (998)
There are newer reviews for Maison Tofani
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

512 - 518 of 999 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013

Only stayed one night, but thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Maison Tofani.
Great centrally located accomodation.
Tastefully decorated with one of the most comfy beds Ive ever slept in.
Friendly and helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble.
Lovely breakfast

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We have stayed in Maison Tofani for 4 days while we were exploring Amalfi coast. It is located in very nice area full of authentic shops open until 11 pm. I was surprised how quiet it is. Breakfast there was just amazing! It has home made pastries, many food choices and of course fresh mozzarella. I liked breakfast room decoration. This place has very nice design touch. Room is big and very clean, staff is very welcoming. We enjoyed every moment of staying there. They also suggested a car service to pick us from Naples and drive around the area. We booked a Amalfi coast trip with the driver and pick up from Naples Hotel and back to Naples. It was very nice choice as well. Our driver Gaetano made us enjoy the trip showing nice places and giving us nice tour around.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Just returned from 2 nights stay at Maison Tofani. Every Trip advisor review was accurate, this is a wonderful find and a great comfortable place to stay in the heart of the pedestrian only streets of Sorrento. The staff was great, especially Luciana and Giovanni as well as the breakfast staff. This was a mother/daughter trip for us and our first time in Sorrento. We booked at Maison Tofani because the reviews on tripadvisor were so positive. The room was large and spacious, very comfortable and nicely decorated and in excellent condition. The location was perfect, amidst the beautiful old streets in the pedestrian only section so no worries about cars zooming by. It was a few blocks to the lift down to the main marina and a 10 minute walk to Marina Grande. The staff is very accommodating with tour and restaurant information as well. I really could not have been more comfortable with the stay. The breakfast area is gorgeous and the buffet is better than any breakfast we have had in Italy. Usually you get a very bland relatively few items to eat, even at the nicer locations we've been to. Here, it is an amazing spread kept fresh and updated throughout the morning, with very kind staff to serve you. I would absolutely stay here again. There are plenty of local restaurants on the hotel street and surrounding streets, however, we wanted to be on the water, so we had dinner at 2 restaurants, one in the main port named Ghibli and one in Marina Grande named Delfino, and both were excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank feinbergx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We are just back from a 10 day family trip to Italy. The first 6 nights were spent at Maison Tofani in Sorrento. I did a lot of research prior to booking and couldn't have been happier. We had 2 rooms- one with a balcony that looked on outo Via San Cesareo and one with a small window for our two adult children to share. Both rooms were large, verty clean and quite comfortable. The room with the small window might not suit everyone as it is dark but again it was clean, very large and had very comfortable beds. We arrived 5 hours late in Sorrento due to issues with United on our outbound flight. We wer tired and not in great spirits. Giovanni was great, they got us settled right away and made us feel at home. He was also helpful in providing tips for our daily excursions. He helped find a tour guide for the Amalfi Coast one day and we had the most enjoyable day with Gaetano. If you get a chance to spend with a day with him I would highly receommend it. I am smilinmg as I write just thinking about our day!
The breakfasts at Maison Tofani are deserving of a paragraph on their own! Maria baked daily and one day was more enjoyable and intersting than the next. She also grilled fresh veggies from her garden, fresh juice from her garden too. The breakfasts were top of the list of our meals in Italy. She even shared one of the recipes which will will try to recreate at home soon.
Sorrento was a perfect home base. We did day trips to Positano, Capri, Pompei and a day with Gatano in Amalfi and Ravello( with stops at a local mozzarello factory and limoncello facory). All travel was quite easy and all 4 of us had a great time.
To compare, following this trip we headed to Rome and stayed at Hotel Eden which is a 4.5-5* property. Neither the food nor the rooms were as nice as Maison Tofani nor were the staff as friendly and helpful. I would hightly recceond this property and will return again one day if I am lucky.

Room Tip: The rooms with bacony are nice and sunny and even though there is a busy side street it is very quie...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loro_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at Maison Tofani as part of our honeymoon & we loved it! It is on one of the main streets in Sorrento but feels a hundred miles away from the hustle & bustle.

The staff are attentive & friendly, the breakfast was sumptuous & our loft room was beautifully decorated - the complimentary bottle of Prosecco waiting for us when we arrived was very much appreciated.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

As others have noted, Maison Tofani is a wonderful place to stay. The small hotel is marvelous. The buffet breakfast is excellent with 30+ items daily. They change many of the offerings every day too.

We loved our loft rooms. The quality of the furnishings, bedding, and decor was superior. They were also very, very clean.

We were warmly welcomed by the owner, Maria, and all of the staff. Giovanni, the guest relations manager, was outstanding. We interacted with him daily. He had great suggestions for restaurants (Ghibli and REfoods were especially good), sights to visit, shops, etc. As in all great hotels, he corrected one small problem we had with exceptional customer service. He is a real asset to this property.

If I am ever in this part of Italy again, I won't stay anywhere else. Kudos to all!

Room Tip: The loft rooms are great. 301 and 303 both have private balconies with views over the rooftops and...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love2BaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,728 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Tofani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Tofani

Address: Via San Cesareo 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £95 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Tofani 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While staying at the Maison Tofani, an elegant relais located in the historical centre of Sorrento, you will have the feeling of being surrounded by an atmosphere rich in history and charm.Maison Tofani is a magical and quiet place where renewed splendour of the eighteenth century is combined with modern elements.The picturesque entrance is that of a typical courtyard in a Neapolitan palace.The rooms are furnished with taste and elegance and equipped with all comforts, particularly suitable for the stay of even the most demanding and selective clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maison Tofani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Tofani Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing