We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel & Impeccable Service”
Review of Maison Tofani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maison Tofani
Ranked #19 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Beautiful Hotel & Impeccable Service”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in July 2012. Sorrento was our last stop on a 10 day trip to Italy that also included Rome, Florence, and Venice. We both overwhelming agree that Sorrento and Maison Tofani were the best place and hotel that we visited during our trip. Before we arrived in Sorrento, we reserved a driver from the Naples train station and booked the Capri boat tour and Amalfi Coast private car tour through the hotel manager, Giovanni. All the great things said about Giovanni on this website are true - he knows everyone and every place in Sorrento and will bend over backwards to make sure you are taken care of. We figured that out before we arrived in Sorrento due to a bonehead mistake on my part. I mistakenly left our passports in the hotel safe in Venice and didn't realize it until we were on the train to Sorrento. Rather than turn around, I called Giovanni, and he went out of his way to call our Venice hotel and attempt to arrange delivery services, even contacting his friends in Venice to see if they were coming to Sorrento that weekend. In the end, we had no other option but to head back to Venice, but the effort put forth by Giovanni was outstanding. On a side note, our driver's name for transportation from the train station and for the Amalfi Coast tour was Gaetano Franza. We highly recommend Gaetano - he was entertaining, full of local knowledge, and a great driver on the treacherous Amalfi coast roads (nice car too). As for the Maison Tofani, the rooms were clean and beautifully decorated, and the beds were comfortable. We sighed in relief as we opened our hotel room door - not only was the Maison Tofani the nicest hotel of our trip, it was also the most affordable. It was a great way to spend the last few days of our hectic trip. The breakfast was delicious, and the staff always greeted us with a smile (unusual based on our other experiences). The location of the hotel is central to Sorrento with shops and restaurants up and down the hotel street and surrounding area. Be sure to bring a bottle of wine and some glasses up to the roof for a romantic spot to enjoy the sounds of Sorrento. If we are ever lucky enough to be back in Sorrento, this will be our hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevo713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    131
    22
    8
    1
See reviews for
218
575
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We totally enjoyed our stay. The breakfast room and the buffet food was amazing, thanks to Maria. The assistance offered to us by Giovanni was invaluable. The room and bathroom were lovely, clean and spacious. The building had the look and feel of a palazzio especially the dining room and the lounge. Very centrally located, but the hotel is on a small, very busy pedestrian only street, and this prevents automobile access to the hotel. We would definetly stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Israel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 week trip to Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast and Maison Tofani is without doubt the clear winner of the 4 hotels we stayed in.

The hotel is a beautiful building, you feel like royalty when you're eating the delicious breakfast (which was the best we had in Italy by the way - nowhere else was I eating two cakes every morning!). The room was big and the bed so comfortable, a powerful shower in a spacious bathroom. We only booked a classic room so I can only imagine how amazing the superior rooms must be. There is a lovely roof terrace with a shower for when you don't fancy heading down to the beach and paying €16pp for a sunbed.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful, Giovanni gave us plenty of good recommendations including hiring a bike and heading out of Sorrento to Nerano one day which we really enjoyed.

This was the best hotel we stayed in during our time in Italy - I've just stepped off the plane home and already can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CR1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed here on our recent trip to Italy that included Venice, Florence and Rome.
This was without a doubt the best hotel that we stayed in during our 2 week trip.
The location is exceptional, with balconies overlooking the charming via San Cesareo. It is an easy walk from the train station.
The room was spotless with a comfortable bed.
The staff - particularly Giovanni - were always friendly, helpful and accommodating, with useful tips to make our touring easy.
The breakfast was delectable, many items grown in the owners garden. The attention to detail given to everything that was served was second to none.
Sorrento is the perfect home base to stay at for touring the Amalfi Coast and Pompeii.
If there was a rating higher than Excellent, this hotel would deserve it.

Room Tip: We booked the loft room but only stayed in it one night. The other 4 nights we were upgraded to a su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmb550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This hotel was situated less than a 10-minute walk from the train station in one direction, and the marina in the other. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable and included a small kitchenette and a safe. They serve an amazing breakfast in a nicely-decorated room. What we liked most about this hotel was the staff. They were extremely helpful and friendly, which really makes a huge difference (helping with directions, recommendations, and travel arrangements). We'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordo_from_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

The good: gorgeous, spacious room and breakfast area, excellent location. Walk to train & harbor. Most succulent breakfast, with perfect cappuccino made to order. High end linens. Friendly, knowledgeable staff. The less than perfect: air conditioning so-so (it was hot outside), shower made noises on its own at odd times, breakfast 8 - 10 impedes an early start.
Also: it's a B & B, not a hotel, so the office locks up somewhere around 9 PM. The ugly: you can't drive here and it's hard to find. Small ped only street. So if you do want to pick up or drop your car, they call, you wait. But while you're there much better to take train to Herculaneum & Pompeii. They were nice & gave us a little break on price at the end due to our complaints on the car hassles.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ProfDRS98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

...otherwise everyone will want to stay here and we'll never get a room again! Just loved it here. It might be a small hotel but the attention to detail is faultless. I loved the building, which is a converted palacio and the fact it was so central. Our room and bathroom were large and spotless and the bed was sooo comfy. Everyone was friendly. Special mention must go to the manager Giovanni who was welcoming and very helpful. The breakfast also deserves a credit (now on a diet!).

We will definitely stay here again. If we can get a room!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ceri-anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,308 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,694 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Tofani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Tofani

Property: Maison Tofani
Address: Via San Cesareo 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Tofani 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While staying at the Maison Tofani, an elegant relais located in the historical centre of Sorrento, you will have the feeling of being surrounded by an atmosphere rich in history and charm.Maison Tofani is a magical and quiet place where renewed splendour of the eighteenth century is combined with modern elements.The picturesque entrance is that of a typical courtyard in a Neapolitan palace.The rooms are furnished with taste and elegance and equipped with all comforts, particularly suitable for the stay of even the most demanding and selective clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maison Tofani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Tofani Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing