We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Maison Tofani”
Review of Maison Tofani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maison Tofani
Ranked #16 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We loved Maison Tofani. Everything about our stay was wonderful. Giovani (the manager) was extremely helpful in booking tours. Our room was beautiful. The breakfasts were incredible with beautiful cakes, fresh fruit and cappuccino. The breakfast room is beautiful with a wonderful painted ceiling. They also have a nice rooftop garden. We would definitely stay there again if we go back to Sorrento.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

515 - 521 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

We just stayed three nights at Maison Tofani, after more than two weeks on a group tour throughout Europe. We were looking for a relaxing town and relaxing hotel to wind down from our trip. The location is on the perfect street for shopping and strolling. No cars, so any noise you might hear comes from shoppers, church bells or the occasional moped. The room was spacious, and the bathroom and shower meet the larger American standards, which is a welcome site compared to the tiny showers we encountered at previous hotels. Large complimentary breakfast with familiar American tastes and Italian. Giovanni and the other staff were always helpful and available. Worth the extra cost if you want comfort and romance.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My fiancé and I spent four nights at Maison Tofani in early July 2013. The hotel has a perfect location. A short walk down to the sea, lots of near by shops and restaurants and less than a ten minute walk to the bus/train station.

All the staff were really friendly and helpful, particularly Giovanni who was always happy to answer any questions we had. We stayed in the family room and realised from other reviews that it didn't have a view from the window - however this was no problem. The room was very spacious and had air conditioning. We could also make use of the rooftop terrace which was really nice.

Breakfast was excellent. Plenty to choose from and a lovely cappuccino every morning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the fabulous Maison Tofani in beautiful Sorrento. Despite the fact that the entryway is unassuming, the residence is absolutely fantastic. Giovanni greeted us upon our arrival and immediately we knew we had found a hidden gem! Informative and helpful, he gave us great information on where to eat, ferries to take to Capri, and how to navigate the area. Our room was large, clean and very comfortable. We had a balcony overlooking the pedestrian-only street and access to the roof deck, which provided a terrific view of a gorgeous city. Breakfast was a great surprise with a home cooked feast provided every day. From the fresh juice to the assortment of cakes, this was a meal fit for a king. We hope to return to this wonderful place and definitely to Maison Tofani!

Room Tip: Definitely choose a loft room with the wooden beamed ceiling and access to the roof deck and a balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in July 2012. Sorrento was our last stop on a 10 day trip to Italy that also included Rome, Florence, and Venice. We both overwhelming agree that Sorrento and Maison Tofani were the best place and hotel that we visited during our trip. Before we arrived in Sorrento, we reserved a driver from the Naples train station and booked the Capri boat tour and Amalfi Coast private car tour through the hotel manager, Giovanni. All the great things said about Giovanni on this website are true - he knows everyone and every place in Sorrento and will bend over backwards to make sure you are taken care of. We figured that out before we arrived in Sorrento due to a bonehead mistake on my part. I mistakenly left our passports in the hotel safe in Venice and didn't realize it until we were on the train to Sorrento. Rather than turn around, I called Giovanni, and he went out of his way to call our Venice hotel and attempt to arrange delivery services, even contacting his friends in Venice to see if they were coming to Sorrento that weekend. In the end, we had no other option but to head back to Venice, but the effort put forth by Giovanni was outstanding. On a side note, our driver's name for transportation from the train station and for the Amalfi Coast tour was Gaetano Franza. We highly recommend Gaetano - he was entertaining, full of local knowledge, and a great driver on the treacherous Amalfi coast roads (nice car too). As for the Maison Tofani, the rooms were clean and beautifully decorated, and the beds were comfortable. We sighed in relief as we opened our hotel room door - not only was the Maison Tofani the nicest hotel of our trip, it was also the most affordable. It was a great way to spend the last few days of our hectic trip. The breakfast was delicious, and the staff always greeted us with a smile (unusual based on our other experiences). The location of the hotel is central to Sorrento with shops and restaurants up and down the hotel street and surrounding area. Be sure to bring a bottle of wine and some glasses up to the roof for a romantic spot to enjoy the sounds of Sorrento. If we are ever lucky enough to be back in Sorrento, this will be our hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevo713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We totally enjoyed our stay. The breakfast room and the buffet food was amazing, thanks to Maria. The assistance offered to us by Giovanni was invaluable. The room and bathroom were lovely, clean and spacious. The building had the look and feel of a palazzio especially the dining room and the lounge. Very centrally located, but the hotel is on a small, very busy pedestrian only street, and this prevents automobile access to the hotel. We would definetly stay here again.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Israel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 week trip to Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast and Maison Tofani is without doubt the clear winner of the 4 hotels we stayed in.

The hotel is a beautiful building, you feel like royalty when you're eating the delicious breakfast (which was the best we had in Italy by the way - nowhere else was I eating two cakes every morning!). The room was big and the bed so comfortable, a powerful shower in a spacious bathroom. We only booked a classic room so I can only imagine how amazing the superior rooms must be. There is a lovely roof terrace with a shower for when you don't fancy heading down to the beach and paying €16pp for a sunbed.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful, Giovanni gave us plenty of good recommendations including hiring a bike and heading out of Sorrento to Nerano one day which we really enjoyed.

This was the best hotel we stayed in during our time in Italy - I've just stepped off the plane home and already can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CR1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
603 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
2,386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Tofani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Tofani

Address: Via San Cesareo 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £85 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Tofani 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While staying at the Maison Tofani, an elegant relais located in the historical centre of Sorrento, you will have the feeling of being surrounded by an atmosphere rich in history and charm.Maison Tofani is a magical and quiet place where renewed splendour of the eighteenth century is combined with modern elements.The picturesque entrance is that of a typical courtyard in a Neapolitan palace.The rooms are furnished with taste and elegance and equipped with all comforts, particularly suitable for the stay of even the most demanding and selective clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Maison Tofani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Tofani Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing