We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hands down, the best hotel we have ever stayed in”
Review of Maison Tofani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maison Tofani
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hands down, the best hotel we have ever stayed in”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Maison Tofani was fantastic in every way. It's beautifully renovated with great style and immaculate. Although the hotel is located on a main shopping street, our room was quiet (except of the church bells but nothing can be done about that). The staff was friendly and accommodating and their advice was excellent. But the high point was the breakfast. A wall's length of grilled vegetables and fresh fruit, many grown in the garden of Maria, the proprietor. Another wall's length of pastries and cakes baked by Maria, many filled with jams and compotes made from those fruits. Eggs from her hens. Delicious coffee. And the breakfast room, with its frescoes and high ceilings was gorgeous. We hated leaving. Btw, try Maria's husbands restaurant, La Lanterna- it's excellent and when you mention you're staying at Maison Tofani, they'll put on a real fuss.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bostontraveler025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stofani, Proprietario at Maison Tofani, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Guests,
I read with pleasure that your stay at Maison Tofani, was greatly appreciated.
I hope to see you again and we count you as among our special guests.
I send to you our kindest regards.

Maria D’Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    783
    122
    19
    6
    1
See reviews for
201
547
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We loved this accommodation gem....beautiful clean, large room in a lovely old and creatively renovated old building. It was so wonderful to open the shutters and peer down into the exciting, busy street and shops in the morning, and then close them at night and enjoy perfect quiet. It rained while we were there, but no matter. Giovanni is wonderful, and the decorating guru (Maria) made me give her a try at my home here in Canada. Highly recommend. You will love it.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room overlooking the street and loved it.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stofani, Proprietario at Maison Tofani, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guests,
I’m very glad that you had a pleasant stay at my Maison.
Thank you for your wonderful comments about the room and the breakfast
We hope to see you again as soon as possible!
Together with my staff, I send you our kindest regards.

Maria d’Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Maison Tofani was GREAT--Perfect location-clean comfy friendly. Fabulous breakfast with everything from eggs to meats to fruits to DOLCE- great food. We enjoyed our 3 night stay AND GIOVANNI was wonderful-friendly, helpful and always with a smile---He is an asset to Maison Tofani
Also, Russ was the tops too. We look forward to returning to Sorrento and will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aviano2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stofani, Proprietario at Maison Tofani, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guests,
We hope to see you soon again at Maison Tofani. It’s with great pleasure that we read your words and your review about our hotel.
Thank you very much.

Maria D’Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Maison Tofani is located in the small, pedestrianised shopping area of Sorrento. Entering between two enormous wooden doors into a old stone courtyard the ancient appearance of the building is delightful, there was a book for sale at the hotel detailing it's history and restoration.

We were shown around the hotel by Nunziana who took us to our room up a few flights of ancient flagstone steps, your bags are taken up in the lift and there is lift access if required. Our room was 104, the room was a generous size, the floor beautifully tiled, with a high wooden ceiling giving the impression of space and light. The bathroom appeared newly tiled with a power shower, double basins and good lighting. Tea/coffee making facilities are supplied with decent size cups, and plenty of wardrobe space and hangers.

When I first sat on the bed I initially thought oh dear the bed feels a little hard however, I was amazed to see it was a new memory foam mattress with pillows of the same. I can honestly say that this was one of the first times we both woke without bad backs in the morning, especially after all the walking we were doing. The bed was incredibly comfortable the sheets and towels were changed regularly and the room was immaculate.

Maison Tofani is basically a very upmarket bed and breakfast. It has a small bar for pre dinner drinks, but it is not a hotel with pool, spa, etc. This is a place to stay and explore the area. There are so many museums and places of historic interest to visit a short walk away, and the hotel supply beach towels should you wish to visit the beaches close to hand.

Breakfast was a generous choice of cooked food, typical Italian breakfast with roast vegetables, eggs, meat, sausage, olives, served alongside more traditional continental hotel breakfast of breads, pastries, cereal, juice etc. It is a self serve buffet in another beautiful room with incredible frescos on the ceiling. coffees and tea are served to you at the table.

Our room being over the main street I was concerned we might have suffered evening noise, but not so. The pedestrianised streets are quiet late at night, but there are two large shutters to close over the window which blocks out any stray noise you may hear. A quiet room and a comfy bed what more could you ask?

We spent four nights at Mason Tofani in October and had a few days rain mixed with sun which enabled us to see all the sights and more. Giovanni the manager was incredibly helpful and also arranged for a guide for Pompeii and taxi's to and from the airport.

Gaetano was our driver who also does day tours to mozzarella, olive oil and limoncello factories taking in the Amalfi Coastlne. We did not get the chance to do that trip but are returning to take in more of this beautiful place, and take this trip where I understand you get to sample the goods!

Giovanni also re-arranged my flights home and they kindly supplied me with a packed breakfast the previous night as I was leaving before breakfast was served, which I felt was very thoughtful.

Overall I would thoroughly recommend Maison Tofani, for the warm welcome, standard of , service and facilities, also it's situation, it is a 10 minute walk to the station and about a 15 minute walk down to the sea being centrally located. It is close to many good restaurants, so taxi's are not required just good walking shoes as the streets are ancient flagstones that can be slightly uneven.

Giovanni and all your staff, thank you for a memorable stay, we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 332SMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stofani, Proprietario at Maison Tofani, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guests,
I want to thank you for your detailed description and for the great review that I’ve received for my Maison.
I’m glad that you had a pleasant stay.
We are waiting for you again as soon as possible.
Together with my staff, I send you our kindest regards,

Maria D’Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I am almost reluctant to write a review - attracting too many people will make this place harder to get into and raise prices.

After 3 days in the disappointing Hotel Regina, we moved here for 2 more nights. What a contrast! Located in a beautifully renovated 17th century building, Mason Tofani boasts large rooms with high ceilings, beautifully finished with the bathroom being brand new. Located in the busiest Street in the old town of Sorrento, there is no vehicular traffic, but plenty of foot traffic. However, it is very quiet at night, so you won't have any trouble sleeping unless you like to sleep during the day.

Service from Giovanni at reception is excellent and the breakfasts are outstanding. Maria, the owner and manager is an elegant lady with style (she oversaw the renovation - an exceedingly well-done renovation including copies of original floor tiles, doors etc., hand-made and individually designed furniture; she also is intimately involved with creating the breakfasts. I don't want to omit the cleaning staff, backup reception and porters who are all good.

On departure after 2 great nights there, we were touched and delighted by the warm embrace Maria gave us both.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gnomeaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stofani, Proprietario at Maison Tofani, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guests,
On behalf of the Maison Tofani staff, I want to thank you for your kindness and for your beautiful words. They make us feel gratified with our work!
We hope to see you again as soon as possible.
Best regards,

Maria D’Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, Ca
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

On the spur of the moment, having an extra day enroute to our rented apt in Maiori, we looked up places to stay in Sorrento for one night and picked Maison Tofani based on favorable reviews. ARE WE GLAD WE DID! Don't do like we did however, you'll not want to leave after only one night. If we could do it over we'd spend our entire week here. It's a converted palazzo, spacious rooms, beautifully appointed bathrooms, absolutely delicious breakfast menu with lots of home-made delicacies, reliable Wi-Fi, and an unbeatable location. But best of all is the friendly and gracious welcome throughout your stay. Thanks Maria, Anunziana and Giovanni, and all the staff, even the driver contracted by the hotel to pick us up at the car park and escort us to the hotel pedestrian area....Mille Grazie!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stofani, Proprietario at Maison Tofani, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guests,
I read with pleasure that your stay at Maison Tofani, was greatly appreciated.
I hope to see you again and we count you as among our special guests.
I send to you our kindest regards.

Maria D’Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Maison Tofani is located in the heart of the old town of Sorrento so is very conveniently located. However, whilst they have an arrangement for parking, note this is not near the hotel itself. You drive first to the car park and then get transferred to a nearby square where staff meet you to help carry your bags to the hotel which is in a pedestrianised part of the town. The staff, were all extremely obliging and helpful. Being an old palazzo most of the rooms are grand and elegant and the dining room where breakfast is served is especially impressive with a painted ceiling. The breakfast itself is also an impressive buffet, especially if you have a sweet tooth. There were enough cakes and pastries to run a small cake shop! There was also a nice roof terrace from which there is a stunning view across the bay to Vesuvius and a nice spot for an evening drink. I would recommend this hotel if you want a smart, well appointed hotel in the centre of town.

Room Tip: Our room turned out to be in the loft - which is exactly what it was. There were only velux windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmk1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stofani, Proprietario at Maison Tofani, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guests,
On behalf of the Maison Tofani staff, we want to thank you and we are waiting for you here to have another pleasant stay.
Your review and your words make us very happy! They motivate us to always do better too.
We are waiting for you again.

Maria D’Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,903 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Tofani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Tofani

Property: Maison Tofani
Address: Via San Cesareo 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Tofani 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While staying at the Maison Tofani, an elegant relais located in the historical centre of Sorrento, you will have the feeling of being surrounded by an atmosphere rich in history and charm.Maison Tofani is a magical and quiet place where renewed splendour of the eighteenth century is combined with modern elements.The picturesque entrance is that of a typical courtyard in a Neapolitan palace.The rooms are furnished with taste and elegance and equipped with all comforts, particularly suitable for the stay of even the most demanding and selective clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison Tofani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Tofani Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing