We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Location, Location, Clean and Helpful”
5.0 of 5 bubbles

Review of Casa Doretta

10 reviews
Holiday Rental House 3 Bedrooms 3 Bathrooms Sleeps 6 Ask about pets Save
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Reviews from our community

Reviews from our community

5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WiMadcity...
madison, wi
Level Contributor
297 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
Location, Location, Clean and Helpful

We stayed at Casa Doretta for 11 nights at the beginning of April 2013. Our group varied from 2-3 couples depending on the night. Casa Doretta has a great location in Sorrento. It is 1 blocks to the old town with its charming little alleys filled with restaurants and shops, less than a 5 minute walk to Piazza Tasso (main square in town), 10-15 minute walk to the train station (in addition to the trains this is where the busses to the Amalfi coast leave from, in addition there are buses to the Naples and Rome airports, and the Sorrento Hop on Off Tour bus) and about half way to the train station is a good sized supermarket and right around the corner from the apartment is the lift going to the port where all the ships come and go for Capri and the Amalfi coast.
The apartment is in a large building with other apartments, noise was not an issue. It consisted of three large bedrooms each with its own in suite bathroom, the bathrooms are good size for Italy and one is extremely large. It also has a small kitchen which is well equipped with everything you need to cook in. The front two bedrooms and kitchen have balconies overlooking the street where you can sit and enjoy the sun and people watching. Since the building is on a bend in the road you have a full view down the street. Each room including the kitchen has its own AC/Heating unit. We felt very secure since there is a main keyed door on the street level, the 22 steps to a gate which we never locked leading to the apartment and terrace area and then the entrance door to the apartment. The back bedroom also had an entrance that could be used instead of the main entrance, we never used it. Since it was not summer yet we did not use the terrace which was in the back and had no view, it was OK but nothing special. The apartment was well stocked with TP, soap, napkins, towels, linen and cooking utensils and supplies. Fresh towels and linens are supplied midweek.
Vittorio the property manager spoke excellent English and was very helpful in every way. We were arriving by rental car and called him a hour out and he was at the property to meet us, showed us where to park while we unload, which he helped us do. He helped us bring groceries and luggage up to the apartment. He explained the property to us and told us where the supermarket, train station and laundry where and answered our many questions about the apartment, and Sorrento area in general. Since we had time before the rental car agency opened he got in the car with us and gave us a quick tour of the city center and directed us to the rental car return location. At check out he was there promptly at our requested time, 5:30AM and took us and our luggage to the train station in his vehicle. We called him a couple of times with questions and he always responded in a timely manner, we had the feeling were not alone, he was always there if we needed him. Vittorio was very helpful and just a nice person.
The only cons we would have are that the apartment did not have a washing machine, however a self service laundry was a 10 minute walk. Parking is not provided which was not an issue for us. As mentioned in earlier comments the only common area is the small kitchen which with 6 adults can get crowded especially if you're cooking a meal with everyone in the kitchen. This was not a problem since we only cooked in once and just used the kitchen for breakfast, sandwiches and snacks, after all we are on vacation.
Bottom line is we would highly recommend Casa Doretta to anyone and especially those without a vehicle. The location is the best, the apartment is clean. bedrooms are large and the Vittorio is super.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location and the great customer service provided by Vittorio (on site property manager) and Summer In Italy.
Liked least: No common area other than small kitchen and no washing machine
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhartley7...
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
excellent location and homely apartment
1
person found this review helpful

We were met by the owner who arranged for us to be picked up at the local train station and taken to the apartment, he was there to meet us on arrival. The location was perfect and the apartment had every thing we wanted. It had good quality furniture and fittings, we spent many an hour after an evening out on the little balcony off the kitchen watching the world go by. The owner was very helpful when we needed to make a hospital visit and even came by the apartment to check everything was alright. The only thing it lacked was a living room but we really didn't miss it. I would certainly recommend this apartment and would go back again.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cate K
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
a little gem
3
people found this review helpful

we chose this 3 bedroom apartment for a holiday with friends and family to celebrate my husbands birthday. it was perfect in every way.
we caught the 1pm bus from the airport (£10) directly to Sorrento which takes about an hour and a half. Mr Vittorio met us at the bus station and took all of us and our cases to the apartment which is just 5 minutes away. he even helped us up the 22 stairs with our heavy cases.
the apartment was just lovely, and in a great location with fantastic people watching views from the balconys.
the beds were all large and very comfortable.
the bathrooms immaculate with everything you could wish for.
we didn't cook in the kitchen, but we used it for drinks and nibbles and socialising. there were too many excellent restaurants to try. our favourite was REfood down an alleyway not far away where the waiters treated us very well.
do try Marina Grande as there are also some lovely places to eat.

the apartment was a real find and when we had a tiny problem Mr Vittorio came immediately to sort it out for us. it comes highly recommended and we would definately use it again.

the only negative (if you could call it that) 3 sets of keys would have been easier instead of the 2, because sometimes we all went our separate ways for a few hours.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: going home!
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012 for a stay in November 2011
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1,308
/ Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.