We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views and grounds are wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Ranked #39 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I had read less than positive reviews about this hotel. Was I ever surprised how nice the hotel and staff were. Try to get a sea view room- awesome views and so peaceful. The grounds are beautiful with all the flowers and trees. The pool was open and is spectacular. We found the bar staff to be so courteous and attentive. Also the restaurant staff and front desk staff were polite and helpful. While the rooms are not overly decorated, they could use some updating. All in all, we loved the blue and white decor and our stay in Sorrento at this hotel was well worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plhuggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,035)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

The gardens and location of this hotel are wonderful. The rooms are not 5 star, but clean and comfortable. The chairs, and bed linen were first class, contrary to some reviews here. It is a pleasant ten minute walk to the centre of Sorrento, and made a good base for my trips to Pompeii, Herculaneum and Capri. Salvatore the head waiter was a wonderful member of staff, so much so that I took a letter home with me to his relations in Melbourne. I found all the staff attentive and helpful. I would however recommend you go in May; April was just a little chilly for sitting outside at night. See the photos from my huge balcony.

Room Tip: Pay to have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

i researched hard on trip advisor,but it's difficult to know whose review is fair..i love love love Southern Italy the sea views . the food ...and the people...
. IT STARTED BADLY ,A Terrible welcome from Lucca the night manager who didn't even carry our bags and was literally sneering and hostile ...i was exhausted i probably looked like hell, as i had just got out of hospital having lost our baby ... this was supposed to be our dream short break of 3 days away from heartache and stress.. this hotel is massively disappointing , Lucca reluctantly looked at his computer after NOT helping us with luggage and said he wasn't expecting any guests and were we sure we had actually booked ! Made us feel like criminals trying to stay at this rip off joint for free ,we got a room eventually and the next day they found the booking , NO APOLOGY
I asked to move rooms , the smaller room was far more beautiful, the view was far more gorgeous BUT BUT BUT... it's a 5 star folks ,,,
The hotel is such a con, badly designed ,not comfortable, TERRIBLE BATH SO SMALL IT'S A JOKE . scratchy crappy bed covers, .arrogant unhelpful staff, shabby breakfast of powdered eggs and canned juices and all bran ! in a menu that is overpriced to the point of farce .,yes, the styling of the hotel unique and in the sun looks awesome ..but the lighting in the rooms is so hospital and staggeringly UGLY and youa re paying 5 star prices..
.there is simply no way that this place should be given 5 stars let alone 2 ,it's fawlty towers with slightly- better- designed- than- ikea furniture . and the staff are not friendly or helpful ..they don't care,period.
SOME PRAISE FOR THE SPA STAFF
I went to the spa and had my hair done by Isobella ,lovely woman who is Vogue brilliant with cut and colour, i had a beautiful massage and the best manicure pedicure i'v ever had by Marianna , i want everyone to know how great and gifted they are ,my suggestion is to find the salon they workout of in Sorrento and book them from there because they are absolute angels and truly deserve 5 stars and great business i will actually fly back to sorrento to find them again they are that good .
however ,I'm bewildered , how on earth did this place get 5 stars in southern Italy with some of the grandest 5 star hotels on earth ( like Capri's Quisissana)? Someone else said the same thing on here and i wish i'd heeded that feedback because in my opinion they were absolutely right. There are other 5 star hotels in the area that look gorgeous ,,go there instead

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank newyorkcountess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalContinental_Nap, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for share your feedback on TripAdvisor, we apologize that the stay was not up to your expectations and we are very sorry to read that our staff wasn’t very friendly with you, as, in our group we choose only qualified personnel, and as you can see from the reviews of TripAdivisor, our staff always receives many compliments for the kindness and courtesy. Moreover we regret that you failed to fully appreciate the design of famous architect Gio Ponti. The Hotel Parco dei Principi has a well-defined concept that has made him the first "design hotel" of 60 years, at first, to the untrained eye, it may seem "cold", but many have called a masterpiece of 'modern art and it is precisely for this expressed desire to leave to posterity a chance to admire and visit it every environment is left untouched: they are all original interiors, pottery, ceramics, flooring, and furniture that will certainly not come from ikea! About breakfast, we wish to underline that the hotel is equipped with a wide choice of high quality products. However, we hope to host you for a future trip to Sorrento in order to prove that past experience is an isolated case and that our quality standard is much higher.

Kind Regards

Customers Care
Royal Continental Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The garden entrance is beautiful, and that is where it ends. This hotel is old, and in need of a complete refurbishing...walls are cracking, rooms are like a Motel 6, furniture is compressed cardboard....I almost cried when we reached Sorrento after driving a rental and taking 2 trains from Tuscany to get here. We were afraid to go onto the balcony hanging over the cliffs due to all the patch work of cement walls and railing. This place needs a complete overhaul! We called our travel agent in USA (Freedom Tours) as soon as they showed us to our rooms and our Travel agent had Private Tours of Southern Italy (Carmine Ussano) pick us up within 45 minutes and take us to a much better hotel...We lost 1 night hotel cost and Parco dei Principi promised us our other 2 nights refund to be sent to our Travel Agent....we are praying that we receive these refunds...Freedom Tours is following up on their promise after we spoke to front desk two times to get a 2 night refund for each room! We weren't even able to bring ourselves to stay the one night, it was unacceptable and definitely false online advertisement! I do want to say that the staff (especially Rosanna)were kind and tried to help us at least get some kind of refund by calling management for us and securing a promise for a 2 night refund! This was our low point of our dream vaca in Italy and we now wish we had listened to our Travel Agent's recommendations for hotels in Sorrento...we saw the online advertisement for this hotel on the cliffs and were completely scammed.....hire Freedom Tours/Annie Schroeder to do all your foreign travel/hotels/private transfers and private tours....she is definitely a 5 Star!

Room Tip: stay away..minimal is not the word to describe this hotel....it needs to be completely overhauled, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalContinental_Nap, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear Guest,

we apologize if your stay is not up to your expectation, in particular we regret that you failed to fully appreciate the design of famous architect Gio Ponti. The Hotel Parco dei Principi has a well-defined concept that has made him the first "design hotel" of 60 years.
When Gio Ponti was in Sorrento he had to tell 100 different stories in 100 different room and he designed a simple form which could be arranged in in innumerable different compositions. Each floor becomes a unique work, each room is similar but tell a different story.
Gio Ponti with this masterpiece tried to minimize the impact to the nature surrounding the hotel with a botanical garden of 27.000 meters square and placing it above the sea.
We hope you’ll give us the opportunity to show you that the aspect that you notice are not sing of neglect, but arise from the desire to leave untouched the work of Gio Ponti.

Kind Regards

Customer Care
Royal Continental Hotel & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This hotel is no way a five star. The staff is arrogant and unhelpful. The hand you a map or brochure and send you away. It is far from town and the free shuttle is an extra 5 euro to take you 3 more blocks to the harbor. The internet is unreliable and they don't care. The food in the restaurant is poor and over priced. They don't care to refill your tea pot and don't let you choose your tea bag. When we had a problem with not being able to dial out from the room phone, they insisted we were using the phone incorrectly and came to the room to show us how to use the phone! Of course then we had to go to the front desk and found that the phone needed to be configured and then worked just fine. The staff was so unhelpful. They were not interested in helping us plan tours and did not even tell us that reservations were required fron the free shuttle.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The first impression of this hotel are the gardens that surround it. They are very well taken care of. The only problem is the prickly plant right at the entrance. It will destroy your arms/clothes if you happen to run against it.

The day we arrived it was very warm and we turned the air conditioning on only to discover that the A/C only works from June through September. We opened the window and the hallway door to create a breeze to cool off the room. For sleeping we only had to keep the window open and a nice cool breeze (because it was cold) cooled of the room.

The problem with keeping the window opened is that you can hear all the partying that happens in the hotel and will prevent your from sleeping.

The beds were very firm and we really liked it. My problem were the linens that were made of "real linen". They were very crisp and rough to my skin. The bed would have benefited from a mattress pad so you would not feel the mattress ridges.

The room, as well as the entire hotel was blue with white. It was a very pretty look but some of the furniture is old/worn/stained. More attention to the upkeep of the furniture is really needed.

The "lounge chair" in our room was so dirty We did not use it. It really needs to be cleaned just like the bathroom walls. The walls are all moldy and could have used a good scrubbing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VDeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We had a lovely stay and I don't think I can say enough about the Principi. We had booked a sea-view room and upon arrival (without asking) were upgraded to a corner balcony room. The view was breath-taking!!! The rooms are very clean and are minimally decorated. YES, everything is blue and white and reminded me of the late 60's - early 70's but I think that only added to the charm. If you are looking for a plush, ornate hotel then the Principi is not for you.

The beds were very firm and I'm used to very soft so I didn't give sleep quality an excellent rating. My husband, however, loved the firm bed and would definitely give an excellent rating. I loved the crisp, white linens on our bed!!

The staff was very welcoming and seemed to go out of their way to accommodate our every request. Samuele, the maitre d', was one of my favorites, he was always quick with a smile and seemed to have a genuine interest in our well-being. Breakfast was included and there was a good variety each morning.

The hotel grounds and gardens were beautiful and well-maintained. We walked into town each day (about 15-20 minutes) and always enjoyed returning to the private lush gardens.

I highly recommend the Principi and I'm already looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissSunnyHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,585 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,444 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,750 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#37 of 100 in Sorrento
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parco dei Principi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parco dei Principi

Address: Via Bernardino Rota 44, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#44 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £93 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Parco dei Principi 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star accommodation and a prime location sat high on the ancient rampart of tufa, the Parco dei Principi is a testament to the timeless creativity of Gio Ponti, one of the most enlightened advocates of Italian architecture of the 20th century.Between the blue sea of Sorrento Coast and the lush greenery of the botanical gardens, Paul Leopold of Bourbon, the princes of Cortchacow and the entourage of the Russian aristocracy fell in love with this incomparable natural scenery, giving it a solemn historical heritage.Minimal atmosphere and space characterises the 96 rooms with original furnishings designed by Gio Ponti and customized specifically for the Hotel: the famous headboard-beds (1948), toilet set 'Vanity' with circular mirrors (1950), the chair 'Lightweight' (Cassina, 1952) and large fitted wardrobes. A variety of ceramic floors - as many as rooms - in shades of blue and white, in antique Majolica D'Agostino from Salerno, to reflect the colours of the sea and sky of Sorrento: moons, circles, triangles, stars and leaves are also used to tell a different story in every room.At the Restaurant Gio Ponti, a spectacular window over the Gulf of Naples and its islands, the day starts with a grand breakfast. Through striking tunnels in the rock, you arrive at the private beach or at the equipped solarium on the cliff. The pier is home during the summer months to the restaurant Poggio Siracusa where you can enjoy the fresh offerings of the sea accompanied by the sounds of the waves below.Among the horizon, the ancient oaks and the rare trees essences of the enormous botanical park, there is a seawater swimming pool designed by Gio Ponti as 'a mirror of water to wood nymphs'.To restore harmony to the body and spirit, guests can access the Fitness & Beauty Center of the Hotel, the charming majolica rooftop terrace with a view, and the marbled terrace of Villa Cortchacow dating back to the eighteenth century, on which the first ballerina performed to the Court of St. Petersburg.Since 2012, the lobby, with the incredible view of the Gulf has hosted the 'Museum of the Opera', an exhibition of original drawings and furniture in the rooms and in the common areas that have marked the history of Italian design.The business center of the hotel offers several meeting rooms with complimentary Wi-Fi and innovative technology: from the classic style of Sedowa hall with a terrace overlooking the sea, to the most modern modular Leonardo hall, surrounded by the garden Bourbon, with a seat capacity of 350. The outdoor areas offer a pleasant alternative for coffee breaks, lunches and dinners.Within the enchanting scenery of Monti Lattari sloping terraces lined with citrus, Parco dei Principi is an excellent location for pleasant walks through the typical craft shops and luxury shopping streets in the center of Sorrento, and for excursions to the nearby Amalfi Coast, the island of Capri and the archaeological sites of Pompeii and Herculaneum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Parco dei Principi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parco Dei Principi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing