We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Ranked #36 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Stayed here for 2 night during peak season in late July. Stayed in a deluxe sea view room for this time. On the whole, was a nice hotel to stay in. It was reasonably close to the centre of Sorrento and had the handy shuttle bus if all else failed (however was frustrating when it would stop between midday and 1700!). Beach area was nice as was the restaurant at the beach. Breakfast was just okay. Definitely not usual 5 star standard. The room itself was clean and of reasonable size, but certainly nothing spectacular. Again, i wouldn't say the room is of the standard of a 5 star hotel. Would i go again? Probably not, but i still enjoyed my time there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BmitchAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,059)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012

Althought the room itself is not luxourious in any way, it was big and clean and had wi-fi service. If you chose this hotel I really recommend a room with an ocean view, it is totally worth it.

However, if your room has garden view, you can still enjoy the view at breakfast. The gardens are amazingly beautiful and well kept. The pool is quite big! Convenient elevator in the mountain to access the beach and beach restaurant!

Maybe a bit expensive but worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay. I had an ocean view with a nice balcony and the view was absolutely stunning! There was nothing I didn't like! Even the restaurant had awesome food! I, without a doubt, would stay here again.

Room Tip: I suggest an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MadameD677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We have just returned from a week staying at Parco dei Principi in beautiful Sorrento. I was sceptical at first because of some negative reviews about the hotel on TA but found the hotel beautiful and charming and all at a great price which is not to be sneezed at during high season in the bay of Naples!

I was excited about the hotel design as I am a fan of Gio Ponti design in the 50's and 60's and it certainly held up to expectations. Very pared down design in blues and whites was beautiful although I can see some people might find this too sparse. Amazing how this hotel, designed in 1962 still looks fresh and contemporary. The hotel is placed within a beautiful garden and we thought we were entering paradise every time we returned. The staff at the hotel were very helpful although we sometimes thought a little thin on the ground in what must be their busiest season.

The hotel is about a 15 minute stroll from town. We found this a blessing and a curse - lovely to be removed from busy Sorrento town although sometimes unbearable to walk in the heat. The hotel shuttle was very handy and will collect and drop off close to all the town amenities and harbour.

Breakfast was a normal continental affair of fruits/cereals, breads/pastries with some hot food to boot and eaten whilst looking at a breathtaking view. We never ate dinner at the hotel as we thought it was overpriced and Sorrento have an embarrassment of riches in cuisine. We had lunch at the beach restaurant which was good if a little expensive but I guess you pay for the convenience of literally strolling from your lounger to lunch.

Two complaints we have was that the air conditioning was not coping under the heat and even after an engineer looked at it, we still were way too warm in our room. Also, the wi-fi was very slow and weak in the rooms. Apart from those two small points, we were more than happy with our stay here and would gladly return to this beautiful part of the world.

Room Tip: If possible, request a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank London_ML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My husband and I spent 5 days in Sorrento in June, and we were so pleased with the hotel! We had a garden view, which was wonderful, but I think I would have paid the extra for the water view. We arrived late on a Saturday and had dinner in the hotel restaurant, which was a bit expensive, but Antonio (our waiter) made it worth every penny!! Also, ask him about the local wines, we were really happy with what we got!! We took the shuttle in the first day, but did not pay enough attention to the schedule (if we had we would have known it doesn't run most of the afternoon!), but were very glad to find a relatively short walk to the hotel from the city centre!
The view from the restaurant was beyond impressive!! We loved every breakfast and meal we had enjoying the incredible scenery. We had lunch at the beach restaurant once, and it was amazing!!
The staff were very pleasant and extremely helpful, for our 10th anniversary, it was a wonderful time, and I would recommend it to anyone!!
Also, if you venture down to the water, at least once, walk down!! I know there is an elevator, but walking down was a lot of fun, and worth the view!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyBarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

All aspects of this hotel are 5 star and I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a luxury holiday in Italy. The location is excellent, it is kept private with the impressive botanical garden, the private beach and saltwater pool are very relaxing, and the free shuttle into Sorrento town was very useful. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant since there was so much choice in Sorrento, but the poolside bar with ice cream and salads was a lovely service. The decor is original and I enjoyed the history of the hotels design which was explained through references in the main lobby and our partial sea view was outstanding. I was worried with some of the negative comments I saw here but they definitely don't do the hotel justice I am so glad that I chose this hotel because of its 5star luxury standard and the friendly nature of every member of staff.

Room Tip: some rooms with a partial sea view have view of vesuvius as well as gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The hotel was wonderful and we had a fantastic stay. The views across Naples were incredible and the gardens and private beach was stunning. The staff were all very friendly and helpful- their good humour and excellent service really contributed to the experience of our stay. I like to keep fit and was pleasantly surprised the gym was well equipped and very comfortable. Breakfast provided a wide selection with lots of local fresh produce. We only had dinner in the hotel once- it was good but quite expensive, however this was not an issue as there was plenty of restaurants and places to eat in close proximity which provided a short pleasant walk in the evenings. Overall we had an absolutely fantastic time staying at the Parco dei Principi and we would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,317 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parco dei Principi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parco dei Principi

Address: Via Bernardino Rota 44, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#33 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £96 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Parco dei Principi 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star accommodation and a prime location sat high on the ancient rampart of tufa, the Parco dei Principi is a testament to the timeless creativity of Gio Ponti, one of the most enlightened advocates of Italian architecture of the 20th century.Between the blue sea of Sorrento Coast and the lush greenery of the botanical gardens, Paul Leopold of Bourbon, the princes of Cortchacow and the entourage of the Russian aristocracy fell in love with this incomparable natural scenery, giving it a solemn historical heritage.Minimal atmosphere and space characterises the 96 rooms with original furnishings designed by Gio Ponti and customized specifically for the Hotel: the famous headboard-beds (1948), toilet set 'Vanity' with circular mirrors (1950), the chair 'Lightweight' (Cassina, 1952) and large fitted wardrobes. A variety of ceramic floors - as many as rooms - in shades of blue and white, in antique Majolica D'Agostino from Salerno, to reflect the colours of the sea and sky of Sorrento: moons, circles, triangles, stars and leaves are also used to tell a different story in every room.At the Restaurant Gio Ponti, a spectacular window over the Gulf of Naples and its islands, the day starts with a grand breakfast. Through striking tunnels in the rock, you arrive at the private beach or at the equipped solarium on the cliff. The pier is home during the summer months to the restaurant Poggio Siracusa where you can enjoy the fresh offerings of the sea accompanied by the sounds of the waves below.Among the horizon, the ancient oaks and the rare trees essences of the enormous botanical park, there is a seawater swimming pool designed by Gio Ponti as 'a mirror of water to wood nymphs'.To restore harmony to the body and spirit, guests can access the Fitness & Beauty Center of the Hotel, the charming majolica rooftop terrace with a view, and the marbled terrace of Villa Cortchacow dating back to the eighteenth century, on which the first ballerina performed to the Court of St. Petersburg.Since 2012, the lobby, with the incredible view of the Gulf has hosted the 'Museum of the Opera', an exhibition of original drawings and furniture in the rooms and in the common areas that have marked the history of Italian design.The business center of the hotel offers several meeting rooms with complimentary Wi-Fi and innovative technology: from the classic style of Sedowa hall with a terrace overlooking the sea, to the most modern modular Leonardo hall, surrounded by the garden Bourbon, with a seat capacity of 350. The outdoor areas offer a pleasant alternative for coffee breaks, lunches and dinners.Within the enchanting scenery of Monti Lattari sloping terraces lined with citrus, Parco dei Principi is an excellent location for pleasant walks through the typical craft shops and luxury shopping streets in the center of Sorrento, and for excursions to the nearby Amalfi Coast, the island of Capri and the archaeological sites of Pompeii and Herculaneum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Parco dei Principi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parco Dei Principi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing