We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Ranked #39 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2012

From our arrival October 18 when we were greeted at the door upon getting out of our taxi until our final checkout on October 22 our entire stay was truly wonderful. Our room was much larger than the typical European room we stayed in during the rest of our Italy trip. The view from our room overlooking the Bay of Naples was as picturesque as one would imagine. Added to that was the cruise ships docked just outside our window two of the four days we were there. The entire staff from the front desk to the wait staff to the shuttle driver was very attentive to our needs. The breakfast buffet was very well stocked with a variety of very good food and the outside dining area overlooking the water only added to the ambience. A clogged bathtub drain was fixed shortly after we reported it. Even though they offer a shuttle service we found the walk to the center of town or the train station to not be too long to make on foot. The entire grounds was beautiful and very well maintained. Upon informing the front desk that we would be making an early morning departure on the day of our check out they immediately told us that they would prepare box breakfasts to take with us. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Sorrento.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a waterfront view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryG0117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,017)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Parco dei Principi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

Our group of 6 chose the Parco dei Principe for this year's trip to Sorrento. We stayed 6 nights at the end of September. We booked superior sea view rooms with balconies. The hotel's architecture is a beautiful representation of modern design. Anyone who describes it as anything less misses the point of Gio Ponti's design. The hotel's lobby and common areas are lovely. I only saw a few minor areas (one floor tile and some grout) that needed some maintenance. The botanical gardens are extensive and a welcome bit of tranquility after a day of sightseeing. The hotel's location, perched directly on the cliff, gives a striking view of Vesuvius and the Sorrentine coast. Our rooms, 2 flights lower than the lobby, were spacious and clean and the balconies were interesting because of their stone walls. The restaurant served a quality breakfast each morning, enhanced by the view. The staff was polite, accomodating and attentive. Although we didn't use the pool, it seemed clean and inviting. We did swim from the bathing platform and enjoyed that. We used the hotel's shuttle service a few times to get into town, but unfortunately the last returns at 7:15 pm, so not too useful at the end of the evening. (I expected the walking and enjoyed it, but appreciated a taxi after dinner in Marina Grande.) In my opinion, life is a series of tradeoffs. In 2010, my husband and I stayed in a beautiful hotel 10 minutes closer to town, a block off the cliff, for one less night, for the same money. This hotel is a good 20 minute walk to town, but right on the cliff. It may not be as luxurious, but we were able to afford a 6th night. Everyone has different priorities and experiences, but I enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerseygirl08210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed here in mid October as part of a tour. This Hotel was designed by Gio Ponti and is a beautiful example of mid century modern elegance. Our room was on the fourth floor overlooking the Bay of Naples with Mt. Vesuvius in the distance. Simply breathtaking! The weather was beautiful and still warm. Bring washcloths, as two of the three hotels in which we stayed on our tour didn't supply them. Wifi is good in lobby as with most hotels. Bring conditioner for your hair if you need to or you can buy it there. You will also need one or two of those two prong converters for charging up your iPad to Face Time with family back home. Have a bottle of Dramamine if you get motion sickness. Getting up and down Sorrento requires a lot of hairpin curves.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Songbird811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My husband and I spend 10 days in the hotel in the mid of September. We really enjoyed our stay. The sea and Vesuvius views from our sea-view room were stunning. The room itself was spacious and clean. My adult sun, who came to the same hotel for shorter period of time, got garden-view room, but it also was spacious and clean. One can say that rooms’ interior is outdated with lacking of furniture, but it is definitely stylish and keeping faith to Gio Ponti design, and for my part I prefer cleanliness to dusty decoration.
The hotel grounds are very nice with big and well-kept garden and historical villa of princess Gorchakova.
Water in the sea is clear and sunbeds and umbrellas were always available in the beach.
The offer for breakfast did not differ from day to day, but quality of food was good. I would recommend having variety of choice for dinner to the hotel.
We enjoyed relaxing oil massages in wellness center.
The center of Sorrento can be easily reached by foot in 15-20 minutes. Although the hotel provides a shuttle to the center, we never minded to stroll a bit in the evening.
I would not say it is a real “luxury” hotel, but I would never hesitate to recommend it to my friends or come again
Marina, Moscow

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina_888_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Plus

-Great view
-Cool design
-Beautiful garden
-Pool
-Beach area

Minus

-Deferred maintenance/cracked walls etc
-Mold in hotel room
-Clogged bathtub and slow maintenance response
-Unaccomodating management
-Poor customer service
-Late early morning wake up call
-Disappointing restaurant, more matter than good tasting food

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 598Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalContinental_Nap, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and your kind comment about view, design, garden and pool but we aren't so happy to read that your stay in our hotel was not comfortable.
Satisfying our customers is our goal. Anyway we want to tell you that during the stay, our customers can contact staff and our Duty Manager to solve problems.
We hope to see you soon again.

Customer Care
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My partner booked as a surprise, as I love Gio Pionti and always wanted to go back and stay for real ever since we'd sneaked in for a look round years ago. If you like the look of the design in the pictures and maybe know of the designer there is no way you can be disappointed. The hotel is simply far away one of the most stylish places in Italy - starkly beautiful with a uniform & coherent look that is rarely seen. It IS possible the style is not for you, that may explain the "dated" and "awful sixties" comments of the unitiated. The park its set in is very well watered and tended, with mature plants and trees, really lush and dream-like to walk through, with the added benefit of making the hotel supremely peaceful and isolated from the road.
Apart from the beauty of the hotel, we also found it to be very well run - professional, efficient, classy, with that slightly laid back Italian service, but always charming, attentive and totally worth it.
We had a great corner balcony room at the front (room 415?) that the receptionist said was her favourite - totally enormous terrace and knock out views. The hotel has an original palazzo in the grounds which is popular as a wedding venue. This meant loud music & dancing some nights and even fireworks! We loved this slice of Italian life, and it never went on past midnight. We used the sun deck platform at the bottom of the cliff a lot, and loved the lift all the way down thru the cliff, the quiet vibe, views and free towels. There's a lunch place down there too that is very good but pretty expensive, which we got round by ordering just ONE thing and sharing! Its great quality and portions really are large enough to share, and they didn't bat an eyelid, like it was normal. So we shared a top quality fresh wood-fire pizza and a beer every day 15 euros! We also got room service one lunch as a treat, it came with great drama on a beautiful trolley all set, great fun, and again you could order ONE thing and share as portions really are large, American large! Breakfast every morning on the terrace was a delight - how could it not be with those views! Oh yeah, the free Wi-Fi was also amazing: superfast and always reliable, the best I've ever experienced in a hotel. I was uploading videos to Facebook like every hour, all free! Coverage was a bit sparse in our room sometimes, but I discovered that if I stood in the bathroom it was pretty strong!
So, a few drawbacks:
Our bathroom needed a makeover; it was mouldy and badly lit, even making allowances for its age and history. The breakfast, though nicely served and presented, was a bit disappointing, lacking flair & variety. It was fine, Italians aren't usually great at breakfast, but it just didn't live up to the rest of the hotel. We hired a car and paid for the car park which turned out VERY expensive, but necessary as parking elsewhere so limited.
The room had a serious lack of power points, especially when you have ipad, camera, phones and travel kettles! I think there was only ONE! Take adaptors!
And finally, the bar areas are a bit dead on the evenings - a shame as they are so amazing to look at, and the "entertainment" 1-man-bands on organs singing Una Paloma Blanca did not do it for us. So the hotel wasn't especially friendly when we were there; we struck up no fun conversations or met anyone interesting, everyone seemed a bit sour... Oh well, luck of the draw. Also the hotel is indeed a bit of a walk from Sorrento centre.
None of these negatives could take the shine off a GREAT stay - 10 days! and we'd recommend it to anyone with an eye for Italian style, flair and design. It was the trip of a lifetime for us and we thank you Parco dei Principe for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room if you don't like wedding parties (but its not that bad if you're young...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jserseypeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We enjoyed this hotel the most of any on a two week trip to Italy spanning 5 hotels. The view was outstanding from our sea view room and the beach area was totally relaxing after a day of sightseeing. The hotel is in a nicely landscaped park with walking trails and the room size was large for a European hotel. Although its a 20 minute walk from the main part of Sorrento, the atmosphere was much less touristy and very quiet. Breakfast was good, dinner was pricey and limited, the staff very helpful and the hotel has a free shuttle service to the train station and town. Overall, a very enjoyable experience and if I find myself in Sorrento in the future I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Sea view is worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,553 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,619 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,726 reviews
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,161 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parco dei Principi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parco dei Principi

Address: Via Bernardino Rota 44, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#44 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £109 - £486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Parco dei Principi 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star accommodation and a prime location sat high on the ancient rampart of tufa, the Parco dei Principi is a testament to the timeless creativity of Gio Ponti, one of the most enlightened advocates of Italian architecture of the 20th century.Between the blue sea of Sorrento Coast and the lush greenery of the botanical gardens, Paul Leopold of Bourbon, the princes of Cortchacow and the entourage of the Russian aristocracy fell in love with this incomparable natural scenery, giving it a solemn historical heritage.Minimal atmosphere and space characterises the 96 rooms with original furnishings designed by Gio Ponti and customized specifically for the Hotel: the famous headboard-beds (1948), toilet set 'Vanity' with circular mirrors (1950), the chair 'Lightweight' (Cassina, 1952) and large fitted wardrobes. A variety of ceramic floors - as many as rooms - in shades of blue and white, in antique Majolica D'Agostino from Salerno, to reflect the colours of the sea and sky of Sorrento: moons, circles, triangles, stars and leaves are also used to tell a different story in every room.At the Restaurant Gio Ponti, a spectacular window over the Gulf of Naples and its islands, the day starts with a grand breakfast. Through striking tunnels in the rock, you arrive at the private beach or at the equipped solarium on the cliff. The pier is home during the summer months to the restaurant Poggio Siracusa where you can enjoy the fresh offerings of the sea accompanied by the sounds of the waves below.Among the horizon, the ancient oaks and the rare trees essences of the enormous botanical park, there is a seawater swimming pool designed by Gio Ponti as 'a mirror of water to wood nymphs'.To restore harmony to the body and spirit, guests can access the Fitness & Beauty Center of the Hotel, the charming majolica rooftop terrace with a view, and the marbled terrace of Villa Cortchacow dating back to the eighteenth century, on which the first ballerina performed to the Court of St. Petersburg.Since 2012, the lobby, with the incredible view of the Gulf has hosted the 'Museum of the Opera', an exhibition of original drawings and furniture in the rooms and in the common areas that have marked the history of Italian design.The business center of the hotel offers several meeting rooms with complimentary Wi-Fi and innovative technology: from the classic style of Sedowa hall with a terrace overlooking the sea, to the most modern modular Leonardo hall, surrounded by the garden Bourbon, with a seat capacity of 350. The outdoor areas offer a pleasant alternative for coffee breaks, lunches and dinners.Within the enchanting scenery of Monti Lattari sloping terraces lined with citrus, Parco dei Principi is an excellent location for pleasant walks through the typical craft shops and luxury shopping streets in the center of Sorrento, and for excursions to the nearby Amalfi Coast, the island of Capri and the archaeological sites of Pompeii and Herculaneum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Parco dei Principi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parco Dei Principi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing