We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Ranked #38 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
missouri city, tx
Level Contributor
99 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

When our hotel we chose for our travel package was closed for renovations we were moved to this hotel...
Yes, this hotel has a very distinct style. You are staying in a piece of art, very mod 50s styling. The rooms are very large, not our normal American warm feel but very mod and cool. They have great closets, a working safe and all was very clean and well maintained.
This hotel is exceptional when it comes to taking care of their customers. They provide everything from robes and slippers, all the shampoos (no conditioner), shower caps, soap, body wash, lotion, Q tips, shoe shine kit, etc...My husband loved that the sheets were starched and the beds were firm. We were a little annoyed that we received two twin beds, but in their defense we did not bring it up with the management.
Their breakfasts were incredible. Yes continental style but they had many many fantastic choices. They has 4 large seperate tables set up. One was devoted to the "American" breakfast with eggs, sausage, etc.. it also had wonderful fresh local tomatoes, fresh mozzarella, farmers cheeses, sliced salamis and meats and sliced local cheeses. It had a condiment tray of balsamics and oils, butters, etc.. 2nd table had assorted juices, water and prossecco (for mimosas of course!), assorted cereals, milks, yogurts, fresh and dried fruits, etc... 3rd table had assorted wonderful fresh bread loaves that you could slice and also assorted rolls and toast. They had many local jellies and honeys for your bread. The 4th table contained a wonderful array of pastries from crossiants, nutella, sfogliatellle, and many many more that I did not know the names of. No less than a dozen choices. They were all fresh and very good. Anyone who criticizes their breakfast must want for WAY more than we did!
They do turn down service at night and lay out these local candied almonds that we loved so much we searched the shop out in Sorrento and bought a ton to take home!
The grounds were beautiful and park like, reminded us of Hawaii, very well maintained.
Yes this place is incredibly hard to find, we searched for 30 minutes WITH a GPS and help from the locals. The address is wrong everywhere! Look for the lit diamond shaped hotel sign for HOTEL FONDA, it is directly across the street. We must have drove past it 10 times!!
One caveat to all...they charge 15 Euros/day to park inside the facility. We parked just outside the entrance on the street every night and we had no problems. When we checked out they had charged us for parking. We brought it up and they said we did not explicitly tell them we were not parking inside. After a short battle they did remove the charges. Be explicit about where you will park and there really is no need to pay for parking when it is free (and safe) on the street right outside.
Would we stay here again....absolutely.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwcynthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    246
    113
    58
    58
See reviews for
215
478
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
arkansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Stayed with a tour group for six nights. Just an OK hotel with a great view (if you get one of those rooms) but NO air conditioning. The temps were at least bearable if you left the outside door open at night. The rooms are furnished with the bare minimum and they could use new sheets and mattresses. The restauant personel were very nice and attentive but the food was just OK. The walk to the main square is only about a 20 min walk but watch out for the traffic.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rondee00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalContinental_Nap, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and your kind comment about view, our restaurant and our staff, but we are sorry to read That your stay in our hotel was so uncomfortable.

Satisfying our customers is our goal. Anyway we want to tell you That during the stay, our customers can contact our staff and Duty Manager to solve problems.
We want to mention that during your stay, the 3th on November, the air conditioning was turned off because many people of your group requested the hot air and not cold air.

We are sorry that you didn't like our furnitures, they were designed by architect Gio Ponti Exclusively for us. The Parco dei Principi, is the first hotel-design in the world!

We want to tell you That we use linen sheets in our rooms!

We hope to see you soon again.

Customer Care
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

I stayed at this hotel in early september 2012, and this is my 3rd time in the Sorrento because i just love Italy and there is so much to do In this area. The positives of this hotel is it has large bedrooms and although the decor wasnt to my personal tatse it had everything you needed and a large balcony. The staff were very pleasant to us although at breakfast it could sometimes be a bit disorganised although this was never really a big issue and did not impact our stay. The views from this hotel are amazing and the beach area is a real plus with plenty of sun beds, i wasnt too keen on the pool area as it was a bit run down and i think it could do with a refurb. The food and drinks were expensive as are most hotels however there was plenty of choice at breakfast (maily continental) and i did enjoy it. This hotel is ideally located for the restaurants in Saint Agnello which are very close, reasonably priced, cheaper than sorrento and full of italians so you know they are good! It is about a 20 minute walk into Sorrento, there is a shuttle bus from the hotel but this needs to be booked in advance and doesnt run after 7pm. Overall a very enjoyable stay, hotels in sorrento can be expensive so i think this was quite reasonable, it just needs a few tweaks to make it perfect, i would stay here again.

Room Tip: Sea view room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hudson2680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Warning, when booking a pre-paid , non-refundable room, insurance may be no help in the event that you have to cancel for whatever cause.
Understandably insurance companies require a Confirmation of cancellation letter from the Travel agent or the hotel, but in our case neither the travel agent ` Venere ` or the hotel ` The Parco Principi, Sorrento `were willing to issue one.
Phone calls to Venere were answered only occasionally by people who could speak English clearly enough to be understood and who could understand English. Requests for a confirmation of cancellation letter resulted in them phoning the hotel asking for a refund, in turn the hotel sent us an abrupt e mail telling us we were not entitled to a refund. E mails to the hotel assuring them that we were not asking for a refund, just a cancellation letter and we, again, received an e mail telling us that we could not have a refund !! Venere, eventually sent an e mail to confess that they did not have the facility to send a confirmation of cancellation letter, and that maybe, a confirmation of booking would be sufficient for our insurance company!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalContinental_Nap, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear F K ,
thank you for your report. We are sorry that you had problems with the booking, but unfortunately when you booked you signed a contract with the agency. In your case, therefore, the counterparty is Venere.com, it isn't us. Thank you anyway for sharing your adventure with us and we are sorry
for the vote who gave us because we are extraneousness to this facts.
We hope to see you soon.
Best regards
Customer Care
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reisterstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

From our arrival October 18 when we were greeted at the door upon getting out of our taxi until our final checkout on October 22 our entire stay was truly wonderful. Our room was much larger than the typical European room we stayed in during the rest of our Italy trip. The view from our room overlooking the Bay of Naples was as picturesque as one would imagine. Added to that was the cruise ships docked just outside our window two of the four days we were there. The entire staff from the front desk to the wait staff to the shuttle driver was very attentive to our needs. The breakfast buffet was very well stocked with a variety of very good food and the outside dining area overlooking the water only added to the ambience. A clogged bathtub drain was fixed shortly after we reported it. Even though they offer a shuttle service we found the walk to the center of town or the train station to not be too long to make on foot. The entire grounds was beautiful and very well maintained. Upon informing the front desk that we would be making an early morning departure on the day of our check out they immediately told us that they would prepare box breakfasts to take with us. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Sorrento.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a waterfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryG0117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Our group of 6 chose the Parco dei Principe for this year's trip to Sorrento. We stayed 6 nights at the end of September. We booked superior sea view rooms with balconies. The hotel's architecture is a beautiful representation of modern design. Anyone who describes it as anything less misses the point of Gio Ponti's design. The hotel's lobby and common areas are lovely. I only saw a few minor areas (one floor tile and some grout) that needed some maintenance. The botanical gardens are extensive and a welcome bit of tranquility after a day of sightseeing. The hotel's location, perched directly on the cliff, gives a striking view of Vesuvius and the Sorrentine coast. Our rooms, 2 flights lower than the lobby, were spacious and clean and the balconies were interesting because of their stone walls. The restaurant served a quality breakfast each morning, enhanced by the view. The staff was polite, accomodating and attentive. Although we didn't use the pool, it seemed clean and inviting. We did swim from the bathing platform and enjoyed that. We used the hotel's shuttle service a few times to get into town, but unfortunately the last returns at 7:15 pm, so not too useful at the end of the evening. (I expected the walking and enjoyed it, but appreciated a taxi after dinner in Marina Grande.) In my opinion, life is a series of tradeoffs. In 2010, my husband and I stayed in a beautiful hotel 10 minutes closer to town, a block off the cliff, for one less night, for the same money. This hotel is a good 20 minute walk to town, but right on the cliff. It may not be as luxurious, but we were able to afford a 6th night. Everyone has different priorities and experiences, but I enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseygirl08210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, PA
Level Contributor
236 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in mid October as part of a tour. This Hotel was designed by Gio Ponti and is a beautiful example of mid century modern elegance. Our room was on the fourth floor overlooking the Bay of Naples with Mt. Vesuvius in the distance. Simply breathtaking! The weather was beautiful and still warm. Bring washcloths, as two of the three hotels in which we stayed on our tour didn't supply them. Wifi is good in lobby as with most hotels. Bring conditioner for your hair if you need to or you can buy it there. You will also need one or two of those two prong converters for charging up your iPad to Face Time with family back home. Have a bottle of Dramamine if you get motion sickness. Getting up and down Sorrento requires a lot of hairpin curves.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Songbird811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,846 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,003 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parco dei Principi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parco dei Principi

Property: Hotel Parco dei Principi
Address: Via Bernardino Rota 44, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#29 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#44 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Parco dei Principi 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star accommodation and a prime location sat high on the ancient rampart of tufa, the Parco dei Principi is a testament to the timeless creativity of Gio Ponti, one of the most enlightened advocates of Italian architecture of the 20th century.Between the blue sea of Sorrento Coast and the lush greenery of the botanical gardens, Paul Leopold of Bourbon, the princes of Cortchacow and the entourage of the Russian aristocracy fell in love with this incomparable natural scenery, giving it a solemn historical heritage.Minimal atmosphere and space characterises the 96 rooms with original furnishings designed by Gio Ponti and customized specifically for the Hotel: the famous headboard-beds (1948), toilet set 'Vanity' with circular mirrors (1950), the chair 'Lightweight' (Cassina, 1952) and large fitted wardrobes. A variety of ceramic floors - as many as rooms - in shades of blue and white, in antique Majolica D'Agostino from Salerno, to reflect the colours of the sea and sky of Sorrento: moons, circles, triangles, stars and leaves are also used to tell a different story in every room.At the Restaurant Gio Ponti, a spectacular window over the Gulf of Naples and its islands, the day starts with a grand breakfast. Through striking tunnels in the rock, you arrive at the private beach or at the equipped solarium on the cliff. The pier is home during the summer months to the restaurant Poggio Siracusa where you can enjoy the fresh offerings of the sea accompanied by the sounds of the waves below.Among the horizon, the ancient oaks and the rare trees essences of the enormous botanical park, there is a seawater swimming pool designed by Gio Ponti as 'a mirror of water to wood nymphs'.To restore harmony to the body and spirit, guests can access the Fitness & Beauty Center of the Hotel, the charming majolica rooftop terrace with a view, and the marbled terrace of Villa Cortchacow dating back to the eighteenth century, on which the first ballerina performed to the Court of St. Petersburg.Since 2012, the lobby, with the incredible view of the Gulf has hosted the 'Museum of the Opera', an exhibition of original drawings and furniture in the rooms and in the common areas that have marked the history of Italian design.The business center of the hotel offers several meeting rooms with complimentary Wi-Fi and innovative technology: from the classic style of Sedowa hall with a terrace overlooking the sea, to the most modern modular Leonardo hall, surrounded by the garden Bourbon, with a seat capacity of 350. The outdoor areas offer a pleasant alternative for coffee breaks, lunches and dinners.Within the enchanting scenery of Monti Lattari sloping terraces lined with citrus, Parco dei Principi is an excellent location for pleasant walks through the typical craft shops and luxury shopping streets in the center of Sorrento, and for excursions to the nearby Amalfi Coast, the island of Capri and the archaeological sites of Pompeii and Herculaneum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Parco dei Principi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parco Dei Principi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing