We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Ranked #35 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We visited this hotel in August spending 4 nights. Beautiful grounds, very clean hotel. I booked a superior waterview (which was nice) next time I'd upgrade to having the room with the terrace. hotel was booked so we couldn't switch. The view overlooking the water and seeing Mt Vesuvious from your room was gorgeous.
The morning breakfast was excellent. Large assortment of pastries, breads, cereals, eggs, sliced smoked salmon.........the list goes on ! The service was excellent.
We ate dinner only 1 night at the restaurant and the food was very good. The dining experience was fantastic ( beautiful views outdoor dining)

The large terrace area is also quite nice to sit and enjoy a bottle of wine, listening to live music.
The jetty where you sun and go into the water was also great. All in all nice hotel, with a very attentive staff.

Room Tip: Next visit I'd get the room with terrace. If not available, at least make sure its waterview...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lenore D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,058)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

Wow what a view. Couldn't believe this place built into the hillside. Staff nice and beach really cool with restaurant perfect for lunch. If you arrive by train take taxi it's too long a walk. Google maps has this place wrong. We were upgraded for from to ocean view. I've included pictures.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Olsonclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Absolute heaven once you walk thru the main doors your just praying for a sea view room it's de best way to enjoy this hotel. Imagine waking up in the morning to a beautiful ocean and clifftop views. Went with my fiancée in June 2011 only gettin around to review now because we were just reminiscing of our time there. Food was excellent and staff were very friendly. Remember the security guad even thought us some Italian. Tropical setting on the grounds. The outdoor pool looks out on the stunning views. The beach is ten floors beneath the hotel and it's amazing cocktail bar sun loungers and beautiful blue water.
The main town itself is 15 mins away hotel provides a shuttle taxi is pricey book well in advance,but if you enjoy walking its truly magnificent and best way to see any town.
We'd love to go back but bambinis is the boss now.

Room Tip: Sea view best way to enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mash84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Absolutely loved our sea view room. It totally made our trip waking up to such a beautiful view. The room was huge with a large bathroom. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good with very friendly staff. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the upgraded sea view room. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 272GeorgeM272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

What a great experience! Went for my honeymoon in May 2012.

Hotel Room was very unique with amazing, big views of Mt Vesuvius and a huge balcony!

Walking distance to all the shops, but they also provide a shuttle. Also on the water so you can swim directly in the bay of naples and then even have a tanning area. Also has a really nice bar where you can sit outside at night and hang out. Definitely would recommend! One of my all time favorite hotels!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalContinental_Nap, Sales Department at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Mr. Mike,

I thank you very much for sharing on Trip Advisor your comments regarding your honeymoon stay at the Parco dei Principi hotel in Sorrento.

I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed the view of the Vesuvio Mount and the bay of Naples from your sea side room and the private beach directly accessible by the hotel lift.

I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back for a next upscale experience in Sorrento.

Best regards,

Alexandre Lebrat
Sales Department
Royal Group hotels & resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

It is 4 star hotel just because of view and big rooms. The personnel is not smiling at all, on the breakfast it is hard somebody to be quick, smile and not show how unhappy they are to serve you.
Also it is so noisy at the breakfasr area, the garçons taking out the tableware just in front of your table while you are eating and must see the removal of the rest of food. Just horrible.
The prices are high evry where, in the restaurant, in the bar on the beach and in the swimming pool bar. One beer 0,33 costs 7 euro, some simple snack about 12. So you will not be comfortable to stay on the beach consuming some drinks and food. Also the menu is very very limited.
The parking is payful, 15 per night. For 4 star hotel without parking, come on?
Also it situated 15 min far from the city center, so anything you want you will lose at least 1h just to go and to resolve.

Good things are, veiw from the restaurant, good variety of delicious croissant and fruits on the breakfast. The rooms are really big, the cleanliness is also very good.

So just compare adv and disadvantages you will understand that it is better to choose other option.

I will not return.

Room Tip: Our was 220-221 big one but without a view for the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sofia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalContinental_Nap, Sales Department at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Mrs. Sofia,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Parco dei Principi hotel in Sorrento.

Please accept my apologies for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced during your stay and I regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations.

We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your opinion and I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back for a future stay in Sorrento.

Yours, Sincerely,

Alexandre Lebrat
Sales Department
Royal group hotels & resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Lets be clear.....amazing property with spectacular views, immaculate, and well maintained.

It is just beautiful....but it ends there.

Located on outskirts of town. So unless you just stay there, which not a lot of people seem to do, it is a pain to get to town,

They have shuttle service that is by reservation only and fills up rapidly. You can't make reservations day before, but must wake up at 7 am to dial reservation if you want to avoid 15 euro plus cab fare to town......or take 25 minute walk down loud road with cars and mopeds whizzing by.

The staff has an attitude and they just never smile. Questions are treated with a roll of the eyes and laziness.Mario is knowledgable, but just wants to get through conversations. When asked if my room was waterfront....he said...yes, yes...and hurried me off. Next day, he asked me to see information booth downtown about busses.

Pool closes at 6 pm.....don't go at 5:30,...they will have started the closing process and have no towels. What's the big deal....pool is away from everything.

And.. The place is just.loud....no carpets....while beautiful and immaculate...the room reminded me of college dorm for noise....just all tile and was woken up daily at 7 am by familiesdown hall and some construction work.

I had room 108 ....like many others...above dining terrace.....dining staff stared up at me half the time when on what was otherwise beautiful balcony.

Breakfast was good...but again staff was cold or trained pleasant.

This is just not a happy, upbeat place with people who want to work there. That said...it is beautiful ....just not worth the grief.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view...high floor...away from dining facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Redsox1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalContinental_Nap, Sales Department at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at the Parco dei Principi hotel in Sorrento.

I appreciate your compliments about the location of our property and the view from it. However, I am surprised about your review concerning the staff attitude as it is indeed not reflecting the usual level of service we are used to deliver to our valuable guests.

Please accept my deepest apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced during your recent stay.

Be sure all your comments have been forwarded to the head of services concerned.

I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you for your next visit on the Amalfi Coast.

Kind regards,

Alexandre Lebrat
Sales Department
Royal Group hotels & resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parco dei Principi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parco dei Principi

Address: Via Bernardino Rota 44, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#33 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £69 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Parco dei Principi 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star accommodation and a prime location sat high on the ancient rampart of tufa, the Parco dei Principi is a testament to the timeless creativity of Gio Ponti, one of the most enlightened advocates of Italian architecture of the 20th century.Between the blue sea of Sorrento Coast and the lush greenery of the botanical gardens, Paul Leopold of Bourbon, the princes of Cortchacow and the entourage of the Russian aristocracy fell in love with this incomparable natural scenery, giving it a solemn historical heritage.Minimal atmosphere and space characterises the 96 rooms with original furnishings designed by Gio Ponti and customized specifically for the Hotel: the famous headboard-beds (1948), toilet set 'Vanity' with circular mirrors (1950), the chair 'Lightweight' (Cassina, 1952) and large fitted wardrobes. A variety of ceramic floors - as many as rooms - in shades of blue and white, in antique Majolica D'Agostino from Salerno, to reflect the colours of the sea and sky of Sorrento: moons, circles, triangles, stars and leaves are also used to tell a different story in every room.At the Restaurant Gio Ponti, a spectacular window over the Gulf of Naples and its islands, the day starts with a grand breakfast. Through striking tunnels in the rock, you arrive at the private beach or at the equipped solarium on the cliff. The pier is home during the summer months to the restaurant Poggio Siracusa where you can enjoy the fresh offerings of the sea accompanied by the sounds of the waves below.Among the horizon, the ancient oaks and the rare trees essences of the enormous botanical park, there is a seawater swimming pool designed by Gio Ponti as 'a mirror of water to wood nymphs'.To restore harmony to the body and spirit, guests can access the Fitness & Beauty Center of the Hotel, the charming majolica rooftop terrace with a view, and the marbled terrace of Villa Cortchacow dating back to the eighteenth century, on which the first ballerina performed to the Court of St. Petersburg.Since 2012, the lobby, with the incredible view of the Gulf has hosted the 'Museum of the Opera', an exhibition of original drawings and furniture in the rooms and in the common areas that have marked the history of Italian design.The business center of the hotel offers several meeting rooms with complimentary Wi-Fi and innovative technology: from the classic style of Sedowa hall with a terrace overlooking the sea, to the most modern modular Leonardo hall, surrounded by the garden Bourbon, with a seat capacity of 350. The outdoor areas offer a pleasant alternative for coffee breaks, lunches and dinners.Within the enchanting scenery of Monti Lattari sloping terraces lined with citrus, Parco dei Principi is an excellent location for pleasant walks through the typical craft shops and luxury shopping streets in the center of Sorrento, and for excursions to the nearby Amalfi Coast, the island of Capri and the archaeological sites of Pompeii and Herculaneum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Parco dei Principi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parco Dei Principi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing