We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Euro Chic on the Amalfi Coast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Ranked #37 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Girard, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Euro Chic on the Amalfi Coast”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife and I and two other couples just returned from a trip to Sorrento, and we had a great stay at the Parco dei Principi. The location and views are spectacular. We were supposed to have garden-view rooms, but when we arrived, we had fourth-floor sea-side rooms with breath-taking views of the bay of Naples and Mt. Vesuvious. Yes the rooms are a bit stark but they are very spacious. The breakfast buffet is large and has many selections. It is a bit of a walk into town but after all the great food you will enjoy in Sorrento you'll need it. The decor is very 60's modern and you can just picture Sophia Loren and Marcello Mastrianni strolling through the place.

Room Tip: We had rooms 411, 412, and 414.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalContinental_Nap, Sales Department at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Mr. John,

I thank you for your kind review regarding your experience at the Parco dei Principi hotel for your last stay in Sorrento.

I am happy that you have appreciated the upgrade to a sea side room we were able to offer you and the view on the bay of Naples, Capri and the Vesuvio Mt.
I invite you to come back during the winter season, there are no words to describe the sunset from this point of view and the colors of the sky!

I wish to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Yours, faithfully,

Alexandre Lebrat
Sales Department
Royal Group hotels & resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    251
    116
    58
    58
See reviews for
218
488
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Valley, NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We really loved the views from this hotel - amazing!! Very nicely decorated lobby & dining room. Very modernistic and simple. My only complaint was you could hear all your neighbors on either side. Great buffet breakfast and beautiful grounds!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cjtvitale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalContinental_Nap, Sales Department at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for choosing the Parco dei Principi hotel for your last stay in Sorrento and for sharing with us your experience.

First design hotel of the world, the Parco dei Principi hotel is famous for his 60s modern design and I’m glad to read that you appreciate the style of our property perched on the cliff and immersed in a 28’000sqm botanic park.

However, I apologies for the inconvenience regarding the noise you could hear from the room next to yours.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Parco dei Principi for your next time on the Amalfi Coast.

Best regards,

Alexandre Lebrat
Sales Department
Royal Group hotels & resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My wife and I had a short stay with one of the best views we have ever seen. The room had a private terrace and we found the staff and facilities excellent. The gardens and terrace are delightful and compensate for the hotel being well away from the centre of Sorrento. Excellent breakfast selection and a view from the dining room to die for!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BamfordOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalContinental_Nap, Sales Department at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay at the Parco dei Principi hotel in Sorrento.

“One of the best views ever seen” are the correct word to use for describing the hotel and its location and it’s always a pleasure to read how people remember their stay with us.

All our staff is glad to learn that you have fully enjoyed your short stay in our property. I hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back for a longer stay or for a special occasion like the new year’s eve and its breathtaking fireworks from the bay.

Do not hesitate to contact us for information and promotions.

Yours, sincerely

Alexandre Lebrat
Sales Department
Royal Group hotels & resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were in Italy for 2 weeks and this was our favorite hotel. After spending 6 days in Venice and Florence we arrived in Sorrento. We had booked a Sea Facing room. The views were amazing! This hotel was the perfect place to relax after 6 days of walking tours and seeing the sites. The room was large and furnished very nicely. We really enjoyed the balcony with the view of the Bay of Naples. The hotel was located about 15 minutes walking distance from the city center so very convenient. The hotel offered a shuttle service as well at scheduled times. This hotel has a restaurant overlooking the Bay of Naples. Food was good, however the service was slow and the waiters were not too friendly. We would recommend this hotel and will stay here again when we return to Sorrento.

Room Tip: Would highly recommend spending the extra money for a Sea Facing room. One of the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taggarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalContinental_Nap, Sales Department at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest,

What a beautiful tour!
I am sure that you enjoyed your time in Florence and Venice as well as Sorrento but I understand that the first impressions when you arrive in our hotel must be different.
The Parco dei Principi hotel is famous for its 60s design but also for the relaxation’s feelings since you enter in the propriety.

I appreciate your positive comments regarding our hotel and restaurant. However, I apologies for the service in our restaurant. I will forward your review to the concerned department.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Parco dei Principi.

Best regards,

Alexandre Lebrat
Sales Department
Royal group hotels & resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kents Bank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Beautiful views, of the Naples bay and the Vesuvio volcano, at the breakfast area. The room we had, was large, and we had the garden view, which was also nice. It was a quiet, so we have had a good nights sleep, which is important to us when we are on holidays. I could do with a bit of a more clean bathroom, but it wasn't too bad, but I expect the BEST when it comes to a 5 star Hotel. The staff were polite and attentive, also very accommodating; and the food was also nice. Do not expect a full 5*, as the hotel is still well decorated with the same colours and decor from the 1950 - 1960's, which is maintained quite well, and for us was ok. You can walk to the city centre, is almost 20 minutes, which is nothing for us (we do triathlons), or you can take the mini bus. The most exquisite bit of this hotel (from my point of view) is the beach, free towels, very good beach chairs, and, the water was just marvellous, I enjoy swimming so for me this was just perfect !

Room Tip: The last room on the second floor, to the right, is noisy, as the extractor is above. It is also sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeciliaHerrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon by the Sea, New Jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My wife completed a month long Italy trip by staying at the Parco dei Principi. This was our seventh hotel. It turned out to be one of our favorites.
Built in 1962 by Gio Ponti, the hotel's post modern blue and white design are lovingly maintained. It is historic and beautiful--- historically beautiful.
The rooms are large, light and airy. A select few rooms have direct water views. Our room had partial water and garden views. The room was meticulously clean.
The hotel sits on a high bluff looking out at the Gulf, and to the left was Sorrento. Far in the distance was the mainland and Naples. The view was breathtaking, day and night.
The breakfast was outstanding. Dinner was also excellent with all the services expected of a hotel of this quality.
The hotel is a 20 minute walk from downtown Sorrento and features very narrow sidewalks. Shuttle van service to downtown is periodic. We took a taxi back to the hotel after a dinner (with wine). The charge for our brief ride was 20 euros which was a rip-off. We paid it, however.
Note: Wi-fi is free which is a plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwoavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

It is set in the mountain and has a beautiful view from the room and the grounds. We had dinner at the hotel which has an amazing view! (good food and service, too).
We drove ourselves, so we kept the car in the parking lot and took the hotel shuttle to town and later took the hydrofoil to Capri.
The people at the hotel are very gracious and very accommodating. I only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,071 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parco dei Principi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parco dei Principi

Property: Hotel Parco dei Principi
Address: Via Bernardino Rota 44, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#29 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#44 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Parco dei Principi 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star accommodation and a prime location sat high on the ancient rampart of tufa, the Parco dei Principi is a testament to the timeless creativity of Gio Ponti, one of the most enlightened advocates of Italian architecture of the 20th century.Between the blue sea of Sorrento Coast and the lush greenery of the botanical gardens, Paul Leopold of Bourbon, the princes of Cortchacow and the entourage of the Russian aristocracy fell in love with this incomparable natural scenery, giving it a solemn historical heritage.Minimal atmosphere and space characterises the 96 rooms with original furnishings designed by Gio Ponti and customized specifically for the Hotel: the famous headboard-beds (1948), toilet set 'Vanity' with circular mirrors (1950), the chair 'Lightweight' (Cassina, 1952) and large fitted wardrobes. A variety of ceramic floors - as many as rooms - in shades of blue and white, in antique Majolica D'Agostino from Salerno, to reflect the colours of the sea and sky of Sorrento: moons, circles, triangles, stars and leaves are also used to tell a different story in every room.At the Restaurant Gio Ponti, a spectacular window over the Gulf of Naples and its islands, the day starts with a grand breakfast. Through striking tunnels in the rock, you arrive at the private beach or at the equipped solarium on the cliff. The pier is home during the summer months to the restaurant Poggio Siracusa where you can enjoy the fresh offerings of the sea accompanied by the sounds of the waves below.Among the horizon, the ancient oaks and the rare trees essences of the enormous botanical park, there is a seawater swimming pool designed by Gio Ponti as 'a mirror of water to wood nymphs'.To restore harmony to the body and spirit, guests can access the Fitness & Beauty Center of the Hotel, the charming majolica rooftop terrace with a view, and the marbled terrace of Villa Cortchacow dating back to the eighteenth century, on which the first ballerina performed to the Court of St. Petersburg.Since 2012, the lobby, with the incredible view of the Gulf has hosted the 'Museum of the Opera', an exhibition of original drawings and furniture in the rooms and in the common areas that have marked the history of Italian design.The business center of the hotel offers several meeting rooms with complimentary Wi-Fi and innovative technology: from the classic style of Sedowa hall with a terrace overlooking the sea, to the most modern modular Leonardo hall, surrounded by the garden Bourbon, with a seat capacity of 350. The outdoor areas offer a pleasant alternative for coffee breaks, lunches and dinners.Within the enchanting scenery of Monti Lattari sloping terraces lined with citrus, Parco dei Principi is an excellent location for pleasant walks through the typical craft shops and luxury shopping streets in the center of Sorrento, and for excursions to the nearby Amalfi Coast, the island of Capri and the archaeological sites of Pompeii and Herculaneum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Parco dei Principi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parco Dei Principi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing