We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 star! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Ranked #39 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel and was disappointed due to its old 80's looking interior and shabby furnishings.

It must be the only 5 star hotel that doesn't have coffee making facilities inside the room?

Also only one free bottle of water for the whole duration of the stay (4 nights) ?

The hotel also charged us 20 Euros per night to park our car

Generally very expensive and not value for money.

Good points
Location and view
Has parking
Food was good but the evening menu was very small.

Upgrade to the sea view as it worth it.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank GWP13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

We spent 3 nights in this hotel and I am very happy with it.
It is a very special hotel as the furnishing is exactly the same as it was when the hotel opened in 1960. There is also a sort of permanent furnishing exhibition in the lobby where you can comprehend why this hotel is a design hotel.
The staff is very gentle and attentive. At the reception you can get many information about what to do in Sorrento and where to eat.They are always ready to assist with a smile.
The rooms are spacious and clean. We had a sea view room and I will never forget the spectacular beauty of Sorrento Gulf.
Breakfast is very good and what makes it remarkable is the terrace: does not really matter if it rains or it is sunny as it is always a great pleasure having breakfast there.
We tried the restaurant one night and we were very happy with food and the wine suggested by Francesco. The whole menu looks interesting and the prices reflect a 5 star hotel so it is fare enough.
We had free access to the gym which is very clean and well equipped.Also the swimming pool is included.The shape of the pool is unusual: it looks like a lake and the water comes just from the sea.Very refreshing.
The beach was still closed but I bet it must be beautiful down there.
The hotel is not in the core of Sorrento but there is a free shuttle bust to go to town.
I love this hotel with its blue and white colors. It is the perfect escape to relax. I don't know if it is like this during peak season but we will come back for sure.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view room. It is more expensive but worthy ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fealuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for a week in late march. Entering the hotel you immediately notice the fabulous view directly across overlooking the ocean. The hotel is exceptionally clean (spotless), bright with a spacious and comfortable reception area. Our room was very well kept, clean with lots of natural sunshine. Our morning breakfast buffet had plenty of choices, very fresh , and if they didn't have it out, they were certainly ready to prepare it for you.( overhead other guests ordering special orders) Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Giovanni and Antonio greeted us every morning with a cheerful bongiorno and a little dose of how are things going. The first morning I ordered a cappuccino, every morning after that Giovanni or Antonio offered me before I even sat down. A 20 minute pleasant walk to town. A beautiful sitting area outside overlooking the ocean with plenty of nice seating. All around very enjoyable and pleasureable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We went a little early this year and really enjoyed how quiet this hotel was. There are gardens to walk through and the views across the ocean and of Mt. Vesuvius were amazing. The blue color of the hotel really relaxed us and the innovation of the designer was appealing. The room was very large and spacious.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

The Hotel view and location was amazing however the room the breakfast and the 15 € parking that we weren't told about when we check in, Really disappointed us We will not go back to this hotel as resident probably just for a lunch. Really need a refurbishment.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Georgina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I had a wonderful stay at the Parco dei Principi Hotel in Sorrento. The Ponti design is incredible. The staff was so welcoming and accommodated me by speaking perfect English! I've never been so relaxed and comfortable. The highlight for me were the views both from my room and the dining room, and the overall cleanliness of the hotel. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ahimsare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I'm in Sorrento once or twice a year and I can comfortably say that I have finally found my hotel of choice. Being alergic to dust, cleanliness is paramount; my room was absolutely spoteless and so was the gym and the restaurant. The staff is friendly and speaks perfect English. They seem always willing to go the extra mile, especially Francesco from the restaurant. Their suggestions on the Costiera Sorrentina proved to be extremely useful.
One quick comment on the design: the chaise longue in the bedroom was a $4,000 piece of furniture and the character throughout the hotel is super cool. Look no further folks !

Room Tip: Go for Deluxe if there's a special offer, its worth the extra buck !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,579 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,436 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,746 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parco dei Principi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parco dei Principi

Address: Via Bernardino Rota 44, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#44 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £101 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Parco dei Principi 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star accommodation and a prime location sat high on the ancient rampart of tufa, the Parco dei Principi is a testament to the timeless creativity of Gio Ponti, one of the most enlightened advocates of Italian architecture of the 20th century.Between the blue sea of Sorrento Coast and the lush greenery of the botanical gardens, Paul Leopold of Bourbon, the princes of Cortchacow and the entourage of the Russian aristocracy fell in love with this incomparable natural scenery, giving it a solemn historical heritage.Minimal atmosphere and space characterises the 96 rooms with original furnishings designed by Gio Ponti and customized specifically for the Hotel: the famous headboard-beds (1948), toilet set 'Vanity' with circular mirrors (1950), the chair 'Lightweight' (Cassina, 1952) and large fitted wardrobes. A variety of ceramic floors - as many as rooms - in shades of blue and white, in antique Majolica D'Agostino from Salerno, to reflect the colours of the sea and sky of Sorrento: moons, circles, triangles, stars and leaves are also used to tell a different story in every room.At the Restaurant Gio Ponti, a spectacular window over the Gulf of Naples and its islands, the day starts with a grand breakfast. Through striking tunnels in the rock, you arrive at the private beach or at the equipped solarium on the cliff. The pier is home during the summer months to the restaurant Poggio Siracusa where you can enjoy the fresh offerings of the sea accompanied by the sounds of the waves below.Among the horizon, the ancient oaks and the rare trees essences of the enormous botanical park, there is a seawater swimming pool designed by Gio Ponti as 'a mirror of water to wood nymphs'.To restore harmony to the body and spirit, guests can access the Fitness & Beauty Center of the Hotel, the charming majolica rooftop terrace with a view, and the marbled terrace of Villa Cortchacow dating back to the eighteenth century, on which the first ballerina performed to the Court of St. Petersburg.Since 2012, the lobby, with the incredible view of the Gulf has hosted the 'Museum of the Opera', an exhibition of original drawings and furniture in the rooms and in the common areas that have marked the history of Italian design.The business center of the hotel offers several meeting rooms with complimentary Wi-Fi and innovative technology: from the classic style of Sedowa hall with a terrace overlooking the sea, to the most modern modular Leonardo hall, surrounded by the garden Bourbon, with a seat capacity of 350. The outdoor areas offer a pleasant alternative for coffee breaks, lunches and dinners.Within the enchanting scenery of Monti Lattari sloping terraces lined with citrus, Parco dei Principi is an excellent location for pleasant walks through the typical craft shops and luxury shopping streets in the center of Sorrento, and for excursions to the nearby Amalfi Coast, the island of Capri and the archaeological sites of Pompeii and Herculaneum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Parco dei Principi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parco Dei Principi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing