We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms, spectacular views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Ranked #37 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms, spectacular views”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel has some of the best views in Sorrento. The rooms are clean and really well laid out. Staff are helpful and friendly. Fabulous gardens for a stroll or an evening drink. It's a long walk to the centre of town or a short but expensive (!) taxi ride. Lovely breakfast room with the spectacular views.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CabinteelyFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Morra , Public Relations Manager at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear CabinteelyFlyer, thank you very much for your feedback.
I was happy to know that you appreciated our hotel and its amenities. I will obviously pass on your words of praise to our staff that are a true asset for the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
M. Morra Communication & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    255
    117
    58
    58
See reviews for
222
501
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
willoughby hills
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

beautiful!!!!! If at all possible get a sea view room. lift to "beach"/sea deck (unfortunately closes at 6-7). would not trade that for anything. excellent included breakfast, nice service, no "extra services" such as spa but w/ that view who needs it. helpful desk. very nice sized rooms for 2-3 (but they do vary). 20 min walk to town and 30-40 to the marina. shuttle to town center stops at 7p.. aesthetically as pleasing as possible. would stay again.grounds and seaside verranda are beautiful.

Room Tip: seaview if at all possible!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surgery88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Morra , Public Relations Manager at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Surgery88,
thank you for your nice feedback. I was happy to hear you were impressed with your experience at Parco dei Principi hotel, that you enjoyed the beach, our breakfast, our large rooms and the helpful desk crew. They are a true asset for us and all our guests.
Feedback like yours has been precious to work every day whit a true spirit of hospitality and kindness.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
M. Morra Marketing & Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at the Parco dei Principi for 2x nights last week- the hotel itself is very nicely built and has a nice 60s design maintained very nicely- however, the impression one gets is that anything you are trying to do the staff are looking for an opportunity to charge you for- so be preapared; everything will be charged including car parking- there is a serious feeling that staff are out there to catch you and charge you for the air that you breathe even which can cause serious stress when you receive your final bill- in addition to this staff are polite yet cant say that they look necessarily to show you a 5x star treatment- our toilet flush broke one nightl we had to wait for 1 hour for someone to confirm that he can change our room as we could not sleep and then we were given a room directly above the live singing night and could not sleep till about 12:30 at night at which time we had to call and ask what time the singer was looking to stop for the night- quite disappointed as i cannot say that for the 5xstar treatment we paid for we got what we signed up for- for a 4x star hotel it woudl have been OK but for the price you pay defo not worth it- look to book somewhere else if that is what you are after and be prepared to spend quite a lot for extras

Mario

Room Tip: Definitely look out when booking especially if you get charged the extra price for booking a hotel r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mario_Kampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Morra , Public Relations Manager at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Mr. Mario, I would like to thank for your review about your stay.
I am so sorry to read that you were so disappointed with your recent stay and that our service standards did not meet your expectations.
About your point, I would like to underline that our extra facilities aren’t compulsory of courseand that our staff usually suggest it with the aim to inform and improve guest experiences. If you felt disappointed, I can assure you this is not typical of a stay at Parco dei Principi Hotel.
Anyway feedback like yours has been instrumental in the planning process for our enhancements, so I appreciate you taking the time to provide your insight.
I sincerely hope you will reconsider visiting us again and look forward to offer you a better experience.
M. Morra Communication & Marketing Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is really like staying in a museum of early 60s design, so it needs to be judged in that context. As such, some of the reviews here are a little harsh as, even though it is a 5 star hotel, it's not 5 star in the sense of the Ritz or Savoy (or the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria for that matter). But neither does the room tariff approach the dizzying heights of the aforementioned.

That said, while the public spaces and the position of the hotel are spectacular, the rooms and amenities therein are of a decidedly lower standard. I had a Deluxe Sea View room on the top floor (#407). The view from the large balcony was absolutely spectacular, which more than compensated for the somewhat utilitarian and small(ish) room.

The private 'beach' and attached restaurant were particularly appealing when the weather was favourable - probably the best position and views in Sorrento.

The buffet breakfast was as good as any I had in Italy, and they were prepared to cook eggs to order, if you asked.

Admittedly the hotel is situated a little bit out from the centre of town, but it's not an unpleasantly long walk if you don't want to take a taxi (as I found that the shuttle didn't run all that regularly - that may be different in peak season).

Front desk/concierge staff were all very pleasant and professional.

Room Tip: Go for the Deluxe Sea View rooms - not that more expensive and money well spent. You really don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoDizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Morra , Communication & Marketing Manager at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear SoDizzy,
I really appreciate your interesting review. You have perfectly identified the soul of our hotel...: a museum of early 60s design... Thank you, we are shocked by the intensity of your opinion.
I will obviously pass on your words of praise to all the staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

M. Morra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

It is an amazing experience someone shouldn't miss to stay at a hotel designed by the great Gio Ponti. The hotel is set on a cliff surrounded by a spectacular garden and by the time you enter the reception desk you feel the magic of great aesthetics. If you are a fan of contemporary high luxury hotels you will feel disappointed. The unique floor tiles when you enter the hotel capture your attention and you will find different patterns in every room. The furniture have a story to tell and fit perfectly in the absence of the hotel. Make sure to chose a room with sea view, it is more expensive but it is worth it. Try to be on time for breakfast in order to find a table right by the edge and enjoy a beautiful menu with the most extraordinary view! The pool also of exceptional design could be a little more clean so we visited the beach instead. 4 days and you feel you are travelling back in time leaving all troubles behind and enjoying a hotel really different and unique!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katgreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Morra , Communication & Marketing Manager at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Kat,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I am really happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. For us it is really important that our guests understand the inestimable value of Gio Ponti artworks. Parco dei Principi is the first design hotel in Europe and all the furniture and tiles have an important place in the modern architecture history. Your feedback about the pool was shared with our staff and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Thank you,

M. Morra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

You access the hotel from the street by going down a long curving cobbled road through some truly spectacular gardens. The hotel lobby and open air restaurant are a fantasy of blue and white opening onto spectacular views of the bay. This hotel was a designer masterpiece when it was built in the “Mad Men” era of the early sixties. The quality of the materials used shows in how well they have stood up over time. And if you have a room with a sea view and terrace, you’ll be delighted by the lightness and cleanliness of the design, the blue and white tile floors, and the space – these are large rooms by Italian standards. The pool area for those who want to linger at the hotel is truly magnificent.
Those are the good points. For as a whole, I don’t understand why the hotel is designated five star. The breakfast is mediocre – prefab scrambled eggs, tinned fruit, dreadful coffee (it must be instant). This is not Italy as we expect it. The dinner menu is unbalanced and far too expensive for the food that arrives. More irritating is the location – a long and unpleasant 30-minute walk along a barren stretch of busy roadway to get to the edge of town. The hotel shuttle runs infrequently – and stops at 7:00 pm. That pretty much forces you to take a 15 Euro cab ride each way to and from Sorrento. The hotel staff are a varied lot – some very pleasant and helpful, others not at all so. And the age of the design shows in the lack of electrical outlets (this was built pre-cell phone, laptop era) and the narrowness and height of the bathtubs. (Short people have difficulty climbing in; and those with more than a 42 inch waist are in danger of getting stuck.)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We can;'t say enough about how wonderful the service was at the Hotel Parco dei Principi. The concierge Giovanni was really amazing. The airport lost 5 bags of our luggage and Giovanni made it his personal mission to get them back. He was persistent and kept following up to make sure that it didn't slip through the cracks- even pulling a personal favor from the courier. We also loved the waiter Antonio who gave us service above and beyond. He went out of his way to make us feel special. Everyone was truly amazing. And the gorgeous ocean view rooms were so just heaven. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HomeStager003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,478 reviews
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
1,106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,988 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
3,155 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parco dei Principi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parco dei Principi

Property: Hotel Parco dei Principi
Address: Via Bernardino Rota 44, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#29 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#44 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Parco dei Principi 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star accommodation and a prime location sat high on the ancient rampart of tufa, the Parco dei Principi is a testament to the timeless creativity of Gio Ponti, one of the most enlightened advocates of Italian architecture of the 20th century.Between the blue sea of Sorrento Coast and the lush greenery of the botanical gardens, Paul Leopold of Bourbon, the princes of Cortchacow and the entourage of the Russian aristocracy fell in love with this incomparable natural scenery, giving it a solemn historical heritage.Minimal atmosphere and space characterises the 96 rooms with original furnishings designed by Gio Ponti and customized specifically for the Hotel: the famous headboard-beds (1948), toilet set 'Vanity' with circular mirrors (1950), the chair 'Lightweight' (Cassina, 1952) and large fitted wardrobes. A variety of ceramic floors - as many as rooms - in shades of blue and white, in antique Majolica D'Agostino from Salerno, to reflect the colours of the sea and sky of Sorrento: moons, circles, triangles, stars and leaves are also used to tell a different story in every room.At the Restaurant Gio Ponti, a spectacular window over the Gulf of Naples and its islands, the day starts with a grand breakfast. Through striking tunnels in the rock, you arrive at the private beach or at the equipped solarium on the cliff. The pier is home during the summer months to the restaurant Poggio Siracusa where you can enjoy the fresh offerings of the sea accompanied by the sounds of the waves below.Among the horizon, the ancient oaks and the rare trees essences of the enormous botanical park, there is a seawater swimming pool designed by Gio Ponti as 'a mirror of water to wood nymphs'.To restore harmony to the body and spirit, guests can access the Fitness & Beauty Center of the Hotel, the charming majolica rooftop terrace with a view, and the marbled terrace of Villa Cortchacow dating back to the eighteenth century, on which the first ballerina performed to the Court of St. Petersburg.Since 2012, the lobby, with the incredible view of the Gulf has hosted the 'Museum of the Opera', an exhibition of original drawings and furniture in the rooms and in the common areas that have marked the history of Italian design.The business center of the hotel offers several meeting rooms with complimentary Wi-Fi and innovative technology: from the classic style of Sedowa hall with a terrace overlooking the sea, to the most modern modular Leonardo hall, surrounded by the garden Bourbon, with a seat capacity of 350. The outdoor areas offer a pleasant alternative for coffee breaks, lunches and dinners.Within the enchanting scenery of Monti Lattari sloping terraces lined with citrus, Parco dei Principi is an excellent location for pleasant walks through the typical craft shops and luxury shopping streets in the center of Sorrento, and for excursions to the nearby Amalfi Coast, the island of Capri and the archaeological sites of Pompeii and Herculaneum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Parco dei Principi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parco Dei Principi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing