We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel concierge not your friend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Ranked #37 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“hotel concierge not your friend”
Reviewed 8 August 2007

Very unpleasant experience Hotel Concierge Giovanno Russo appeared to get upset that a child in my party cut his foot on a piece of glass in the hotel beaches privately maintained cove. The laceration was to the child foot and required five stiches for a cut to the bone. Mr Russo decided it was not an emergency and told the cab drive to take itb slow even though it was obvious that the child was going ino shock. He then attempted to make it an unpleasant trip for the 3 families of the child.

Americans not welcome

  • Disliked — hotel staff
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank compucombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    252
    116
    58
    58
See reviews for
219
488
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2007

This hotel is what it is, by this I mean if is almost a bit like a crazy 1960's/1970's museum with the most eccentric staff I have ever met!

Do not go to the hotel if what you want is a bright and shinny 5 star hotel where everything runs smoothly as you will not get it!

Do go to this hotel if you want to do something that you will never forget as this place is like nothing I have ever seen!

Also the views are amazing from the hotels rooms just make sure what ever you do is ask for a sea view room on either the 2nd, 3rd or 4th floor do not except anything else as the rooms below the main hotel are truly dungeon like as we found out on our arrival and had to switch rooms the next day! Luckily we could!

The beach is also very good at this hotel and the restaurant is fab we had lots of fun feeding the fish as it is set out on stilts!
The hotel restaurant is ok but I would go into Sorrent down to the Marina Grande personally were we had the most wonderful traditional fresh food you can imagin at very good prices!

I was glad we had the start of our honeymoon at the hotel as I would not have wanted to end it there as the beds and bedding are not the comfiest think hospital roughness!!!

All in all we like the hotel but trully it is not for everyone!

  • Liked — The Beach!
  • Disliked — The Staff!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NandALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2007

Walking into this hotel is a slightly bizarre experience. It appears to have been built around the late sixties/early seventies and, while it looks to have been periodically redecorated, the style is unchanged, giving it a very retro feel. The hotel painted almost entirely in blue and white, and whole walls are covered by thousands and thousands of ceramic pebbles.

The hotel is set on a cliffside a little outside Sorrento town centre (about a 10-15 min walk), but there is a reasonably regular shuttle bus if you don't want to walk. From the terrace, there are superb views over the Bay of Naples and over to Vesuvius, which made it a great place to just sit with a drink and take in your holiday.

We were here in September, so arguably it was a little off-season, but Parco dei Principi gave the impression of being a ghost ship as it appeared to be woefully understaffed. Sometimes it seemed absolutely impossible to get a coffee or a beer – you would virtually always have to go inside and look around and rarely saw a waiter just passing by unless he was serving another customer.

The staff, when you did find them, tended to be a little snooty. Frankly, this was a pain; I have stayed in high class hotels, this was not one and the staff had little to feel superior about.

We stayed here for four nights during a trip to Sorrento when the weather was not particularly good. This may explain why the pool, which was a very generous size (while dated like much of the hotel), was pretty chilly when you got in and at times a bit dirty (this may have been exacerbated by the poor weather at the time). I think it may be fairly common in Italy, but you had to pay for the sun loungers at the hotel pool – although they would give you a fresh towel (again, if you could find a member of staff,). The pool table service restaurant was overpriced and not of a high standard.

As well as a pool, there is a lift that takes you through the cliff, on which the hotel sits, to a beach/man-made-bay area with more loungers and a bar/restaurant. Sorrento doesn't really have a "beach" as such, so it was nice to be able to sit in the sun and swim in a private bay. (The public sea/sun lounger areas in Sorrento are all crammed together on wooden piers and didn't seem all that nice).

The room was clean, but sparsely furnished, and had a balcony facing the gardens (I think the view of the sea was more expensive, but would have the same view as the terrace described above).

The acoustics in the hotel were awful and the rooms far from soundproof. Through the hotel, the floors were tiled, walls were bare and soft furnishings few and far between, so every sound seemed to clang and reverberate through the entire building.

Overall, this hotel is better described as a good three-star than a five-star, but was probably priced at this level, and so on balance, OK value for money. Despite the fairly negative review, for me, it was probably saved by the private bay.

For the last two nights of our trip to Sorrento, we stayed at Grand Hotel Aminta (good atmosphere and cheaper), and would recommend it above the Parco dei Principi.

  • Liked — Private bay
  • Disliked — ECHO... Echo... echo...
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StuartStockbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2007

The views are great but the hotel is DEFINITELY NOT up to 5 star standard. The rooms and the interior of the hotel are more in line with a cheap 2 star hotel with no attention to detail.
The beds and bedding remind me of hospital beds,

Staff are rude and unpleasant, particularly the staff managing the private "beach".
Terribly overpriced and not worth it at all!!

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — The hotel was dreadful- class,comfort and style are words clearly not understood my management
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Annon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2007

We liked the gardens where the hotel is located however we were disapointed with the hotel , that looks more like a 3 star hotel instead of 5 .
The room looks like a hospital , the bed sheets were stained with blood so we had to call the cleaners, the bathroom had some mold and the garbage was not emptied for 2 days .
The free internet was a plus .
The personel was not very friendly , we did not see one smile during our stay and at 2 days on a row we found a hair on ourbreakfast ......
They have a nice small beach downstairs with beautiful surroundings but it closes at 1800 , and we thought they should keep it open a little bit longer so people staying at the hotel could enjoy the nice views from it when coming back to the hotel in the evening .
I am a world traveller and the hotel did seem to be at the level of a 5 star hotel .
CBS

  • Liked — free internet, nice surroundings
  • Disliked — the room, the waiters
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank meiga241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina del Rey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2007

3 nights in this room was more than enough. Hard Bed, Tile floors, no rug's or carpet. Could hear the guests in next room all night. This hotel has a great view, I would recommend it for lunch but not to stay. Much better hotels in Sorento to stay.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Rooms Hotel very dated
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BigKidnCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2007

Stayed here for 1 night and that was plenty. As many others have said, the views are striking - both from our room and the restaurant/terrace. That alone made it worthwhile.

The by-the-water restaurant for lunch was great. The main restaurant food was just OK. Breakfast was simple.

The room, apart from the view, was, eerrr, unpleasant. The shower was very moldy smelling, multiple cigarette stains on the bathroom vanity, very firm beds, interior door didn't stay closed (helps to block noise from hallway), lighting/switches worked inconsistently, furniture didn't allow good way to eat room service.

The decor was interesting and I know they want to maintain the original but at least they could keep up with routine maintenance.

We enjoyed the views for our 1 night but wouldn't return.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandL89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,071 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parco dei Principi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parco dei Principi

Property: Hotel Parco dei Principi
Address: Via Bernardino Rota 44, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#29 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#44 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Parco dei Principi 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star accommodation and a prime location sat high on the ancient rampart of tufa, the Parco dei Principi is a testament to the timeless creativity of Gio Ponti, one of the most enlightened advocates of Italian architecture of the 20th century.Between the blue sea of Sorrento Coast and the lush greenery of the botanical gardens, Paul Leopold of Bourbon, the princes of Cortchacow and the entourage of the Russian aristocracy fell in love with this incomparable natural scenery, giving it a solemn historical heritage.Minimal atmosphere and space characterises the 96 rooms with original furnishings designed by Gio Ponti and customized specifically for the Hotel: the famous headboard-beds (1948), toilet set 'Vanity' with circular mirrors (1950), the chair 'Lightweight' (Cassina, 1952) and large fitted wardrobes. A variety of ceramic floors - as many as rooms - in shades of blue and white, in antique Majolica D'Agostino from Salerno, to reflect the colours of the sea and sky of Sorrento: moons, circles, triangles, stars and leaves are also used to tell a different story in every room.At the Restaurant Gio Ponti, a spectacular window over the Gulf of Naples and its islands, the day starts with a grand breakfast. Through striking tunnels in the rock, you arrive at the private beach or at the equipped solarium on the cliff. The pier is home during the summer months to the restaurant Poggio Siracusa where you can enjoy the fresh offerings of the sea accompanied by the sounds of the waves below.Among the horizon, the ancient oaks and the rare trees essences of the enormous botanical park, there is a seawater swimming pool designed by Gio Ponti as 'a mirror of water to wood nymphs'.To restore harmony to the body and spirit, guests can access the Fitness & Beauty Center of the Hotel, the charming majolica rooftop terrace with a view, and the marbled terrace of Villa Cortchacow dating back to the eighteenth century, on which the first ballerina performed to the Court of St. Petersburg.Since 2012, the lobby, with the incredible view of the Gulf has hosted the 'Museum of the Opera', an exhibition of original drawings and furniture in the rooms and in the common areas that have marked the history of Italian design.The business center of the hotel offers several meeting rooms with complimentary Wi-Fi and innovative technology: from the classic style of Sedowa hall with a terrace overlooking the sea, to the most modern modular Leonardo hall, surrounded by the garden Bourbon, with a seat capacity of 350. The outdoor areas offer a pleasant alternative for coffee breaks, lunches and dinners.Within the enchanting scenery of Monti Lattari sloping terraces lined with citrus, Parco dei Principi is an excellent location for pleasant walks through the typical craft shops and luxury shopping streets in the center of Sorrento, and for excursions to the nearby Amalfi Coast, the island of Capri and the archaeological sites of Pompeii and Herculaneum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Parco dei Principi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parco Dei Principi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing