We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't have been better”

Sorrento Silver Star Tours
Ranked #2 of 65 Transportation in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Sorrento Silver Star is located in Sorrento; it has been operating from many years in the tourism industry of minivans and limousines, with professional drivers and cars fitted with all the comforts that assure the maximum safety, courtesy and punctuality.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We worked with Luisa to design a pick up at Naples main station for a visit to Herculaneum, lunch at a winery on the slope of Mt. Vesuvius, tour of Pompeii, and finally a scenic drive to our hotel in Sorrento. We were so fortunate to have Catello has our driver, guide, historian and restaurant critic. He got us out of Naples in fine fashion (which you want to do), and gave us a lot of local information and color about our stay in the Sorrento area. Before dropping us off at our hotel, he even toured us around and gave us his choices for several restaurants (I think we tried them all in our 5 days). Then - we had Catello once again for a tour of Amalfi coast. Perfectly on time, we stopped at Positano, Amalfi and Ravello - but our highlight was probably the lunch he arranged near Ravello at a family-run ristorante/pizzeria. The view was amazing, food outstanding, and we had the grandson sitting with us playing Angry Birds during our entire meal...awesome. Thanks, Luisa. When we return, we are calling again!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank GeorgiaBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    786
    8
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been easier”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We chose Silver star based on Trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed, Luisa is very quick to reply to emails and has excellent advice. We took a train from Rome to Naples and had Silver Star transfer us to Positano It was by far the easiest way to get there. It is such a relief to get off the train after a long day of travel and be met by a professional courteous driver who takes your bags and drives you right to the door of your hotel, along the way he showed us some sights and even stopped so we could take pictures and have lemon ice cream. We also used them for a transfer back to Naples at 7AM at the end of our trip and there was our driver right on time. If you are traveling to the Amalfi Coast from Naples I highly reccomend this company.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Lawrence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfecto! Thank you for a wonderful experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We chose Sorrento Silver Star on the recommendation of my sister who had used their services previously. The experience was truly exception from start to finish.

Luisa was absolutely terrific providing options and recommendations that were best tailored to our needs and arranging the two legs of our trip. She answered my many emails, always being helpful, pleasant, and prompt. It was an absolute pleasure to work with her.

Tommaso picked us up at the Naples Port and drove us to Positano with a stop over at Pompeii. He shared a lot of information about the area and made a dinner reservation for us at Constantino, a great local restaurant in Positano where we were greeted as friends of the family and enjoyed a wonderful meal.

On the way back, we had a full-day tour of the Amalfi Coast with Massimo. He was absolutely terrific in his recommendations and stop selections, which allowed us to make the most of the tour day and got us back to Naples in time for the train to Rome. We stopped at the Emerald Grotto and enjoyed a boat ride from there to Amalfi, where following Massimo's recommendations we stopped at the cathedral and the paper factory museum, both of which were amazing. Then we drove up to Ravello, with its spectacular villas and coast vistas. Massimo is a local who knows a lot about the area, and we only wished we had more time in his care. He is an amazing driver, navigating the mountain roads of the coast easily and smoothly, so we could enjoy the views.

Thank you Luisa, Massimo, and Tommaso for taking great care of us! We hope to be back and will share our experience with everyone! Highly recommend your company to anyone who is planning to visit the Amalfi coast.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank VasyaStamford_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
2 reviews
“Visit to the homeland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

My sisters and wife and I visited Italy primarily to see the towns of our family roots plus some traditional touristy areas. Sorrento Silver Star meet us at our hotel in Rome, transferred us to Sorrento visiting Pompeii and Herculaneum along the way. We were driven to Positano, Ravello and Amalfi and Naples as well on subsequent days. Our driver Catello, was courteous, on time, and informative on matters of culture and history. He provided insights and information that would prove useful for our travel and stay in Bari and Rome. He showed us how to navigate the train station in Naples and Caserta. We had used an inexperienced travel agent for Italy that was a friend of one of my sisters. Our agent used several different sources to provide transfer and guide services. We now realize we could have used mainly Sorrento Silver Star which would have made our trip more relaxing. We were very grateful to have had Catello for our driver.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dominick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balsam Lake
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Top notch service from start to finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

The communication with Luisa from the start via emails was excellent. My friend and I spent the day with Rosario and we were both impressed by his knowledge and driving manner. We were picked up from the naples port where Rosario was waiting for us and had a wonderful day until we came upon a tragic accident. Both he and Luisa had alternatives for us and at the end of the day put us on the hydrofoil back to the naples port so that we would not miss our board time on ship. We would not have made it via the road. A truly professional and courteous tour company that I will not hesitate to call on again as I just love the Amalfi coast. I will be back Luisa.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kawarthalakes76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sorrento Silver Star Tours also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Sorrento Silver Star Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing