We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect - my home away from home”
Review of Il Giglio Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Giglio Bianco
Ranked #94 of 134 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect - my home away from home”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Il Giglio Bianco is the most wonderful little bed and breakfast I have ever visited. The owners are so friendly, and so eager to do everything they can to give their guest a perfect holiday. All rooms are spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and very delicate. The location is also good - only a few minutes walk from the main street and all other sights in beautiful Sorrento.

I cannot find anything negative to say about Il Giglio Bianco, and I have already started planning my next stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElenJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    44
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
18
72
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NewJersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Excellent quaint, clean B&B with good location for walking to major sites and restaurants in Sorrento. Difficult to find with their website directions and if you do not carry international cell phone w/you then it is tough trying to call them for assistance in locating the spot.
No elevators, so if stairs bother you look for another spot.
Other than that, once there it is comfortable and basic breakfast is provided.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smallgroupsonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Il Giglio Bianco was a good find in the very touristy city of Sorrento, reasonably priced and family run. It's off the beaten path a bit but certainly convenient to the central area and to the train station. Mario picked us up at the train station when we arrived and then took us to the port to catch our ferry to Naples when it was time to leave -- a very welcome service. The location is quiet and the room was spotless. We had a little fridge which was nice, and a beautiful balcony with several chairs and a glass-topped table. The breakfast was ample as far as Italian breakfasts go, with an assortment of bread, rolls, yogurt, juice and coffee. We would have liked a change of towels over a four-day stay, but not a major problem.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3805Peach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

After reading lots of reviews we booked Giglio Bianco and were looked after beautifully by Mario. The rooms are fresh and clean with a delicious breakfast and Mario made our coffee every morning for us. The B&B is quiet and safe and a short walk from the main tourist area.
We also met Mario's family who have a farm stay near Positano and they made us so welcome, we stayed for one night with them and had the tastiest meal cooked by Mario's brother Angelo. Mario and Salvatore showed us around their farm and even let my husband help harvest their olives! When it was time to leave Giglio Bianco, Mario carried our luggage and drove us to the station. If we are back in Sorrento we will always make sure we stay at Giglio Bianco. Grazie!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My stay in Sorrento, Italy was amazing! Great location, very clean, Mario and Salvatore were excellent... I felt at home=) Highly recommend it! I couldn't ask for anything more....
Grazie Mario y Salvatore!! I will contact you next time I plan to go to beautiful Sorrento=)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamelasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Great place to be, friendly and great staff, clean and awesome locatn. You can't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandiceP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We chose Il Giglio Bianco as a place to stay while in Sorrento when we saw its website and read the very positive reviews from other travellers on Trip Advisor. When we got there, we found everything we had expected - friendly, attentive service, pretty bedroom and balcony, fresh linen when we wanted and even a small fridge - a welcome asset during the high July temperatures.
The breakfasts were delicious but very sweet - croissants, tiny sponge cakes and freshly baked tarts and cakes provided by Mario's wife, Maria, and his mother. Some yoghurt and fruit was available also.
Mario was always on hand to provide juices and freshly brewed coffee. He also had very useful advice to offer regarding public transport.e.g. best way to travel to and from Rome etc.
During our 8 day stay there, we met a variety of combinations of guests - a Danish family, a Northern European woman travelling solo and a group of Americans ' doing Europe'. For some, the availability of WiFi was a real attraction. For all, Il Giglio Bianco was a safe and peaceful haven from which to enjoy the pleasures of Sorrento.

We relished the climb back in the evenings and then the stairs up to our room, imagining the reduced waistbands that would be our reward - but oh those croissants!!

I would recommend Il Giglio Bianco as a quiet, safe and friendly base for a short holiday in Sorrento or as a pretty stop over while touring the Amalfi Coast.

We have fond memories of Il Giglio and would be happy to include it in our itinerary in the future.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank N_R802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nice
Hotel Nice
#75 of 100 in Sorrento
342 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B DolceVita
B&B DolceVita
#51 of 134 in Sorrento
149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Dominova Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Sorrentina
Casa Sorrentina
#16 of 134 in Sorrento
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Casa Reale Sorrento
B&B Casa Reale Sorrento
#25 of 134 in Sorrento
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Magnolia
La Magnolia
#34 of 134 in Sorrento
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Giglio Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giglio Bianco

Property: Il Giglio Bianco
Address: Via Parsano 25 | località S. Lucia, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B located in an historic and aristocratic building in the Centre of Sorrento with budget and spacious rooms. Free WI_FI for all guests. This is one of the few bed and breakfast located precisely in the heart of Sorrento. There is no need to take either car or public transport to visit Sorrento and both the train station and harbor where Ferries leave for Capri and Ischia are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Il Giglio Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing