We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Il Giglio Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Giglio Bianco
Ranked #100 of 144 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I felt that once we were there, Mario lost interest in making us welcome. Good points: the room was clean (although there was an ancient boiled sweet stuck to the floor, next to the bed) and there was a small balcony and a nice en-suite bathroom. Only 5 minutes leisurely walk from the centre of Sorrento. Bad points: up 6 flights of marble stairs which was exhausting. Mario carried our cases up when we arrived but made sure he was absent when we left (despite asking us for the time of departure); we are two ladies, one recovering from a knee operation, and had to carry cases down 3 floors; there was no response to knocking on his door and ringing the bell for assistance and, as my friend said, he'd got the money from us so wasn't bothered any more. The bathroom had no shower gel or soap and we had to supply our own, which I thought was mean. The breakfast was basic - croissant, cake, biscuit and juice, tea or coffee. No safe in the room meant valuables were vulnerable. TV only had Italian stations. Finally, although the bed felt comfortable, I had a cripplingly sore back all the time I stayed there which cleared up when I returned home. Mario had asked us to check out by 11 but on the last morning, asked us to vacate the room in half an hour (at 10 am), which rushed us. We were told we could leave our cases until we were ready to leave Sorrento - these were left in the reception area on their own and anyone could have helped themselves to the contents. He also asked us to leave the keys on the side which, as he wasn't around when we returned, would have ensured we missed the return flight. Fortunately, we ignored this request. He demanded payment in cash, did not offer us change but rounded up to the nearest 10 euro and did not provide a receipt. Draw your own conclusions. I also didn't appreciate Mario's habit of staring at my breasts - conduct which I would expect from a 14 year-old boy, not a full-grown man - and he seemed to have to drag his eyes up to my face every morning. Most unpleasant. Looking at alternative accommodation in Sorrento, I felt Il Giglio was slightly overpriced for what we got. It disappointed; I would not recommend and would not return there.

Room Tip: Have a look at a hotel which offers half-board as Sorrento is very expensive. Look at hotels in Sorr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NikkiMansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

Il Giglio was a treat to stay at while in Sorrento. The breakfasts were very good, and snacks were available if you needed more food in Italy. Mario and his brother were great. Looking typical tourists, Mario spotted us as we walked up the road to the B&B. Turned his motorcycle around and helped us up the hill. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greg438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

We were so impressed with our room. Spotless and roomy. Brand new sparkling bath. Flat screen tv. Balcony and the most friendly host. Lovely breakfast. We were not sure of the location when we first arrived, and stopped in a shop to ask the way. The owner said no problem as he knew Mario so he phoned to say we were on the way. Within 5 minutes, mario came in the car for us.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arelar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed here as a three in August 2012. We were doing a tour of Italy and this was the best hotel we stayed in by far! The hosts were very hospitable & the breakfast was lovely, coffee was great too. They also gave us good information about what to see & good restaurants to go to.

The rooms were a really good size and very clean. Beds were comfortable and the AC was a god send in the heat. Always cleaned during the day and quiet at night time.

The location is good, although can be quite difficult to find so be prepared. Sorrento can get very busy in the high seasons so this little place was out the way, away from the crowds.

We went as friends but could imagine it being a lovely base for couples or on your own.

Really loved it and couldn't recommend it highly enough. Hopefully will return one day!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollin80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Lovely place to stay in Sorrento - we have visited Sorrento a few times and this place was the best so far. Easy to find, great location, friendly welcome, clean and nice rooms. The breakfast was delicious. We would definitely come back again. The only note is I would not recommend it for older travelers as there is no elevator to the third floor.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kofi_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

My daughter and I enjoyed 2 superb nights in this beautiful, clean, well-located B&B. Breakfast was wonderful with yogurt, buns, pastries, juices, teas, with great cappuccinos freshly prepared by the brothers who run Il Giglio Bianco. The brothers provided information about Sorrento, Capri and great places to eat. The view from the balcony of our room was "real bella Italia". The B&B is located near the Hotel Leone just up a little walkway and well within walking distance of Piasso Tasso and the ferry to Capri. Got off the Airport Bus from Naples in downtown Sorrento (Airport Bus only 10 Euros a person) and found a taxi--give the street address. The only challenge was that the B&B was located on the 5th floor with no elevator. The brothers, however, carried our bags and frankly I returned to Canada more fit than ever. This is a real gem in Sorrento and we highly recommend Il Giglio Bianco, the White Lily.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanetty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We stayed for 8 nights late Sept/early Oct 2012 - we had 2 rooms , both with balconies. What a delightful place to stay - clean, well appointed - light and airy. Lovely to sit on the balcony with a cocktail each evening before heading into town for dinner. we got to watch a slice of life in Sorrento away from the tourists from that balcony.
Our hosts Mario and Angelo could not have been more helpful - good suggestions for local places for dinner - and ready each morning with fresh coffee, pastries, yoghurt and juice - just add your own fruit and you are set for the day. Italians don't 'do' breakfast as we discovered on our travels so this breakfast was a pleasant surprise.
The stairs were a good workout after all that great Italian food - and Angelo kindly helped us with our luggage up and down.
It is an easy walk into the main town, to the beach area and to the ferries to Capri etc - ou taxi driver from the station did not know of the B&B , but sat nav fixed that. We would definitely stay here again should we return to Sorrento.
Wifi is good and there is an office just around the corner where you can arrange a car and driver to take you to Amalfi coast or Naples - when the buses and trains are on strike - or like us , hated the local train from Naples to Sorrento so found another way to return.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tikki14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,033 reviews
0.2 mi away
Piazza Tasso B&B
Piazza Tasso B&B
#14 of 144 in Sorrento
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Giglio Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giglio Bianco

Address: Via Parsano 25 | località S. Lucia, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range: £60 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B located in an historic and aristocratic building in the Centre of Sorrento with budget and spacious rooms. Free WI_FI for all guests. This is one of the few bed and breakfast located precisely in the heart of Sorrento. There is no need to take either car or public transport to visit Sorrento and both the train station and harbor where Ferries leave for Capri and Ischia are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Il Giglio Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing