We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Nido Hotel Sorrento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Ranked #23 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Lovely out of town location, with fabulous views at breakfast and dinner from the excellent restaurant. The free shuttle bus was incredibly useful, but best of all, the owners are so helpful, even taking me to the train station before 6 am. Thoroughly recommend this place if you're looking for a bit of character in Sorrento.

Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank nottstourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Nottstourer,
Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community! I was delighted to konw that You found us helpful, and i will pass along your compliments to Dino and the rest of the staff. We always do our best to let pur Guest to feel like home, and your review is really appreciated.
I hope to be able to host you again on your next trip to Sorrento.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,200
    390
    60
    17
    10
See reviews for
410
859
59
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

The hotel il Nido was a really great part of our visit to sorrento the 2 brothers who run it make every effort to be helpful. The breakfast was abundant and varied. The room large and a nice view. We even ate dinner at the restaurant when we were too tired to go elsewhere. The food was very good and the prices very reasonable. We would definitely come back!

Room Tip: The view is very lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Judy B,
Thank you for choosing HOTEL Il NIdo for your recent stay in Sorrento. I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel, and appreciated our restaurant too.
We certainly hope to be able to host you again on your next trip to Sorrento.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

We thought they did things very well at Il Nido. Gianni the proprietor was born in the hotel 49 years ago when it was run by his mother and father and you can tell that the family knows what running a hotel is all about. It's small enough so that you feel personally welcomed but it is also efficient and they know how to make guests comfortable. Ours was a large double room with a balcony overlooking the Bay of Naples, face on to Vesuvius and surrounded by lemon, orange and olive groves. It was blissfully quiet - a real boon when you have spent the day travelling on the Circumvesuviana to Pompeii or have joined the hoards on Capri or have been dodging the traffic down in Sorrento itself. And they had really decent beds, air conditioning, room safes, good showers and a mini-bar. There's also a self service laundry, I believe, although we didn't use it.

The restaurant at the hotel is excellent which meant we didn't feel we had to trek out again in the evening to find food. Once you've spent a day in Pompeii, Herculaneum or with the crowds on Capri you are really grateful for good food on your doorstep. Breakfasts are extensive - croissants, fresh fruit, yoghurts, cheese, ham, toast, cereals, fresh orange juice and as much of all of it as you like. They run and extremely efficient shuttle bus which will take you down to town or pick you up at hourly intervals until 11.30 at night. And when we had to leave at an ungodly hour of the morning, Gianni arranged for us to be taken to the train station in the minibus rather than have to book an expensive taxi. It's simple, unpretentious and in a fabulous position. If you like big hotels with day and night room service, lounges, bars and all that stuff it probably isn't for you - but if you like something a bit more personal and rooted in its location, then Il Nido is the one to pick.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Bay - ours was a corner room so we had the minimum of disturbance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betigweno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Betigweno,
What a detailed review! Your comment prizes us, since is our ultimate goal is the absolute satisfaction of each and every one of our guests. I was happy to read you enjoyed your stay. from the room to the restaurant, and i really look forward to renewing your faith with your next stay with us!
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

This hotel was difficult to find, smelled dusty and was quite outdated. The views here are fabulous but it is quite far out of town although they do have a courtesy bus that runs every hour.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jaibry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Jaibry,
thank you for your candid comment. really appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

>>The Good:
Very good hot breakfast (included) with wonderful views from the patio.
Restaurant was also tasty and reasonably priced for dinner.
Staff was accommodating of our extra requests (printing, ice).
Shuttle into town ran every half hour and was on time.
Temperature within the room was comfortable (the A/C and thermostat worked well).
Free parking on-site with plenty of spots available.

>>The Bad:
Ants, all over the bathroom and also within the room (we even found a few in the comforter). We killed scores of them over our 3 night stay. This made our stay very uncomfortable for my wife. We brought this up with the staff, and they claimed they had not heard of the problem before. They did not seem very concerned, since the ants were the small black 'harmless' type.

Perhaps we are just used to a higher standard of cleanliness in the US, but Italy is not exactly a third-world country, particularly a wealthy town like Sorrento. We found it unfortunate, since our stay was otherwise quite pleasant.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 127-129 if possible. These are in a separate wing from the rest of the hotel, and our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Ben K,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share you experience and for staying with us. I'm really sorry if You had some problems with ants (your room was just close to the garden). I can't belive that my brother was not concerned about the problem, since other guests suggested us to use natural remedies against the ants. Then I confess i was a little confused reading the review, and i ask why if you had the problem for three days you just told us on your departure day? Finally, everybody knows that ants are not attracted by dirt, and as you can read in dozen of reviews the cleaness is one of the strenght of our hotel, so i found amiss to talk about third-world country.
As always, we'll continue to provide the very best of service and look forward to renewing your faith with your next stay with us!
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Frandcisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Great views, good food in the restaurant (and reasonable price). Ways from town but views of bay and Vesuvius fabulous. Shuttle essential as transport to town and train/bus station, but efficient, you just need to be mindful of the hotel shuttle schedule. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Fantastic family run hotel. Definitely ask for a room with views, worth the extra money. Reasonable priced.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragonhung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Dragonhung,
Thank you for choosing Hotel Il NIdo for your recent stay in Sorrento. I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel. We are equally pleased that our restaurant and the staff made such a favorable impression.
We will look forward to seeing you again on your next trip
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Il Nido is a very comfortable and somewhat unusual property. As mentioned by other reviewers it is a haul from Sorrento, but the shuttle bus makes it work. While this is not always the most convenient, the peaceful ambience and views inspire a more relaxed attitude. The rooms are large though a little dated. Everything was clean, the staff friendly and helpful, and both the included breakfast and restaurant very good. If you're looking to unwind after a day of frantic tourism, this is the place.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a view / balcony; a little extra $ but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conradmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Conradmeyer,
Thank you for staying at our hotel and for sharing your experience. I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel. I was equally pleased that our staff made such a favorable impression. We certainly hope to be able to host you again on your next trip to Sorrento.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,814 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Oriana Relais
Villa Oriana Relais
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Nido Hotel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Nido Hotel Sorrento

Property: Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Address: Via Nastro Verde 62, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Nido Hotel Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Il Nido Hotel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Sorrento
Sorrento Il Nido Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing