We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value & Great Service while in Sorrento”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Value & Great Service while in Sorrento”
Reviewed 19 June 2012 via mobile

The view from the dining area was amazing and the hotel shuttle ran on a fixed schedule making the short trip into town easy to plan on. Like other reviewers I agree the orange juice is wonderful and so is the customer service. The washer & dryer was nice to have access to since we travel light, also. If you're looking for a budget friendly hotel with great views Il Nido is your best bet.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terptravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Terptravels,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! The view is our highlight, then the orange juice machine is very popular among our guests. I was glad to read you found helpful your self laudry facilities.
Once again, thank you very much for taking your time and we are looking forward to host your return in our property again soon.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,217
    394
    62
    17
    10
See reviews for
416
873
59
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed here in Early Summer 2011. The property is located high on the hills perched above sorrento. Note, that It is highly recommended that you catch the complimentary shuttle bus up and down the hill which runs regularly. The food at the restaurant is good, and general hospitality is good. The rooms are comfortable, however the views are spectacular ! Recommended

Room Tip: Get a view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaneel_Shastri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Shaneel Namita,
We are so delighted to read your review and to hear that you enjoyed your stay! And is a pleasure to know you enjoyed our restaurant too.
We certainly hope to be able to host you again on your next trip to Sorrento.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We cannot recommend this hotel enough. I chose this based on reviews on Trip Advisor and had to write to confirm that the hotel even exceeded the good reviews I read.

The hotel is perfectly placed for exploring the Amalfi coast. The free shuttle bus service to and from Sorrento allows for convenient access to the main town but the hillside location provides a peaceful respite; with beautiful views over the bay to Mount Vesuvius.

Our Garden room was a good size, clean and quiet. The garden patio was an added bonus - providing a further place to relax and enjoy the view. The breakfasts are superb and really set you up for a busy day ahead.

The staff are really what make this hotel; the owner, the lady on the reception desk/ waitress in the hotel restaurant and the fantastic regular driver of the shuttle bus. nothing was too much trouble - including a very early morning Sunday drop off to the station. They are friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

Thank you to all the staff at the Il Nido Hotel. We will certainly recommend this and will hopefully be back.

Room Tip: The garden view room was an excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Lucy E,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share you experience and for staying with us. I was pleased to read we have been able to exceed your expectations. Our staff always try to provide total guest satisfaction, and your review sounds like a prize for us.
We will look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Stayed at the Il Nido Hotel in June and had a garden view room with our own private balcony with fantastic views of Mount Vesiuvius and Naples Bay. The room was quite large with a lovely big bathroom with bath and shower, although as mentioned in previous reviews from other people, it was a bit dated but spotlessly clean. The towels were a bit weird but we got used to them. The chambermaid came in every day to change the sheets and make the bed which was very nice. Dino and Jacqueline went out of their way to be extremely helpful and on the day of our departure Dino actually took us to the coach station at 6.00am (thank you very much Dino!) The breakfast was wonderful - freshly squeezed orange juice, fruit, scrambled eggs bacon, danish pastries and really set you up for the day. The view from the restaurant balcony was breathtaking. Having a free shuttle bus service was great, as the hotel is approx 5km out of town so this was not a problem. All in all this is a really good-value 3* hotel and would recommend it. Thanks again to Dino and all the staff for a great stay.

Room Tip: Room 103 which has a garden view but with side sea views and private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Carole T,
Thank you so much for selecting our hotel for your recent visit and for writing such a nice review. I was happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and the surrounding area. I am equally pleased that our staff made such a favorable impression, I will pass along your compliments to Dino and the rest of the staff.
Once again, thank you very much for taking your time and we are looking forward to host your return in our property again soon.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Stayed at Il Nido for 7 nights. As we had never been to Sorrento before, I chose a Superior Room at the hotel based on reviews about the quiet location and wonderful sea views. I was a bit concerned about being out of town but the hotel's regular and free shuttle bus meant this did not matter. Our room was spacious and clean, although the bed was a bit on the hard side (as were the pillows) and the towels in the bathroom are oddly more like tea towels or table linen rather than fluffy. There was a little bit of overhead noise from 7 am with chairs being moved in the restaurant above our room but we got used to it. We were expecting only to have a bath but fortunately there was an overhead shower which was powerful with lots of hot water. The furniture in the room is a bit dated and could do with upgrading but does provide plenty of storage. Prices in the mini bar are very reasonable compared to drinks in town. We really enjoyed all the food both at the buffet breakfast and at dinner, where service was friendly and speedy, the food delicious and excellent value compared to some of the restaurants we tried in town. With hindsight, we wished we had eaten there every evening. The staff were helpful, eg we arrived early and they made us some spaghetti with tomatoes even though they don't normally do lunch. Also as our flight left early, they took us to the station at 6 am free of charge which we really appreciated. The only thing I didn't like was that there was no place to sunbathe. I was hoping to sit outside for an hour or two during our stay but didn't see any sunloungers - however, I didn't ask for them. You can of course go to the beach in Sorrento instead if you want. Overall, if you are looking for hotel providing good value for money, friendly staff, great food and wonderful views over the bay to Vesuvius and Sorrento, then choose Il Nido.

Room Tip: Choose a Superior Room with Balcony to enjoy the wonderful coastal views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henwomanGlenrothes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear HenwomanGlenrothes,
What a detailed and candid review! Thank you so much for writing such a detailed review and I was happy to read you enjoyed your stay. We will consider all the suggestions you gave. Unfortunately i have to say that we have a terrace for sunbathing with sunbeds on the side of the hotel, if only you had asked us...
We are looking forward to host your return in our property again soon .
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Stayed at Il Nido in April 2012 for 3 nights with my wife, my 11 month old and another couple. Staff was amazing had a playpen installed in the room for the little one without us asking at no extra charge. The staff was very friendly and accomodating, it was our first time there and we felt right at home. We would reccommend this place to anyone that stops by Sorrento, food was excellent and all homemade. Breakfast was delicious, especially the freshly squeezed orange juice.

Room Tip: we chose the ocean view and it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Marco T,
The Management and staff at Il NIdo Hotel are so delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay in our property as this is our ambition.
We will look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We were a bit nervous about staying out of the centre of Sorrento but in fact it was the best decision. Staying at Il Nido meant we got breathtaking views and peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle when we wanted it. The hotel runs a regular and reliable shuttle service to the centre of town so getting to and from is really easy and hassle free.

The breakfast here was the best we had in all the hotels we stayed at. Lots of choice, freshly squeezed orange juice, mountains of pastries, and amazing fresh fruit along with the usual continental fare.

We ate at the restaurant one evening and were pleasantly surprised by the standard of the food. We both were really impressed, my husband especially so by his seafood pasta.

All the staff at the hotel are friendly and cheery and make you feel very welcome. The receptionist when we checked it was lovely and even upgraded us to a sea facing room because it was free which we really appreciated.

The only reason the hotel gets 4 stars rather than 5 is that the rooms themselves could do with some updating. They are clean and comfortable but the furniture and furnishings are a little dated.

If you're staying here, try to push yourself to go for the rooms with sea views. The views are so stunning you'll be disappointed if you don't have them from your room.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HelenK1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear HelenK1980,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share you experience and for staying with us. I was glad to read you enjoyed your stay, and I was delighted to hear that you appreciated our breakfast and our dinner. We are equally pleased that our staff made such a favorable impression.
I will pass along your compliments to rest of the staff. Following the suggestions of our guest we scheduled the update of the fornitures.
We will look forward to seeing you again on your next trip
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,909 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Oriana Relais
Villa Oriana Relais
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Nido Hotel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Nido Hotel Sorrento

Property: Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Address: Via Nastro Verde 62, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Nido Hotel Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Il Nido Hotel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Sorrento
Sorrento Il Nido Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing