We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views and incredible food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Ranked #22 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I can't recommend Il Nido enough. The food at their restaurant and the views from the rooms and dining terrace are amazing. We stayed there for three nights while in Sorrento and ate at the hotel each night after spending the day exploring the town. The food is much better value than in the town and is surprisingly also of a higher quality. The hotel's dining terrace has incredible views of Mt Vesuvius, Naples Bay and Sorrento town, each of which is constantly shifting as the sun sets to the west. I would definitely stay at Il Nido again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patchmacpatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 July 2012

Dear Patchmacpatch,
Thank you for choosing HOTEL Il NIdo for your recent stay in Sorrento. I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel, and you appreciated your restaurant too.
We certainly hope to be able to host you again on your next trip to Sorrento.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

623 - 629 of 1,789 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at Il Nido for the first 4 nights of our 18 day vacation in Italy. Dino and Jacqueline (I am sure I spelled her name incorrectly, but she is a delight and so accommodating!) will go out of their way to ensure your visit here is exceptional. It was the best sleep we had during our visit to Italy. It is so quiet on Via Capo ... we were far enough from the center of Sorrento that the city noise didn't reach us, yet close enough that we weren't far from the action. The breakfast was by far the best we experienced in Italy (I voted Il Nido for the best breakfast at any hotel ever, but I was outvoted by one of my companions). The pastries are displayed in a glass case like precious gems - and they are indeed the crowned jewels. Warm and crisp, flaky, not too sweet. We later learned that Dino's cousin owns a pasticceria and provides these delicacies. There are large and small pastries, for sampling and for devouring. Exceptional! There are eggs, shirred and perfectly cooked. As others have stated, the orange juice is very special here. Even my daughter who hates pulp in her o.j. drank this liquid gold. You can have espresso, cappuccino, "Americano" coffee ... whatever delights your palette. Il Nido is a bit far from the city center to make a walk into town reasonable, but the shuttle worked fine for our purposes. The restaurant is good and having a place on site made it easy for us to request a cheese plate on our balcony with a bottle of wine from the restaurant, which was what we wanted most after a day of touring. Jacqueline helped us schedule a boat tour to Capri (a recommenation we received upon arrival at Il Nido). We listed 3 things as highlights of our trip, and this tour was one of them. They picked us up at Il Nido, took us to the Marina Piccola, and gave us a memory we will keep forever as we toured Capri with our guide, Vincenzo -- a charming Italian with an Australian/Italian/Swedish/American accent. It cost us less than if we had gone into Capri by ourselves. The only negative I will list is that of the 7 hotels we stayed at, Il Nido was the only hold-out for the standard Eurpean towels (more like table linens). It's really not a negative, because we get the environmental benefits ... but we did notice that the other hotels we stayed at made the transition to thicker, terry-cloth style towels. My final comment is this: I cannot understand how Il Nido remains a budget hotel. It's really an amazing, special stay. I will definitely return here should I visit Sorrento again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. The extra cost is well worth it! This made our trip worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMG-08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 July 2012

Dear AMG-08,
What to say? First of all, i will share your comment with Dino, Jacqueline and the rest of the staff. We are so delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay in our property and there is nothing makes us happier than your confirmation of satisfaction as this is our ambition.
We are looking forward to host your return in our property again soon, Sorrento and Hotel Il Nido are already waiting for You!
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Il Nido for 5 days in late May, and were completely satisfied with our experience. From top to bottom, the friendly hotel staff (especially Dino the owner), the delicious food (which rivaled the best rest restaurants in town!), the breathtaking views of Mt. Vesuvius from our balcony and the restaurant, experiencing the hospitality in Il Nido was the most pleasant stay of our 2 week trip to Europe.

The hotel is centrally located from other popular destinations on the Amalfi Coast. We made one day trip to Positano (must do!), which was an easy bus ride from across the street. We also booked the excursion to Capri directly with the hotel, and were picked up and dropped off right at the front door. Though I should warn if you suffer from motion sickness or have a weak stomach, stock up on Dramamine for the windy bus ride down the mountain! :-)

The only thing you need to plan around is the shuttle service - because it runs every hour and if you miss it the only other option is to pay about 40 Euros to get to the center of town. But it's a small inconvenience in comparison to everything you get at this wonderful hotel.

Dino is an amazing manager, running a great hotel. Every day, he went out of his way to accommodate our requests, even though most of the time it was our lack of planning that caused the need for assistance!

We highly recommend Il Nido for anyone traveling to Sorrento or looking for a central location on the Amalfi Coast!

P.S. we rated 'sleep quality' a 3 because being frequent business travelers in the U.S. we are used to more plush pillows and mattresses. The 3 rating is the same for all hotels we stayed in during our trip to Italy, as it appears the norm is thin mattresses and hard pillows.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carmat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 July 2012

Dear Carmat17,
Thank you so much for writing such a detailed review, i really don't know where to start! Your fine feedbacks are highly appreciated and we will share your comment with our team. The Management and staff at Il NIdo Hotel are so delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay in our property and there is nothing makes us happier than your confirmation of satisfaction as this is our ambition. About the shuttle service, we always suggest to our guest to take a drink at the bar close to the bus stop, if they loose the run, and and hour pasts so fast!
Once again, thank you very much for taking your time and we are looking forward to host your return in our property again soon.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Booked the quad room. Very spacious and clean. Breakfast was filling and had a great variety of options. The front desk was helpful with questions and accommodating. The only negative was that the last shuttle leaves sorrento at 1130pm and the city is still very active at this time. You will have to get a taxi if you choose to stay later as the hotel is a 10 min drive away. Overall excellent experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shepherd0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 July 2012

Dear Shepherd0202,
Thank you very much for sharing us with your favorable feedback on Trip Advisor. Your fine feedbacks are highly appreciated and we will share your comment with our team. About the shuttle we have to say that is a free sevice and most of our guest consider that over 15 runs a day are quite enough.
We certainly hope to be able to host you again on your next trip to Sorrento.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My husband and I arrived home yesterday having had a fabulous holiday. We spent 7 nights at Il Nido, we have never had a better experience, the staff are friendly, helpful and go that extra mile to make your stay fabulous. The rooms are clean and comfortable with stunning views of Naples bay, sorrento and vesuvius. The food in the restaurant was very reasonably priced and really yummy, the drinks at the hotel were cheaper than the bars in town, breakfast was very good with a great selection,and the nicest fresh orange juice ever, the free bus from the hotel to the town square was a life saver the hotel being away from the town a great plus for the views. we will definately return next year to carry on our tours of the area. The hotel is run by a really lovely family who are friendly and nothing is to much trouble. thank you so much Dino and family carry on the way you are , see you next year.

Room Tip: just ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rubykam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 July 2012

Dear Rubykam,
What a detailed review! Thank you so much for writing such a detailed review and I was happy to read you enjoyed your stay. Our ultimate goal is the absolute satisfaction of each and every one of our guests, and your review prizes us.
We really hope to see you here nex year, our sea view, our dinner and our staff is already waiting for you.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

My wife, 11 year old son, and I stayed at Il Nido for three nights in June. We loved Il Nido. The rooms were fairly plain, but comfortable, and they had A/C - a major plus! They also came with the amazing Amalfi view. But what I REALLY liked about Il Nido were our breakfasts and dinners on the patio on top of the Hotel. The food was excellent, service was perfect, but even those things couldn't top the view from our table. So beautiful, so relaxing, with Vesuvius to the north, the Amalfi islands in the sunset to the west, and the lemon and olive groves flowing down the hillside below. Il Nido was truly one of our favorite places to stay on our three week trip through Italy.

Although the hotel is quite a distance from the town center (and therefore train station), the hourly shuttles made this a moot point. As such, I consider the location away from the town a plus! Also, the availability of parking was a plus.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CartmansBadKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 July 2012

Dear CartmansBadKitty,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share you experience and for staying with us. I was pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Hotel Il NIdo, and the view on the bay. I was also delighted to know that our was able to exceed your expectations.
We are looking forward to host your return in our property again soon.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We spent two nights at Il Nido, and had a wonderful stay. The price was very reasonable, and the view from our room of Naples, Sorrento, and Mt. Vesuvius was unbeatable. Breakfasts were another highlight, with a great variety of food. We loved the orange juice machine! We ate at the restaurant for dinner one night and also found the prices reasonable and the food good. For both the hotel and restaurant, service was excellent. The included bus drop offs/pick ups into Sorrento were timely and very convenient. You can tell the family running Il Nido takes pride in their hotel, and took great care of their customers. If we ever return to Sorrento, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view deluxe room that had an absolutely fantastic view of Vesuvius, complete with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lasweetvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Dear lasweetvie,
Thank you so much for writing such a detailed review and I was happy to read you enjoyed your stay and our services. You are right the orange juice machine gets always a great success.Our ultimate goal is the absolute satisfaction of each and every one of our guests, and your review prizes us.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
1,388 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Britannia
Hotel Britannia
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Nido Hotel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Nido Hotel Sorrento

Address: Via Nastro Verde 62, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £73 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Nido Hotel Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Il Nido Hotel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Sorrento
Sorrento Il Nido Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing