We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel with great views and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Ranked #22 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2008

We spent two lovely nights in April in the Il Nido. The hotel is modern and situated above the main town of Sorrento and has fabulous views over the bay – they are especially spectacular at night with all the lights twinkling. The rooms were good – spotlessly clean with comfortable bed, well appointed bathrooms/good shower and flat screen television. The Hotel is a bit away from the main town but the Hotel run a great free hourly shuttle bus that leaves you into town and picks you up again – we used this and left the car parked in the Il Nido for the duration of our stay. The breakfast is served in a lovely room with a wide balcony with the great view – in summer this would be an amazing place to sip your early morning cuppa. The breakfast itself was very good and included hot bacon/eggs/sausages and fresh orange juice from a great machine which you load up with oranges yourself. I can’t speak about dinner as we did not eat here. The Hotel Staff were very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful and assisted us in planning a successful day trip to Herculaneum. A special mention for Dino who showed a great example of great customer service in how he dealt with me in relation to a coat I left behind. On contacting the hotel Dino was most helpful and posted the coat to me no problem and then would not let me pay the nearly twenty euro it cost to do so – not many hotels these days would do this and this I think shows the measure of the place.

All in all a very good hotel which thinks of its guests needs, offers great service and one which I would definitely recommend for anyone looking for a hotel in the Sorrento area that won’t break the bank.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nialler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,242 - 1,248 of 1,789 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2008

Our group of five booked three rooms at Il Nido in April. After the unpleasant dollar:euro ratio we had experienced in Rome, the value of the rooms and food prices was especially appreciated.

Our rooms were basic but large, very clean and comfortable, with a large bath and a wonderful view of the Bay of Sorrento. As has been mentioned, the breakfasts offer a nice range of hot and cold selections. It's best to arrive early, as the staff does not seem to restock items that are consumed by other guests.

We were glad we'd opted for the serenity of the quiet environment and fabulous views over the convenience of accommodations in downtown Sorrento. The free shuttle made this work. A note of caution: we found the van sometimes departed from the meeting spot earlier than promised, but a call to the hotel got us a pickup with no problem.

The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff was exceptional. The members of this hardworking family were available when we needed and not obtrusive otherwise.

When traveling as a group, be advised that there is just a small area in the lobby in which to congregate, but the dining area is available if needed.

There are two computers in the lobby with Internet access, and there is also free wireless in the room if you have a laptop.

We enjoyed our meal at the on-site restaurant and would have dined there more if we hadn't wanted to sample more food venues. The free appetizer and sparking wine is a nice touch.

We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank anne472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2008

We stayed for seven nights and were so glad we had chosen Il Nido for a stay of that length. The hotel is owned and operated by family and it shows. From the friendly morning greetings to the delicious meals this hotel is a find. We ate in the restaurant four evenings and they were the best meals we had in Sorrento. The meals were well prepared, hot, and good value. It was so enjoyable to relax during dinner and stay as long as we wanted to after a long day of sightseeing, unlike dining in a restaurant that was anxious for your table. Views are spectacular and bus service reliable. It was pleasant to be away from town and in such a peaceful setting with spectacular views.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LionTraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2008

Best food and service we've had for a long time, at a reasonable rate. It felt more like a four star, than a three. This is a family run establishment, where everyone pitches in to make you genuinely feel welcome. The breakfast was excellent, with real choices to suit different expectations. Of course, the view is fantastic, and the free bus service worked well.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mole60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2008

About a ten minute ride on the free hourly shuttle, outside the center of Capri. The sea view rooms have a breathtaking view of the Bay of Naples and Mt. Vesuvius. The room was large, with a good size bath and very clean and quiet. TV, mini-bar and safe are in the rooms. There is free internet service in the lobby. The owner and his staff speak English and are very friendly and helpful. There is a very good restaurant on site. Breakfasts were the best we had in Italy. The rate can not be beat. This hotel would be worth it at twice the price. I hope we can return some day.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcgso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2008

It's already been said many times in many reviews and these were the reason for choosing this hotel for our stay in Sorrento, but here goes again anyway! Our room was large and pleasantly decorated with a balcony and superb views across the bay to Vesuvious. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom very large and well equipped. Thre was plenty of storage space too.
Breakfasts were most enjoyable with a good selection to choose from we paticularly liked the fresh orange juice which is produced in front of you by a clever machine, just feed the fruit in at the top!
The town really is only ten minutes away by the hotel minibus which runs on time and is very convenient indeed. We felt that the advantage of the peace and quiet, clean air and superb views far outweighed the slight disadvantage of planning round the bus times and we are pretty disorganised most of the time!
If you have an hour to spare the walk down into Sorrento along the old (virtually disused) road and paths through olive, orange and lemon groves is a pleasure.
We stayed for five nights and it just so happened that it was convenient for us to eat in the hotel restauant on three of those. The food was excellent with large portions and a really good choice, we had no better food anywhere during our stay and the prices are good value. We particularly liked the complimentary glass of prosecco and the bruchetta served before the meal as well as the fact that the menu makes clear what seafood is fresh and what is frozen, an excellent idea! The house red wine at four euros for half a litre is highly recomended.
The service provided by all at the hotel was friendly and helpful without exception and any advice that was required was freely given.
Overall an exceptionally good three star hotel which I would not hesitate to recomend to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CaptainBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2008

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Il Nido Hotel. The people really made a difference! The owners were nice, attentive, helpful and made us feel at home. I can't say enough about the wonderful customer service.

The hotel itself is nicely decorated and furnished, with a lovely restaurant with a large balcony. There was a lift to the rooms. The room was large and clean, and we had a private balcony overlooking the bay. It was a lovely view and we enjoyed a few drinks relaxing on our balcony before going to dinner. There is ample closet and drawer space. The beds were fine, but not exceptional. The bathroom was spacious and clean and everything worked and was in good repair. Everything was nice and very clean, but fairly basic. I wouldn't say the rooms are luxurious, but cheerful and comfortable. There was a very nicely stocked fridge with reasonable prices.

The restaurant was excellent, we had dinner there two nights. We ate the homemade pastas, fish, chicken and the largest veal dinner we've ever had. They start you with a glass of champagne and some snacks while you review the menu. Everything was very good.

The breakfast spread was very nice: cold cuts, cheeses, delicious pastries, fruits, cereals and hot eggs and meats. There was a wonderful juicer and a large basket of fresh, local oranges that was a real treat along with a coffee and espresso machine. Everything was fresh and delicious.

The hotel is outside of the town center, about 10-15 minutes, but we didn't find this to be a problem. There is ample shuttle service from the hotel and a bus stop a few minutes walk down the road from the hotel. I usually like to stay in town center when I travel, but I'm glad we stayed here, for the views and the tranquil and restful environment.

I highly recommend this place and I would return again, without a doubt.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank eurotraveldemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,317 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
1,388 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Britannia
Hotel Britannia
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Nido Hotel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Nido Hotel Sorrento

Address: Via Nastro Verde 62, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £71 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Nido Hotel Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Il Nido Hotel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Sorrento
Sorrento Il Nido Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing