We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Ranked #22 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2013

If you do not look too closely at the bathroom, it is okay. But it is not really really clean. The towels are sheets and we didn't have enough for 2 people every day. so we had to complain.
The view is great, but all the hotels offer this great view. therefore it is nothing special.
Breakfast was ok, but again, nothing special.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear KC C,
thank your for your review, i am really sorry reading it. Cleanliness is our first goal, and the hundreds of previous reviews can testify. would be more useful if you had specified the problem instead of writing general statements. Then about the "great view of all the hotels" can i ask you in which of them have you been?
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

513 - 519 of 1,787 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

We chose this hotel originally due to we could put 2 adults and 3 kids in one room. This is rare in Europe. The hotel is beautiful and the view is spectacular. They have a shuttle out front running constantly to town 5-7 minute ride. Don't let the shuttle scare you the view is so worth being at the top! The food is fantastic. Take a private boat tou to Capri while you are there it's worth it.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
Thank Meko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear Meko,
Thank you for choosing Hotel Il NIdo for your recent stay in Sorrento. I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel, i'm sure that the view from the balcony will be in your heart. Once again, thank you very much for taking your time and we are looking forward to host your return in our property again soon.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This turned out to be everything I'd hoped it would be - a pleasant and convenient base from which to explore the Amalfii Coast, Capri, and Pompeii. Note - it's not a 5-star hotel - but it is excellent at being what it is - a clean, safe, pleasant, yummy, helpful, friendly place to stay.

The hotel is situated high above Sorrento, with a truly incredible view of Sorrento, Mt. Vesuvius, and Naples. The room was very clean, having its own great view, an overhead spa-like shower head (which I love!), and a nice TV. Free wifi. European-style skinny towels, but really huge ones.

Breakfast (included!) was the best I had in Italy. Scrambled eggs, really good and fresh pastries, some meat and cheeses, and this magical orange juice machine where you put in your own oranges and it squeezed them right into your glass. I loved that thing. I heard several guests say the restaurant was good for dinner as well (I never ended up being there for dinner).

The staff were extremely nice - every one of them. They were very helpful in identifying tours to take, or ways to get around Amalfi. In fact, when you check in, they provide a sheet of paper with a map of Sorrento, all the ferry schedules, bus schedules, train schedules, tours with pick-ups at the hotel, and the shuttle schedule to the center of town. I referred to it every day.

Note on getting into town: You wouldn't walk from this hotel to the town center. It's far, and there aren't any sidewalks - on a fairly dangerous twisty road (welcome to the Amalfi Coast!) There is a free hourly shuttle in the mornings and afternoon/evenings to the center of town. It takes about 15-20 mins. I had wondered if this would be an inconvenient constraint on visiting the city, but it turned out to be perfectly frequent enough. The shuttle was always prompt, nice and clean, and the driver was incredibly nice. He would point out various sites during the drive.

Note on tours picking up from the hotel: Getting to Capri is about 18e each way on a ferry. There's a tour that leaves from the hotel that costs not much more, and the boat is a lot more fun than the big ferries (though not for those with weak stomachs!) However, be aware that Il Nido is first on the list of hotel pick-ups, and you'll spend an hour picking up other guests.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiliBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear LiliBoston,
Thank you so much for selecting our hotel for your recent visit and for writing such a nice review. I was happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and the surrounding area. I'm sure that your review will be so useful for our future guests. Further i really hope to see you again here at Hotel Il Nido.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I booked two nights here after reading the glowing reviews on trip advisor, I was pretty disappointed and I'm not urge what all the hype is about!
The good:
Free shuttle down town,
Lovely view,
Staff were friendly,

The bad:
Extremely out dated rooms
Uncomfortable beds
Poor food in the restaurant
Whole hotel is in need of a make over

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beas006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear Kidhead,
Thank you for your feedback. We take all guest comments very seriously and investigate any concerns immediately. We are sorry that you found the bed uncomfortable, but we we did receive any complaints from you during your stay. About the hundreds of previous positive reviews, well it's just a matter of taste...i suppose.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here. If you want a spotless traditional family run hotel with wonderful views and a friendly welcome then this is for you. Don't be put off by the fact it is not in the town centre. The shuttle bus works well. The rooms are basic but clean and nicely decorated. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room. The views are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Enhanced_Blond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Dear Guest,
it was a pleasure to see you back here at Hotel Il Nido, and we are equally pleased for your great review. Thank you again, and then..."All good things come in threes".
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We picked this hotel as we are travelling through Italy by car and have to be mindful of selecting hotels with parking.

Firstly, there is plenty of secure parking off the street.

The hotel did not disappoint also. Although a 10 min drive out of the city centre the fact they have a FREE shuttle which runs on the hour makes it ok.

The room was large and clean with a great view of the bay.

We were able to do our washing which was very handy. €5 for the washing machine and €3 for the dryer. This was a godsend since we are living out of a backpack for 8 weeks.

The breakfast was nice. Loved the fresh orange juice!!

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank bentsa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Dear Bentsa,
Thank you for staying at our hotel and for sharing your experience. Every guest's reviews help us in our efforts to always provide total guest satisfaction. I was glad to read you enjoyed your stay. We are used to say that here at Hotel Il Nido, also your car can enjoy the view from the parking, and you can forget it by using your free shuttle.
We'll be looking forward to seeing again soon!
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

There have been many reviews of this hotel already posted, but I promised the hotel manager ( sorry, I forgot to ask your name), I would right a review. It will be honest too.
My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights from 11th Mat 2013. The hotel is a little way out of Sorrento, but that to us is a benefit. We had a sea view room with balcony, and as everyone says, the view is quite spectacular. We sat all 3nights with a relaxing drink looking over the expansive view of the bay of Naples, sorrento and a backdrop of Versuvius. It is something quite special. The rooms are dated in decor, with bathroom fittings like shower curtain rails held together with cello tape and the taps are so worn it looks like they are brass. the bedroom furniture is also wanting a little, but..... here is the reason it is a diamond. The attentiveness and dedication of the manager is the best I have seen. He will do almost anything to make your stay a good one. The hotel is very clean, staff are courteous and you were made to feel a bit special. That doesn't happen very often. Meals in the restaurant were fine. We only had one meal in the restaurant, so can't say more than that. The shuttle bus is great, taking you to and from Sorrento centre. Just be aware, if you are not at the meeting point on time, the shuttle bus Will leave. The beds as far as I'm concerned are great, a little hard than home but we slept really well, and I usually suffer with back pain from a harder bed. The decor of the hotel is dated as some have said, but it is clean, airy, and if you have a problem, say so. Don't be afraid to tell the manager, he is very attentive as I have said, and will do his utmost to sort problems out.
We had to leave at 6am to catch the 6:30 am sorrento to Naples airport bus and the manager got up early to make sure the coffee machine was on for us to get a drink( the cappuccino was good, contrary to some who said the coffee was awful), he then took us to catch the bus in time. He would not take any money, even though we felt he deserved it. This is a hotel that makes you feel you are among friends, with a lovely setting, and yes, the breakfast pastries are too delicious. Oh yes, the views.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Dear Mark,
Thank you very much for sharing us with your favorable feedback on Trip Advisor. I'm sure it will be useful for our future guests. I will share your comment with the rest of the staff, as it sounds like a prize for us.
We certainly hope to be able to host you again on your next trip to Sorrento.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
1,387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,389 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
509 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
1,043 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Nido Hotel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Nido Hotel Sorrento

Address: Via Nastro Verde 62, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £73 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Nido Hotel Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Il Nido Hotel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Sorrento
Sorrento Il Nido Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing