We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite an impressive little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Ranked #22 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quite an impressive little hotel”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Welcoming staff and great views (excellent views), food good value for money, very useful courtesy bus. Don't recognise the Terrible reviews here that say the staff are rude. We actually found it to be quite the opposite. And when the bus stops running at 10pm just catch a local bus or get a taxi - no problem. Some very harsh reviews on here that are far from justified.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melchal53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Melchal53,
thank you so much for your short but precise review, i will share it with all the staff. Further would like to thank you you for the reference to previous reviews "not objective".
We'll be looking forward to seeing again soon!
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,255
    408
    65
    17
    10
See reviews for
428
907
60
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Hotel Il Nido is an excellent value. Highly recommended.
This is a small hotel, but the rooms are sufficiently large. We did not feel crowded. The breakfast was outstanding (fresh squeezed orange juice!). Be sure to eat on the deck. The views are wonderful and ever-changing. The staff is friendly and attentive. Their communication (via email) prior to our stay was excellent.
Our first night we had dinner there, and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food. No need to seek out a fancy restaurant.
If you need to be in the heart of Sorrento, this hotel is not for you. It is on the mountain overlooking the coast. A free shuttle to downtown Sorrento runs every hour, making it easy to connect with tours or simply stroll.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear PSamp,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share you experience and for staying with us. We are sure that your review will be so helpfull for our future guests. We were pleased to read we have been able to exceed your expectations. We always do our best from the request of availability to the check out, and your review makes us so proud. As You say, the "short" distance from the center is the price to pay to enjoy our beautiful view on the bay.
Thank you again.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We arrived from the Amalfi Coast and the Sita Bus made a stop at the hotel which was very convenient. Il Nido is a family run hotel and the staff were very warm and welcoming, great customer service from Deano at the front desk. The views were beautiful and it was a relaxing stay. Our room was very spacious and the bathroom clean. Plenty of hot water. The only peeve was the A/C did not work. We liked that we had a balcony and we could enjoy the view while sipping on a glass of wine. The shuttle bus service was really handy to have also since they give u a drop to the train station if you have luggage, really appreciated that too when we were leaving. We decided to eat dinner at the restaurant and our meal was just fantastic and very reasonable with a great view, we were happy that we had this option if you did not feel like eating in town. Breakfast offerings were plenty and a good variety of fresh, hot and cold items. We were very satisfied and happy we stayed at this well priced hotel, we wish our stay in Sorrento was longer. We would not hesitate coming back and will highly recommend to our friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblingBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Anna2bell_71,
Thank you for selecting our hotel for your visit in Sorrento and for writing such a nice review. I was glad to read you enjoyed your stay, i was equally pleased that our staff made such a favorable impression. I will pass along your compliments to Dino. I'm sorry for the problem with the A/C, but we are here waiting you for your next stay in Sorrento.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2013

If you do not look too closely at the bathroom, it is okay. But it is not really really clean. The towels are sheets and we didn't have enough for 2 people every day. so we had to complain.
The view is great, but all the hotels offer this great view. therefore it is nothing special.
Breakfast was ok, but again, nothing special.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear KC C,
thank your for your review, i am really sorry reading it. Cleanliness is our first goal, and the hundreds of previous reviews can testify. would be more useful if you had specified the problem instead of writing general statements. Then about the "great view of all the hotels" can i ask you in which of them have you been?
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas TX
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel originally due to we could put 2 adults and 3 kids in one room. This is rare in Europe. The hotel is beautiful and the view is spectacular. They have a shuttle out front running constantly to town 5-7 minute ride. Don't let the shuttle scare you the view is so worth being at the top! The food is fantastic. Take a private boat tou to Capri while you are there it's worth it.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Meko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Meko,
Thank you for choosing Hotel Il NIdo for your recent stay in Sorrento. I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel, i'm sure that the view from the balcony will be in your heart. Once again, thank you very much for taking your time and we are looking forward to host your return in our property again soon.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This turned out to be everything I'd hoped it would be - a pleasant and convenient base from which to explore the Amalfii Coast, Capri, and Pompeii. Note - it's not a 5-star hotel - but it is excellent at being what it is - a clean, safe, pleasant, yummy, helpful, friendly place to stay.

The hotel is situated high above Sorrento, with a truly incredible view of Sorrento, Mt. Vesuvius, and Naples. The room was very clean, having its own great view, an overhead spa-like shower head (which I love!), and a nice TV. Free wifi. European-style skinny towels, but really huge ones.

Breakfast (included!) was the best I had in Italy. Scrambled eggs, really good and fresh pastries, some meat and cheeses, and this magical orange juice machine where you put in your own oranges and it squeezed them right into your glass. I loved that thing. I heard several guests say the restaurant was good for dinner as well (I never ended up being there for dinner).

The staff were extremely nice - every one of them. They were very helpful in identifying tours to take, or ways to get around Amalfi. In fact, when you check in, they provide a sheet of paper with a map of Sorrento, all the ferry schedules, bus schedules, train schedules, tours with pick-ups at the hotel, and the shuttle schedule to the center of town. I referred to it every day.

Note on getting into town: You wouldn't walk from this hotel to the town center. It's far, and there aren't any sidewalks - on a fairly dangerous twisty road (welcome to the Amalfi Coast!) There is a free hourly shuttle in the mornings and afternoon/evenings to the center of town. It takes about 15-20 mins. I had wondered if this would be an inconvenient constraint on visiting the city, but it turned out to be perfectly frequent enough. The shuttle was always prompt, nice and clean, and the driver was incredibly nice. He would point out various sites during the drive.

Note on tours picking up from the hotel: Getting to Capri is about 18e each way on a ferry. There's a tour that leaves from the hotel that costs not much more, and the boat is a lot more fun than the big ferries (though not for those with weak stomachs!) However, be aware that Il Nido is first on the list of hotel pick-ups, and you'll spend an hour picking up other guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiliBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear LiliBoston,
Thank you so much for selecting our hotel for your recent visit and for writing such a nice review. I was happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and the surrounding area. I'm sure that your review will be so useful for our future guests. Further i really hope to see you again here at Hotel Il Nido.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
482 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I booked two nights here after reading the glowing reviews on trip advisor, I was pretty disappointed and I'm not urge what all the hype is about!
The good:
Free shuttle down town,
Lovely view,
Staff were friendly,

The bad:
Extremely out dated rooms
Uncomfortable beds
Poor food in the restaurant
Whole hotel is in need of a make over

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beas006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Kidhead,
Thank you for your feedback. We take all guest comments very seriously and investigate any concerns immediately. We are sorry that you found the bed uncomfortable, but we we did receive any complaints from you during your stay. About the hundreds of previous positive reviews, well it's just a matter of taste...i suppose.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
470 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
1,350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
486 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
753 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Nido Hotel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Nido Hotel Sorrento

Property: Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Address: Via Nastro Verde 62, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Nido Hotel Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Il Nido Hotel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Sorrento
Sorrento Il Nido Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing