We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely family run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Ranked #23 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
MANCHESTER ENGLAND
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely family run hotel”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Two adults and two teenagers had a really memorable couple of days in this enchanting small hotel with a view of the bay of Naples which made the breakfasts and dinner seem like you were on some kind of 5* holiday.
Although its out of Sorrento and certainly too far to walk the hotel's minibus does a wonderful job and for me the highlight was the fresh orange juice machine at breakfast where you simply put in the fresh oranges at one end and out comes perfectly squeezed juice at the other! It was the perfect touch to finish off a really good breakfast.
Car parking was fine, wi-fi was fine - in fact it was all effortlessly wonderful!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCREGSKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear MCREGSKI,
Thank you for choosing HOTEL Il NIdo for your recent stay in Sorrento. I was delighted to hear you have had an enjoyable time at our hotel. Like so many guests, you appreciated our orange juice machine...it's one of our strenghts.
Once again, thank you very much for taking your time and we are looking forward to host your return in our property again soon.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,205
    392
    61
    17
    10
See reviews for
413
861
59
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We visited this little oasis some time ago and I have been meaning (like others) to share our experience albeit belatedly. This was my second trip to Sorrento and my aim this time was to have a place for relaxation and good food after our crazy sightseeing was accomplished each day. It was like staying with family, as the staff were more than helpful, and made sure that every little detail or request was catered for, they greeted us as if we were old friends - superb hospitality! We travelled from the airport by local bus to the centre of Sorrento and then we were met by the hotel bus driver at the bus station who drove us to our destination. On route we were given a guided tour and information about the local area, it was such a delightful start to our holiday, and we just knew that we had chosen the right hotel from that moment. The excellence of the food has been well reviewed by others but can I just add that it is the best home made food I have ever tasted, and they deserve a quality star just for that. Thank you Dino and family so much for a wonderful stay - we loved it!

Room Tip: Sea views are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Islandlovers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Islandlovers2013,
it is never too late to share your experience on TripAdvisor, that's why we say Thank You! I will pass along your compliments to Dino and the rest of the staff. We certainly hope to be able to host you again on your next trip to Sorrento.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Hotel located on top of hill but shuttles are provided. The view, the breakfast and the service were great. However, our bathroom smelled like sewers! It was so hard to brush teeth and our shower was tiny, smaller than a cruise room bathroom. Our kids had a different room with big bathroom smelling fine. Plus, I would take my own shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soap and Kleenex. Also, hotel does not provide regular towels just thin italian like big and small "rags" . However, loved everything else about Sorrento !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MimoM90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear MimoM90,
instead of reply to your review, there's not so much to thank about, we consider more useful to talk to TripAdvisor's users. Do not you find a bit strange that a guest who suggests to check the room first, stays in his room for five days, and explains his problem only once he returned home? Whereas, as attested by many other reviews, our staff is always ready to solve any problem, I'm sure that any reader will realize there is something "stinks" in this review.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Please let me preface this review by stating that we are not gushy people. We do not say everything is wonderful by default, but this hotel really is! From the moment we arrived, to the moment we left everything was excellent. The view is superb, nobody can dispute that and the food is equally excellent. However the best aspect of this hotel is the staff and the service. Dino is an absolute gentleman, as is Nello the shuttle bus driver. Gianni and his mother are both excellent cooks and Jaqueline on reception is fantastic and one of the nicest and friendliest people we have ever met. We were hugged goodbye like old friends, I can't say I have ever experienced this in another hotel! An absolute pleasure and we will return next year. We have never returned to the same hotel two years running before, that is how good this place is!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RavenFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear RavenFamily,
Thank you so much for your 5-stars review! We are so delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay in our property and there is nothing makes us happier than your confirmation of satisfaction as this is our ambition. I am particularly happy to read the compliments about our staffs and I will be happy to share it with all my team. We really look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Il Nido is a family run hotel in Sorrento. It is a short distance by car or bus from the train station. My daughter and I had the pleasure of completing an excursion to the Amalfi Coast. What a beautifully scenic area! The hotel was amazing. Dinner was extraordinary and the owners went above and beyond in accommodating our every need. An example of this was the departure from their lovely hotel. We had flights scheduled for 1pm in Rome. In order to arrive on time, we had to catch the 6am train in Sorrento. Dino was more then kind. He personally took us to the train station to begin our return trip to Canada. He would not accept any renumeration for his generosity.

Thank you DINO! It has taken 3 years for me to complete this write up. My apologies!

To the travellers of the Amalfi Coast I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zx1ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Zx1ontario,
What a detailed review! Thank you so much for writing such a detailed review and I was happy to read you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding areas. We always try to do our best for our guests and you can be sure that I will pass along your compliments to Dino.
Please come back and see us again soon!
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This was our first time using this hotel. It is located in the hills above Sorrento, looking over the city. The hotel has a free shuttle service every hour bringing you into and out of the city centre. WE found this to be a very easy and convenient way to get back and forth without worrying about parking (there is free parking at the hotel)

The rooms were simple but spacious and neat and clean. The views were spectacular and we truly enjoyed sitting on our balcony and looking over the Bay of Naples.

The hotel staff was very courteous and accommodating, giving us good tips on how to best visit the Amalfi Coast, Positano and Amalfi. An extensive breakfast was included and we ate all our breakfasts on the restaurant balcony, enjoying the views.

We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Pay the extra few Euros for a room with a view. You won't regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italiantourist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Italiantourist1,
Thank you for choosing HOTEL Il NIdo for your recent stay in Sorrento. I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel. I was equally pleased that our staff made such a favorable impression.
We are looking forward to host your return in our property again soon.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed at Il Nido five years ago over Easter and fell in love with it. This year we came back in late June/early July and brought my parents from the US. It was their first trip overseas. Il Nido was as we remembered and we were sooo happy we came back.This is not a fancy posh place, but it is real: family-run, cozy, clean, comfortable, and everything runs smoothly and in ship-shape style. You are unlikely to write home about the rooms, they are just fine but not super special. The view, on the other hand, is utterly awesome. Get a sea view room. Really. Everyone talks about Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples in the reviews. They should. Glorious. The views of Sorrento below you, especially in the early morning and evening are awesome as well. And, hey, you are surrounded by olive and lemon orchards. The sounds in the morning might include the quiet sounds of countryside waking up. Maybe a rooster in the distance. Maybe a dog barking. A little traffic on the road. Children laughing down below. Quiet. Breakfast is lovely, as everyone says it is. It was the same 5 years ago, so this is not a new thing. Fresh pastries, breads, fruits, meats, cheeses, yogurts, coffee, espresso, and orange juice. We loved the orange juice machine...you drop in 3 oranges and it slices them and squeezes them into your cup. I'm glad it was still there and going strong! Dinner in the evening at the restaurant is wonderful as well. We ate all over Sorrento last time we were here and ate the last couple of nights at the hotel. We didn't make the same mistake this time...instead we ate most all our evening meals at the hotel! I was on a veal kick this time around, but everyone else loved what they had, too. The food is well-prepared and delectable, the price is right, the service is awesome, the atmosphere beyond pleasant, and the view unbeatable. In terms of practicalities...we came in on the train from Rome, so we had no car and relied on the shuttle to get back and forth. The shuttle is no meager van. It is large and roomy and comfortable. In addition, I get car sick easily. Crazy easily. And the road up to Il Nido from Sorrento is twisty curvy. Scary for someone like me...because 10 minutes with a bad driver could ruin my day. So...the experience? The van is clean and open and cool (great AC). The seats are roomy (no hot crush). The drivers? They could put a full glass of water on the dash and never spill it as they glide smoothly around each corner. Smooth is the word. I never imagined getting car sick and was easily able to look about and enjoy the view. The 10 minute drive to and from town...easy, scenic and enjoyable (and free!). The pickup spot in town is convenient and has plenty of shade and benches if you arrive early. Timing of the shuttles was easily sufficient for plenty of day trips, if you wanted to go back and forth. The shuttles were on time, no problem. Last day drop off could be at the train station if you wanted, rather than the normal drop. Just have your luggage with you. Done. Easy. I could not imagine staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Biblia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Biblia,
it was a pleasure to see you back here after 5 years, this is a confirmation for our work. About your comments i really don't know where to start. You have been so comprehensive and precise in your comments that tripadvisor users will surely benefit from them.
I just add that...all good things come in threes!
Waiting to see you again.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,841 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
438 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
711 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
1,310 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Oriana Relais
Villa Oriana Relais
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Nido Hotel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Nido Hotel Sorrento

Property: Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Address: Via Nastro Verde 62, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Nido Hotel Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Nido Hotel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Sorrento
Sorrento Il Nido Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing