We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice for a home base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We used Sorrento and the Il Nido hotel as our home base when traveling to the Amalfi Coast. The hotel/restaurant is family owned and Dino and his brother, Johnny, were the perfect hosts. A shuttle is available to take you into Sorrento throughout the day and evening. The view from our balcony of Mt. Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples was breathtaking. A full breakfast is available every morning and the dining room has the same view as from our balcony. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. The bus stop is just a few feet from the hotel entrance and we were able to get to each town in an easy and timely manner. Johnny's bolognese was one of the best I had in Italy. The room was spacious and shiny clean. I hope to return to the Amalfi Coast and I wouldn't consider staying anywhere other than Il Nido.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Diana,
Thank you for making our hotel your home away from home in Sorrento. Every guest's reviews help us in our efforts to always provide total guest satisfaction. I was glad to read you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you many times again in the future.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,770)
There are newer reviews for Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 372 of 1,770 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

What can I say,having not been to Italy I was hoping that we would find great places to stay without any experience. I read reviews of this hotel and decided to book based on others experiences,let me tell you,it did NOT disappoint!! From the AMAZING views of Mt Vesuvius,to the WONDERFUL caring,helpful owners paying special attention to all your needs,to the FABULOUS food in the hotel restaurant it was 5 stars all the way.I feel like we not only have gained a wonderful friend in the owners,but they make you feel like family. When in Sorrento,BOOK THIS HOTEL! You will be wonderfully amazed!!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a terrace so that you can experience the beauty of Mt Vesuvius at 2 am...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your 5/5 rating regarding your recent stay here at Hotel Il Nido. I appreciate your comments about our excellent view on the bay and our staff. We always try to provide total guest satisfaction and your review sounds like a prize.
We certainly hope to be able to host you again on your next trip to Sorrento.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

As a family of three, with a 10 year old girl, we stayed four nights at this hotel while visiting Sorrento and the Almafi Coast. First day arrival was problematic, as the map explaining the hotel meeting point in Sorrento for transportation was not clear to someone unfamiliar with the area. We watched as the hotel van passed us by, and had to take a taxi. The hotel was significantly further up a winding hill road than we expected, but the view of the bay of Naples and Mt Vesuvious was worth it The hotel-provided transportation to Sorrento was needed. Sorrento had easy access by ferry to Capri and train to Naples, Herculinium, Pompeii and Vesuvious. A SETA bus stop is across the street from the hotel entrance, and provided access to Positano and the Almafi coast. The hotel room was comfortable for three, though the bathtub was quite narrow. The owner and staff were friendly and responsive. The common area clothes washer door was broken but functional. Breakfast was good, and we liked the orange juice maker (drop in 4 or 5 whole oranges and push a button,, and out comes fresh OJ.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stan0832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing us with your favorable feedback on Trip Advisor. Your fine feedbacks are highly appreciated and we will share your comment with our team. The Management and staff at Il NIdo Hotel are so delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay in our property. We also thank you for posting your pictures!
We are looking forward to host your return in our property again soon.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Once we found the Il Nido with our car in the dark our troubles were over. What a special place! Best views, free parking, delicious meals and a great value were just part of our stay. Dino was a big help with the local information and our dinner waitress was the best. Wish we could have stayed longer as this was the greatest lodging we had on our trip to Italy.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FloridaFolks55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your review. You write "the greatest lodging we had on our trip to Italy. " and it sounds like music for us!
I will forward your compliments to Dino, and we all wait for your next trip in Sorrento.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed here last year and had no hesitation when choosing where to stay this year. It is in a lovely location set up in the hills overlooking Sorrento. A real feel of Italy to here. So don't expect Hilton or others where you could be staying anywhere! The Restaurant serves the most wonderful food, so you can spend your evening at home! Yes others don't like the thin towels, but this is not an issue, it is easy to get used to them in the hot climate. Catch the SITA Bus to Amalfi along the coast and experience the journey firstly, then the little villages along the way. Don't drive yourself, use the bus - it's much safer. They run a shuttle bus every morning after breakfast into Sorrento and make a return pick up every hour after 3.30 pm - so you don't have to hire a car. This hotel is family run, welcoming, easy to live in and the staff are all really lovely and helpful. As good as last year? Well, I don't think it could get any better. Try the seafood salad, and mamas Lemoncello is better than anything you will get anywhere, and the house wine is the one to have. Finally, if you come from Naples, make sure you get the white Curreri Bus right outside the Arrivals. It takes you straight to Sorrento and you don't have the hassle of changing buses and trains in Naples!

Room Tip: Get the sea view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Len E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Len,
Thank you so much for selecting our hotel again! This prizes us. I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel this year too. I am equally pleased that our restaurant made such a favorable impression.
Once again, thank you very much for taking your time and we are looking forward to host your return in our property again soon.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This was the first time we stayed at this hotel. After talking with several guests we found out they come here regularly. And now we know why - Our room was more then adequate, clean and comfortable. But, the view from our balcony was the best.
This hotel is located about 15 minute drive up a steep hill overlooking Sorrento and the Mediterranean. The hotel provides free shuttle service into Sorrento and is very accommodating to pick you up, free of charge, from the bus or train station, as well. Owners of the hotel are very nice, hands-on and assure the best and most capable service.
Breakfast was very filling and complete with all the things anyone could want for breakfast including - home made pastries and cakes - yummy. Everything was fresh, even the orange was freshly squeezed - right in front of you.
Dinner was well worth enjoying at the hotel because it was professionally prepared, comfortable, with good service and represented a great value. We had 2 dinners at the hotel and tried one in town.
In my judgement this hotel represents a super deal for your money. I am confident you will feel the same way if you decide to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigsteven1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for sharing us with your favorable feedback on Trip Advisor. I was glad to read you enjoyed your stay, just like the view and the restaurant.
Please come back and see us again soon!
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here for a week, 23 to 31 March. Most travellers stay for a shorter length of time and use this lovely hotel as a base. Its run by a family who are very kind and helpful and can't do enough to make your stay enjoyable. The hotel is perfectly placed, not far outside of Sorrento, and with a really useful shuttle bus run by the hotel in the mornings, and from late afternoon. The local buses stop outside the hotel too. Its spotlessly clean, relaxed and has the most amazing views from the bedrooms and the dining room over the bay of Naples. Its small enough to be friendly but not too small. This is a lovely friendly, well placed, clean and comfortable hotel run by lovely people with a spectacular view and for a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples
Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank StanHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for selecting our hotel for your recent visit and for writing such a nice review. I was happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and the surrounding area.
We will look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
477 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,366 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
#80 of 100 in Sorrento
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
494 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
764 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Nido Hotel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Nido Hotel Sorrento

Address: Via Nastro Verde 62, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £68 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Nido Hotel Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Il Nido Hotel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Sorrento
Sorrento Il Nido Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing