We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2009

the hotel itself is about 10 minutes outside of Sorrento on the road heading toward the Amalfi Coast. If you're driving there via Sorrento, pay attention to the road signs since there are about 40 hotels listed on each one. Once you're on the correct road up the mountain, don't despair. You'll be convinced you have gone too far when suddenly the hotel appears on your left. This location offers true serenity if you're looking for a respite from the craziness of Sorrento, which is something of a tourist destination even when we were there (just after Christmas). Our quad room (1Q, 2T) was pretty large by Italian standards and had a private balcony with magnificent views of orange groves, the Bay of Naples, and Mt. Vesuvius. The bathroom was spacious and elegant by Italian standards with the best shower I've experience anywhere in the country. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant one night and were delighted with the quality of the food, the friendliness of the staff, and the overall value. Plus, there was the same view mentioned above. Breakfast each morning was, again by Italian standards, absolutely sumptuous: decent scrambled eggs, plenty of toast, ridiculously good pastries, fresh squeezed OJ (with a cool machine that entertained the kids), and a pretty decent attempt at American bacon. Plus there's that view again! The free shuttle whisked us to the station one morning where we caught various trains (very inexpensive) to visit Pompei (excellent) and Ercolano (don't miss it!). After returning to Sorrento and catching an early dinner, the shuttle was right on time (at a designated pick-up spot) to whisk us back up the mountain. Two computers are available in the lobby if needed. There is a special wi-fi room on the bottom floor but we did not use it. A few minor issues: since most European hotels do not have carpeting (like US hotels), the footsteps from above are very noticeable. The HVAC system is also rather frisky. We couldn't get it to work unless it was set on 28 degrees (hot!) but the system shuts off if you try to open a window to balance the heat. Ecologically sound but still irritating. There's a psychotic rooster nearby who crows sporadically during the night but not when the sun comes up. Some neighborhood dogs also proved annoying. Speaking of dogs, there is a hilarious one on the premises. He/she follows you around everywhere but runs away when you hold out your hand. Everywhere you go, the dog will be there. he/she appeared in the parking lot when we were leaving, followed our car to the exit, then barked like mad when we pulled out onto the main road. First time it made a sound. Il Nido is a first rate hotel run by friendly and helpful people. Don't forget to enjoy the view.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank meatslinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,770)
There are newer reviews for Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,160 - 1,166 of 1,770 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2008

Tidy hotel with basic rooms that are a bit worn about the edges. Great value for the area with unbeatable views, excellent services (including convenient shuttle bus, free internet, laundry), fine restaurant, great breakfasts and really friendly staff. While it is not in the center of town, it is well connected.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ughboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2008

Who would have thought one could find a modestly priced family-run hotel near Sorrento that has rooms with fantastic views overlooking the Bay of Naples, free parking, free shittle bus to and from Sorrento, free WiFi connections, a self-serve laundry, and an excellent restaurant that serves tasty seafood at night and offers a good breakfast with fresh squeezed orange juice in the morning? We would not have believed it until, based on other Trip Advisor reviews, we booked ourselves in to Il Nido for two nights. After one night we decided to extend our stay for a further three nights to fully take advantage of Sorrento, the Amalfi Coast, Pompeii, Naples, etc. All this plus friendly, helpful owners made I Nido "the find" of our extended stay in Italy. Oh yes, and if you're hankering for a delicious pizza also at reasonable prices in an equally friendly family establishment, be sure to drop in to Lo Stuzzichino on the main street in St. Agata.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Globees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2008

LOVED IT! My bestfriend and I went on a girlfriend trip and stayed at the Il Nido. Dino bent over backwards to arrange for us to stay an extra night and was so accomodating to all our needs.

Grandma's homemade pastries were out of this world and a simple plate of spaghetti was unforgettably delicious. Could not find food in town that could compare to their delicous pasta and super mozzarella salad (I ordered it two days in a row!!).

The veiw was stunning with Mt. Vesuvius in the distance. Get up early in the morning, sit on your patio and watch the bay turn to pink and the sky fill with light. What a magnificent way to start the day!!!!!!

The rooms were large and clean and contained all the amenities required to make our stay an enjoyable one.

The shuttle service was very convenient and on schedule (maybe a few minutes early...) - but there is a stunning little bar in the park to quench your thirst down by the main shuttle stop into town.

Sorrento itself is such a gem of a little city. I liked it much better than Amalfi or Positano personally. Don't forget to visit the pretty church in the middle of downtown. There's a beautiful electric blue side-chapel like none I've ever seen.

MAGNIFICENT!!!!!!

-Jupiter, Florida, USA

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MrsJeffcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2008

Everything everyone else is writing is true. Ran away to Sorrento after 2 weeks in Rome and touring northern Italy. This family run hotel overflows with hospitality and we need to ensure as many people as possible stay there in this hard economic time. The rooms are spotless, the food amazing, (be sure and try the vegetable soup - incredible!) the courtesy next to none. Sitting out on the balcony - gazing over the Bay of Naples and listening to the birds is wonderful. Do yourselves a favour and enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank travelhappyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2008

We just returned from a wonderful vacation in Italy, including a three-night stay at Hotel Il Nido. What a fabulous experience! From the moment we arrived, everyone made us feel relaxed and very happy. Our room was lovely, with a fantastic view overlooking Sorrento.

Besides the very helpful staff, a highlight for us was the food! What a breakfast!! We got to squeeze our own fresh orange juice and make cappuccino, coffee, hot chocolate, or whatever, along with eggs, meat, cheese, and delicious, warm pastries. We had one evening meal at the hotel as well. My husband is still talking about the best filet steak he's ever eaten!

A free hotel shuttle bus (looks brand new inside!) travels back and forth to Sorrento very frequently (approx. 10 minute ride), which is very convenient. Another bonus: free internet!!

I hope we travel to Sorrento again and have the pleasure of revisiting Hotel Il Nido. Thanks, Dino!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 3barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2008

My husband and i came back from all over europe mid-september! We stayed at hotel il nido in sorrento, and it was the most magnificent hotel service we ever recieved!!! we never experienced such incredible service before! The hotel is family owned, and the hotel ower, he was just amazing!!!! he was so helpful in every way! the food was delicious! the views we beautful and the rooms were SO clean,spacious, ac, we had balcony view and it was AMAZING, such gorgeous views!!!!! Also, they have a curtesy shuttle to take you into town which is not even 5 minutes...its just down the hill....its was amazing!
The owner was SO wounderful----we had asked him to call us a taxi for the next morning at 5 am....he said he would and the next morning he let us out and told us the taxi should be coming...so we were waiting and five minutes later he came out dressed and laughingly said " our guests may come to hotel il nido in a taxi but we dont let them leave by taxi"....and he took us in the shuttle!...We were so shocked and just appreciated it SO MUCH!
he was so kind...when we reached the train station in appreciation we decided to give him 20 euros and he declined saying we should take the money and buy ourselves a coffee!...WOW....who really does that?....to this day i just cant belive the hospitality and care.....THANK YOU SO MUCH! :) and im sure if he reads this he knows who we are...there were 4 of us...from vancouver canada....THANKS AGAIN!....i would totally recommend this hotel!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 1306bride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
477 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,366 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
#80 of 100 in Sorrento
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
495 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
764 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Nido Hotel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Nido Hotel Sorrento

Address: Via Nastro Verde 62, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £68 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Nido Hotel Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Il Nido Hotel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Sorrento
Sorrento Il Nido Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing