We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
1 review
“What a place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2009

We stayed at Il Nido. I chose the hotel by reviews I had read on the net. It was amazing.
A great introduction to the Amalfi coast for myself and my partner. The rooms were large and clean and Oh what a view we had of the bay of naples and sorrento. The bus to positano ran right by the door.
It wasn't four star but the staff were friendly and very helpful. They had a free courtesy bus that ran to sorrento every hour so transport to and from the town was not a problem. The driver was quite a character. The restaurant was great. Sitting with wine in hand a lovely meal overlooking the twinkling lights of sorrento. Doesn't get much better than that.
The only thing I found unusual was linen towels. Not what we are used to but we survived.
I just loved Il Nido

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,206
    392
    62
    17
    10
See reviews for
415
861
59
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2009

A friend recommended this hotel to us - we are so glad we took his advice. The hotel is about two miles up the road from Sorrento, so we were a little apprehensive about the shuttle service. However, it really operated well. The rooms were clean and well apportioned, with flat screen TV's, telephones (we didn't use them...) and a roomy bathroom. Our rooms even had a small balcony which looked out to Mt. Vesuvius, with views to Sorrento below. Breakfast was included in our booking, and was quite nice, with a selection of pastries, yogurts, cooked eggs, sliced cheese and meats, cereal, bread, coffee or tea, and as a special delight, fresh squeezed orange juice where you put the oranges into this machine which cuts them in half and squeezes them for you and the juice is dispensed into a glass. (Big hit with the kids...)

We chose to dine at the hotel, which had a somewhat limited winter menu, however I was able to find something enjoyable and different for each of our four dinners.

A real plus was the hotel's service. The manager was able to recommend our trips to Pompeii, and as an extra bonus, our tour of the Amalfi coast. The regional bus company stops directly outside the hotel, so we were able to take a beautiful bus tour to Positano and back for 5 Euro each! (Our children really enjoyed the beach at Positano.)

Mapquest makes it look like the hotel is pretty close to Sorrento, but it's not. I suppose it would be possible to walk it, but it's a very curvy road, and I would be nervous doing it alone, let alone with kids. But the point is that this doesn't matter - the hotel has a very accessible shuttle service that will pick you up and drop you off at the Sorrento train station, as well as let you off at the town square for shopping or dining with an easily accessible pick-up point as well.

All in all, I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesBrickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2009

An absolutely stunning hotel atop the hills overlooking Sorrento. Shuttle bus runs every hour to and from the town. Hotel was quiet and clean and run by a small family. Amazing food, hospitality and views. No complaints what so ever. Will return soon

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JWCoffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
352 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2009

Thanks to other great Trip Advisor comments we booked Il Nido for our second anniversary and loved it like others did. Why: Location and view of Bay of Naples, owner Dino and staff always so helpful, clean room, good breakfast included and option for good dining. Located way up, so wonderful to have the free shuttle bus to and from downtown Sorrento. No need for a rental car with a SITA bus stop here to go to Positano and Amalfi. We stayed at Il Nido 6 nights. We were in Sorrento for our honeymoon for only 2 nights, loved it and came back and stayed longer this time.Great Pizza (wood oven) and other items just down from Il Nido at Il Borgo with place to sit and enjoy the view. Look forward to our return to Italia and especially Sorrento/Il Nido.

  • Liked — Balcony and view of the Bay
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RichDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2009

How terrible that I have only just now found the time to write a review for this wonderful place!

I found Il Nido after hours spent searching blogs and travel websites, and luckily enough found several glowing reviews about this particular hotel on Lonelyplanet.com - its not hard to see why.

Although the hotel is set quite far back from Sorrento (set into one of the mountains that overlooks the ocasta town) it offers a free shuttle service daily that will take you down to Sorrento and drop you off by the train station (perfect if you want to hope on the train and head into Naples and see Herculaneum). The shuttle also operates at night with several pick up times, allowing you to spend as much time in town as you like.

I booked directly with the hotel through their website and they were quick to respond to my request. The rooms are large and clean with lovely bathrooms, and it is worth the small extra cost if you can afford it to get a room with a balcony, as the views are lovely over the Bay of Naples.

The management were friendly, and are obivously a family as the hotel staff all seemed very jovial and willing to assist in even the smallest matter (I lost an earring in the carpark and the manager went back outside in the dark and scrabbled around to try and locate it!).

Overall, a lovely place to stay and we would definately visit Il Nido again.

  • Liked — The view from the balcony where breakfast was served
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sazmcphee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2009

I agree with all the positive reviews. We stayed 3 nights last July and toured the Amalfi coast and Sorrento. I would stay there again if I ever returned to the area.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gc07022014b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2009

There is not much I can add to all the positive reviews of this hotel, great hospitality, amazing views, excellent base for visting the area, especially if arriving by car, this place was truly a find.

For those using a GPS, on Garmin maps, the address of this hotel is slightly off. Here are the correct coordinates:
N40 37.065
E014 21.682

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Disliked — small shower
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank softail123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,846 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Oriana Relais
Villa Oriana Relais
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Nido Hotel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Nido Hotel Sorrento

Property: Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Address: Via Nastro Verde 62, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Nido Hotel Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Nido Hotel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Sorrento
Sorrento Il Nido Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing