We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Ranked #23 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
feeding Hills, massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed 17 November 2005

This is a hotel that every traveler to sorrento should consider. We were staying at another hotel in the area and went there to have dinner with some friends that were staying there.The atmosphere there was very warm and inviting. The food was superb and all home made. The prices were so very reasonable also.
The owner,Gianni, was so hospitable that we felt like family. We had missed the bus and he came to pick us up and he also took us home, where do you find that
at any other hotel? This man was totally amazing,unlike anyone I have ever met.It couldn't have been a better evening.
I hope to have the pleasure of staying there the next time I travel to Italy. Thank you Gianni
Sandy & Brenda along with our dining friends, Carol, Joan and Pricillia from the state of Massachusetts.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandi057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,235
    400
    63
    17
    10
See reviews for
424
888
60
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wilbraham ma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2005

I am always amazed to read one poor review of a hotel to the twenty rave reviews of the same hotel! What is quiet and perfect to many is occasionally inconvenient to another! A meal that is just ok to one will be a home made wonder to another!
Five of us just returned from Sorrento. Two chose to stay at an expensive hotel closer to town and three chose the reasonable and highly recommended Il Nido Hotel.
We would certainly be remiss in not posting our wonderful “find” in Sorrento. Il Nido offered a restaurant, rooms with balconies affording a breath taking view overlooking the bay and a shuttle bus which ran conveniently until nearly midnight. The hotel is directly on a bus run and 30 euros for a short taxi ride was an extreme over price for whom ever paid it!
Gianni, made our stay at his family owned and operated “Il Nido” the most wonderful of our entire trip! The restaurant featured dinners of delicious home made pasta among the many other choices. The service, quality and prices of the food made it our choice for dinner every night! Our friends who had chosen the more expensive hotel were so disappointed with the food, prices and the attitude at their hotel that they joined us for dinner each night and raved about the food. Gianni made it possible for them to join us by graciously insisting on going to pick them up in his own car and returning them to their hotel when they were unable to get a bus, or their hotel refused to help. Il Nido’s shuttle would stop at their hotel to pick them up and bring us to areas that their own shuttle refused to bring them to. The courtesies that I have mentioned above, do not begin to point out the extent to which Gianni and family went to make our stay so memorable.
The rooms and hotel are immaculately clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet included cereal, milk, juice, fruit, coffee, yogurt, pastries, breads, cookies, jams, meats, and cheeses etc.
Gianni felt like family to us by the time we departed for Rome. We have all agreed that we will return and stay at Il Nido, for they certainly have won our hearts!
Five votes for a 10 plus hotel!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank traveler292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gurgaon Haryana ,India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2005

Il nido was indeed a lovely hotel and we were very happy to have got there .The shuttle service was indeed a boon and the freindly attitude of every body from Dino to Gianni and their sister and even their mother whom we met and thanked for the delicious dinners we enjoyed during our three day stay.

A very comfortable and homely atmosphere and Most importantly VERY AFFORDABLE .

Would definitely return if back in Italy.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank DeepaNebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2005

Shhh, Don't tell everyone about this little gem, tucked away in the hills above Sorrento.Those who want instant action will be deterred by the few kilometers(uphill) away from the town and will overlook the minibus that they operate to connect with ferries to Capri or trains to Naples,Pompei,Herculaneum or the Amalfi Coast.Hire car is relatively inexpensive off season and the possibilities for exploration endless.I have managed to persuade my family for the last three years to return each February.We have mostly enjoyed spring sunshine but have gone to the top of Vesuvius in both sun and snow both equally enjoyable experiences and I'm 50 and not particularly fit. Pompei and Herculaneum are also much quieter at this time of year. Don't let me digress. The hotel is clean, comfortable and has ensuites, tv and phones.Guests are allowed to use the computer in the reception area for emails. However for me the thing that draws me back again and again is the family feel of the place.Gianni and his brother (name escapes me for the moment)are wonderful and mama's cooking is such a pleasure.Not high haute cuisine but good tasty homemade Italian food. This is served in a restaurant overlooking the stunning bay of Naples with Vesuvius in the background.It can't get much better.There isn't any nightlife at Il Nido, save the conversations that you might get into with other guests over a coffee or Limoncello in the bar, but please don't tell everyone as it's very special place.

Stayed February 2005
Helpful?
13 Thank md5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOUSTON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2005

We were at the Il Nido from Oct 8th -Oct 10th. It's a great family run place. 15-20min by the shuttle from Sorrento train station. The free pick up service from the station starts after 3pm. The shuttle also leaves every hour from the hotel to sorrento center (also takes 15min). The ocean view from the rooms is worthwhile. The rooms are adequate size, tv(with one english channel- cnn), minibar, safebox, closet, only one outlet for appliances in the entire room. Bathroom quite spacious, with blowdryer, really tiny shower, and standard italian dish cloth towels. The buffet breakfast was really nice with cereals, fresh fruits, juices, cheese, rolls, cold cuts, and big Croissants. The restaurant has decent food, and even at 11:30 at night we were able to get a cappucino from Dino at the front desk. Also there are two PCs in the main lounge for free internet access...(only trouble is getting on them because often patrons sit on corresponding with what seems like their long lost relatives). I loved this place, the only problem was the time spent in coming and going into town...takes a big chunk out of your day. So try and plan on taking one trip into town that way you can maximize your day. From Sorrento to Capri the hydrofoil is 20mins cost 23euros return trip. CAPRI is gorgeous and shouldn't be left off any tourist's left.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madamoiselle786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2005

You can't beat this hotel for the view or the price. Its a bit of a way from town - you can't walk it - but they have a free convenient shuttle to and from town that worked out just fine - and a bus stop in front of the hotel as well. The view is great. The rooms were very nice, very clean. The restaurant was very good. Free internet in the lobby. And the service was also very good. I would certainly return. The only negatives are: the towels are THIN like tea towels and the shower is very small (no bath in our room). A large sized American would never fit! Other than those two things Il Nido is great.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pelicanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2005

This was an excellent choice. Rooms are not luxurious, but are clean and spacious. Staff were very friendly and helpful. They rustled up a carafe of wine for us when we arrived on the first evening of our honeymoon - which we enjoyed on our balcony with great views of Sorrento. The location was a definite plus - it's away from the noise and bustle of Sorrento, and meals are taken on a terrace with even better views than from our balcony. We ate dinner there a couple of times and the food was good - if not the best we ate while we were in Italy. We found the bus very convenient for getting into Sorrento - though it may not suit everyone as it doesn't run all day. Overall definitely good value for money and highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TAUserLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
455 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
1,326 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
738 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Nido Hotel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Nido Hotel Sorrento

Property: Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Address: Via Nastro Verde 62, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Nido Hotel Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Il Nido Hotel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Sorrento
Sorrento Il Nido Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing