We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic,Tranquility, Great Food and Exceptional Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2010

After a very hectic three weeks of travelling through Italy with boys aged 14 and 12 I chose this hotel for some much needed R&R IN Sorrento. Our stay was for 7 nights as we wanted to see the Amalfi, Positano, Capri ,Pompeii, Naples and Ischia. The service at this hotel is exceptional. Even though the hotel is a distance from the main square Piazza Tasso the shuttle bus runs like clock work and accomodates guests to stay in Sorrento until late 11pm if they desire .However with the fabulous authentic cuisine offered in IL Nido's restaraunt at a very reasonable price ( free glass of Prosecco and glass of OJ for kids plus Bruscetta every night) and the Romantic view of the Gulf of Naples from the balcony whilst eating certainly beats the hassle of selecting a place to dine especially after a busy day of sight seeing .Breakfast also was exceptional with freshly squeezed OJ and a variety of pastries , cereals, cold meats etc and could be eaten again on the balcony.
What also makes this hotel exceptional is the service offered by Dino and his family this was evident when one of my boys asked for a cannoli for desert and it was unavailable due to non deliveries he went out of his way the next day and bought some and gave them to him at that nights dinner. It was also shown when there was a local train strike and we had to get to Naples Station to make a connecting train to Rome he personally offered to take us to the train station at a very early time before their shuttle bus was operating and also offered us breakfast before they were ready to open. To Dino and staff thank you for making our stay memorable and enjoyable and we look forward to staying with you again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELVANN23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,770)
There are newer reviews for Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

933 - 939 of 1,770 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2010

This hotel was my favorite for a number of reasons. First of all, it provides a very good shuttle service. When you get off the train with all your suitcases, the bus comes to pick you up. When you want to go into the city, the bus takes you there (on the hour) and when you want to get back to the hotel from the city, the bus takes you back (every hour or so). And this shuttle bus is free. You never pay a fee for it. Buses that go to Amalfi Coast from Sorrento stop right near the hotel - 50 yards.

Besides that, the hotel comes with a very good restaurant. We ate there almost every night. It’s very reasonably priced and there are a lot of good options. The breakfast there was the best I had out of all the hotels that we stayed at in Italy and France. There was a lot of variety in food and in drink. They can brag that their orange juice is freshly made, because in order to get orange juice, you put a few oranges in a machine and it comes out for you. They also had a coffee/espresso/tea/hot chocolate machine.

The rooms were also very nice and not quite as small as some of the European rooms you usually see.

But the best part of the hotel was the service. The hotel is family owned and its owner Dino who is there every moment was happy to help us in any way that we asked. On my last day there, I was going to take a bus to Rome which left at 7AM. That meant that we had to get on a city bus with all my suitcases, because the shuttle usually doesn’t run that early. What happened was that Dino got up at 6AM and drove us down there himself, without any questions asked. He refused to even take a tip.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rex45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

One of the best hotels that I stayed in during my six week stay in Europe! Amazingly clean rooms and amazingly nice hotel staff!! The breakfast was the best that we had of any of the hotels!! The bus stop to get to the Amalfi Coast, Positano and Capri is across the street and leave every hour or so. They have a personal shuttle service that goes to the Sorrento Center so you never have to drive through the winding roads!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lianatrapani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We've just returned from an absolutely fantastic 8 night stay at Il Nido. As the website says, the hotel is located up on the hill above Sorrento and I was initially a bit nervous about booking as I usually choose somewhere right in the centre of town. However, I was pleasantly surprised at how easy and convenient the hotel's shuttle bus was. The bus is very nice (and, most importantly, air conditioned!) and runs to and from town once an hour. The meeting point is easy to find and we never felt nervous waiting, even late at night, as a lot of hotels use the same location for pick ups and it's right in front of the entrance to a restaurant. The views on the way to/from the hotel were so impressive that the journeys always seemed to fly by!

As other people have said, the views from the hotel are absolutely stunning. I couldn't stop looking out of the window from the moment we got there! I'd definitely say it's worth the small extra cost of booking a room with a balcony and view. On one night of our stay we picked up some food down in town and spent the entire evening sat out on the balcony chilling out and taking it all in - perfect! The views are incredible after dark too, with the lights of the bay under the silhouette of Vesuvius. The room was basic but had everything we needed. Most importantly, both the room and bathroom were very clean and the air conditioning was great!

The hotel staff were very friendly and really helpful. We had to leave the hotel at 6.00 a.m. to get our flight on our last day and they offered to run us to the station free of charge even though the shuttle bus doesn't start until 8. The restaurant (where breakfast is also served) has the same gorgeous views as the rooms. It was a real treat eating dinner whilst watching the sun set next to Capri on the horizon. We ate in the restaurant on two evenings during our trip which is something I never normally do as I like to get out and see the town. The food was some of the best we had during our stay and the prices for both food and wine were very reasonable when compared to the rest of Sorrento - on both occasions the bill came to less than 50 euros which included three courses and a bottle of wine.

Sorrento itself is a lovely place and the surrounding area has so much to offer (we can't recommend trips to Pompeii, Vesuvius and Capri enough!). The hotel recommended an excellent boat trip around Capri. I'm usually dubious about booking hotel-recommended trips for fear of being ripped off but they seemed very honest about it and pointed out the benefits of going independently instead. We went for it and it was fantastic - we spent 3 hours in Capri and then spent the afternoon sailing round the island (including swims into the grottos) which was pretty unforgettable.

All in all, a fantastic stay and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend Il Nido to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PTobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

This was one of our highlight stays. The room we had was excellent. Warm - it was winter, clean and well serviced. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. The food was excellent - especially the freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast. This is going to be one hotel we return to!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwisNZ2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

My daughter and I stayed at this beautiful little hotel from June 22nd to the 25th. Although the weather was not fabulous, this is a wonderful little hotel. Just outside of Sorrento (away from all of the craziness) on a hill with killer views overlooking the Bay of Naples. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and the hotel is well maintained. The restaurant is fabulous and we ate there two nights. The breakfast is great with a full buffet including eggs, bacon, pastries and fresh orange juice. The shuttle service into town and to the Circumvesuviana is very convenient and a thoughtful addition to the services offered. I initially did not want to share this lovely little hotel, for fear that it would be over run, but I just can't keep it to myself.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19Irish53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

We were blown away by this place. After travelling through much of Europe, we took a time out here, and were not disappointed. By far the best place we stayed at. A special touch to our honeymoon travels.Amazing value for money. Although it is not located in the township, the regular shuttle service was perfect and meant we could come and go into the town pretty much whenever we wanted.
The staff were friendly and helpful, and that was despite the Italians doing so poorly in the World Cup at the time!
Our room had a fantastic view of the bay and of Sorrento and most of the time we were there,we had beautiful balcony views of the bay across to Naples and beyond!
The hotel restaurant was wonderful too. We stayed for 5 nights and ate there for 3 of those nights. Well priced and delicious. Cheap mini bar too, which was something different from all the other places we stayed at.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coreynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
476 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,366 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
#80 of 100 in Sorrento
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
494 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
764 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Nido Hotel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Nido Hotel Sorrento

Address: Via Nastro Verde 62, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £68 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Nido Hotel Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Il Nido Hotel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Sorrento
Sorrento Il Nido Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing