We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor cleanliness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Ranked #23 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Good points:
1) Excellent views of the Bay and Mount Vesuvius from room balcony and restaurant.
2) Room and bathroom were spacious.
3) Nice buffet breakfast with eggs and bacon. Usually you don’t get eggs and bacon in a continental breakfast.
4) Provision of regular shuttle buses to and fro hotel and town center.
5) The male staff manning the counter was pleasant. And some compliments for the shuttle bus driver who was very nice. Even though he can’t quite communicate in English, he still try his best to point out things to us along the ride.
6) Computers and internet access provided in the lobby.

Bad points:
1) Cleanliness was an issue. Though we didn’t make any complains with the management, we were certainly not pleased with the many stray hairs here and there (bathroom, behind the door, etc). We didn’t dare to go bare-footed and have our slippers on every time we are in the room. The cleanliness is a huge minus point for us.
2) Cupboard was old with a musty smell, so we didn’t dare to hang our clothes in there.
3) The rest of the furniture looks rather old too.
4) The room that we had, there is something wrong with either the lock or the door frame. We have to use some force to open/close the door every time.
5) As hotel is located on the highest point of the hill, you would be quite stranded without their shuttle buses. It is a long way up/down the hill.
6) The shuttle buses doesn’t go to the train station in the morning/early afternoon.

Overall, we were quite put off by the room cleanliness and old/poor state of furniture despite the good views and pleasant staff. If the hotel can up its cleanliness level and always maintain it, I would recommend staying with them.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank satinchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

853 - 859 of 1,786 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2011

Our sweet honeymoon to Europe was finished in Il Nido Hotel Sorrento. I chose this hotel through my friends and I think this was the best hotels in my tours. We stayed in a nice and comfortable room with a view straight to the Mediterranean sea and the magnificent coastline. During 3 days here, we always started a day with a wonderful breakfast and cups of coffee, not too much but enough for a traveling-day. Transportation was good, the bus stop was in front of the hotel so we could go everywhere easily. Besides, the hotel's staff, services,etc were good too. This was a romantic place and very suitable for a honeymoon so I and my wife loved it very much.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rchristopher735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

This family-run hotel is everything that we wished for. Very spacious room and bathroom - very clean - all is a plus considering how friendly and welcoming they are. From the courteous shuttle driver who picked us up from the train station to the easy check in/check out. The view from the restaurant during breakfast and/or dinner is breath taking. It's right for the price and the service. We used the shuttle bus several times. The SITA bus that we took on our way back from Amalfi Coast even stopped right in front of Il Nido hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simplyducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We stayed at Il Nido October 2009. I was just going on line to reminisce about our wonderful stay at this comfortable and accomodating hotel and thought it was about time I wrote a review...My husband and I selected Il Nido based on the reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. This family-run hotel with the spectacular views of the Bay of Naples and Mt. Vesuvius was wonderful in every respect. Our room was comfortable - we got upgraded to one with a great view within a day or two of our arrivial - with a balcony overlooking the Bay and the haunting Vesuvius. The food was excellent - the breakfast pastries and the fresh squeezed orange juices were a wonderful way to start the day, and we enjoyed dinner so much that we ate in most evenings of our week's stay. The hotel shuttle made traveling back & forth to Sorrento easy and convenient, and because the hotel was staffed with family members, there was something so comforting and welcoming about the entire experience that my husband & I are hoping to return one of these days soon.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuconnect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

Hotel Il Nido is an ideal location for exploring the Amalfi coast
The bus is straight across the road.
The free shuttle to Sorrento makes everywhere accessible
The service and hospitality was unbeatable as was the food

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marywat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

The staff went out of there way to accommodate us. They were extremely friendly and professional. The balcony views from the room were breath taking. The bathtub was a little too small bit this is a very small complaint. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bufflord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Stayed at Hotel in September 2010 for a week. It was a most enjoyable stay in Sorrento.
The Hotel was excellent in every way. Room was very clean and comfortable, view from our room great looked on to Bay of Naples, the staff were very friendly. It was an ideal location to stay in Sorrento. The food was excellent, the breakfast was great offering a wide selection of food. We went half-board, the dinner was excellent with top quality restaurant standarsd food. The family who run the hotel were so helpful and friendly. There is a free shuttle bus to Sorrento centre which was great. Hope to revisit in the future. Margie & Pat Ireland

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patlimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
485 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,387 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
784 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,040 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
#82 of 100 in Sorrento
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Nido Hotel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Nido Hotel Sorrento

Address: Via Nastro Verde 62, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £73 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Nido Hotel Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Il Nido Hotel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Sorrento
Sorrento Il Nido Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing