We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I loved it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Scogliera dal 1893

La Scogliera dal 1893
Ranked #238 of 271 Restaurants in Sorrento
Price range: US$5 - US$217
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
“I loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Went here with family before getting the boat to Naples, what a great lunch ! we all had pasta with different fish sauces and it was really worth it, abundant portions but in this case quantity and quality have gone the same direction. The two Italian waiters were fun and friendly with my sons, who appreciated. And the sight ? Wonderful, I am sorry I do not think I will be able to get back there again, but I have to recommend this place !

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    46
    30
    20
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunchtime ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I'm glad that we tried it out here before I read the reviews! We actually had a nice lunch. We all had a tasty burger with all be it a small amount of chips. The staff were friendly considering the manager kept taking them aside to give them a rollicking!
Beautiful views.

Helpful?
Thank XxMeeMeexX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
513 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Pretty good pasta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We went here after a long day at Pompeii and it was a stopover for us to catch the ferry to get to Capri. The pasta was pretty good and I do recommend the place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jordansbulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Scam and disgusting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We paid over 100 in 2 for the worst disgusting food I have ever had in my entire life. I'm Italian and from Naples so I know exactly what Italian fresh food should taste like. We were even charged for bread and 9,00 EUR for a "out of the bag" salad. This is not a restaurant but a scam. Mr. Leonelli should be ashamed. I would have not minded the bill if we would have served decent food. Stay away from this awful place.

Helpful?
7 Thank Giuseppe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granluc, Direttore generale at La Scogliera dal 1893, responded to this review, 24 October 2016
Questa azienda si dissocia dalla politica condotta da TripAdvisor e non autorizza la pubblicazione di recenzioni positive o negative. Grazie

This restaurant is against the policy of TripAdvisor, we don't authorize to publish positive or negative reviews on us. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The worse restaurant in Sorrento....avoid at all cost”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were thinking that we were going to have a nice experience and nice food. But it was a big mistake. The food was terrible and when the bill came it was 100e!!! They charge us for a bowl of mix salad ...it was 9 euros. Also charged for the bread ....it was 4,50 euros and that is nothing in compared to the mix fish fried that was frozend tasteless and really bad . Completely spoiled our nigth ...really bad

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Adriano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granluc, Direttore at La Scogliera dal 1893, responded to this review, 24 October 2016
Questa azienda si dissocia dalla politica condotta da TripAdvisor e non autorizza la pubblicazione di recenzioni positive o negative. Grazie

This restaurant is against the policy of TripAdvisor, we don't authorize to publish positive or negative reviews on us. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Scogliera dal 1893 also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to La Scogliera dal 1893? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing