We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant if a little overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We chose this hotel for its style and its position and were not disappointed. From the hotel it is just a 5-10 minute walk - both to the station where we took trains to Herculaneum, Pompeii and the (hair-raising) bus to Amalfi, and down to the quay for Capril via the lift. Service in the hotel is good, particularly attentive in the restaurant, where we enjoyed delicious breakfasts with fantastic choice and ate half board - fantastic quality food, but half board menu does not quite offer enough choice for 5 nights. Dress code for the restaurant described by Concierge as casual but it was a little smarter than that so we dressed for dinner each evening. We liked our beautifully painted room and particularly the sea view. Everything worked in the bathroom, but shower screen leaked a little as is inevitable in older style hotels. Plenty of toiletries on offer. Shame about fixed hairdrier. Also, is a drinks tray too much to ask? I prefer an early cup of tea in my room without the hassle of room service and then to enjoy a relaxed coffee at breakfast. All in all, a great spring break, but expensive.

Room Tip: Local train/bus easy to use and great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ReadingSwallows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido2011, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2011

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your recent experience at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria with Tripadvisor.

We thank you four your valuable feedback which enables us to monitor and improve the services.
We are honored by your kind and positive feedback regarding the quality of our food and the service in our restaurants.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
My warmest regards
Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

906 - 912 of 1,385 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2011

My Wife and I stayed at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria in Sorrento from 12th March for a week to celebrate her 60th birthday.
The hotel with it's fantastic views overlooks the Bay of Naples and the small Marina with Mount Vesuvius in the background. The hotel and it's staff could not have been more friendly and helpful during our stay and made our trip very special. The hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento but is down a long drive and away from the hustle of the town and is situated in a unique location. I would recommend this hotel to anybody thinking about making a trip to Sorrento.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLBaker26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido2011, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2011

Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you for your feedback and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you to the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria soon.


Grazie
Guido Fiorentino
Presidente & Ceo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

This hotel has a great location, right in the centre of the main square of sorrento, down a long driveway towards the bay of naples. Hotel has fabulous orange and lemon gardens, great spa. The resturants food quality is the best! sit in the resturant and overlook the sea. There is a lift/elevator which takes you down to the harbour where you can catch the hydrofoil to naples or capri. The staff at this hotel give excellent service, and nothing is too much for them, very professional. When I was there they were doing work in the Caruso suite so there was noise. The decor in the room was great we had a suite with a sea view, paintings on the wall and ceiling overlooking the bay of Naples, lovely terrace area to the room, two doors leading out there. Also they gave complimentary internet wireless in room.

Room Tip: deal with the hotel direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido2011, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2011

Dear Sir/Madam,

Further to your recent stay I am writing to thank you for taking the time to complete the above review.
It is with great pride that we read your feedback about the hotel and the entire team.
We believe in our product and our location and most of all we believe in the strength of our team. Your comments have clearly given us the certainty of the success we can achieve.

Once again I would like to thank you for sharing your comments with us. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria in the not too distant future. If in the mean time we can be of any assistance, please feel free to contact our Guest Relations team.

Yours sincerely,




Grazie

Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

The Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria is an amazing victorian-era treasure that has had royalty and dignitaries stay there. The hotel, rooms and views are absolutely stunning and the staff is friendly and helpful.

The room was bright, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The garden of oranges and lemons was beautiful and the views across the bay stunning. This hotel is an amazing, beautiful gem of victorian elegance.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bodhi_sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

If you've never been to sorrento, you should try to!

This hotel is all about quality. It's one of the most expensive hotels but you do get what you pay for!

Sorrento is an expensive part of Italy and Italy is an expensive part of Europe but it's absolutely lovely.

The Vittoria is authentic, charming and a beautiful place to spend your holiday. It is expensive.

But oh so worth it.

Firstly if you are staying there do not even think about going if you are not going to be in a sea view deluxe room.

From what I've seen the standard gArden view rooms are, well, not that good really.

The deluxe room is worth the extra. Amazing sea view of Vesuvius and the bay of Naples.

The hotel is clean and the concierge staff are excellent.

The breakfast was outstanding and I was never bored by it despite our two week stay.

We hadn't planned on eating lunches at the pool bar, however, we tried it on day two and pretty much ate there on every pool day

The quality and taste of the pool bar lunches was outstanding. I can't remember ever eating so well, so consistently and so deliciously at
any hotel ever! From the fresh garlic flatbreads to the fantastic
seafood salad in the buffet to
exquisite pasta dishes, the variety
flavours and quality of the lunch by
the pool cannot be overstated!

The pool area is calm and relaxing
The pool is of a good size with
hydrotherapy vents and jacuzzi
spouts throughout. The
underground showering and toilet facilities were always clean although once there was a musty smell which only appeared the one time.

The room we stayed in was spacious airy and well appointed. The view was simply stunning!

The hotel has a wonderful terrace which us delightful in the evening

The hotel is calm and idyllic yet because it's situated right in the main square, once you've walked the hundred or so yards through the garden to the main entrance you find yourself right in the middle of all the buzzy life of sorrento.

It's almost surreal how you can be in a sun tropical paradise one minute and in a lively city centre within a minutes stroll in te hotel!

The security stop all non hotel guests and were always polite to us. We never had to show id as they clocked us as we went out.

We ate in the hotel restaurants a couple of times and it was excellent if a little expensive.

My fiancé tells the story that one morning she was a bit late for breakfast and most was cleared away when she arrived. She asked if they could sort out some Danishes and within five minutes freshly baked donuts and creme patisserie arrived.

The hotel is truly one of the best we've stayed at. It was a magical wonderful two weeks. As we are getting married in sorrento this summer it was like a pre-honeymoon. I can safely say that this wa one of the best holidays of my life (and I've stayed at some amazing places like The Sandy Lane)

However if you stay in anything other than a sea view deluxe or junior suite it may not be as magical.

Really can't fault anything

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrcellular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Had the most spectacular breakfast here with the greatest view and wonderful parma ham, Manager Nicolino was caring very much about all clients>
Rolf, MB Paris

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RudyMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2010

My colleagues and I frequently travel to Europe several times a year and stay at 5-star hotels. We stayed here for 10 days in early december. The hotel is centrally located in the Piazza Tasso, had a charming old world decor with beautiful gardens, with views of the Sorrento harbor, but a building obstructed our views of the bay of Naples and Mt. Vesuvio.

At first glance the room seemed clean enough, but my room had a recurring problem with ants. I killed them on the couch, dressers and desk. The beds were uncomfortable.
The heating system in one of the rooms was broken and could not be controlled from the room. My colleague had to call the concierge to put the heat on in the room.

The bathrooms were tiny (6x8') and not luxurious at all. The tub had a glass enclosure halfway that defined the shower portion of the tub. If i dropped the soap, I had to open the shower door to have enough room to bend down and pick it up. When taking a shower, I had to use a pen to pry open the drain cover to allow the water to drain out instead of pooling around my ankles. All our rooms had a terrible musty odor eminating from the drains, which the housekeeping staff tried to cover up by firmly closely all the sink and tub drains daily. The sink fronts could have used a good cleaning. The controls on the towel warmer did not work. I was unable to get Wifi and was unable to access the internet from my room even when directly connected. When I addressed this with the concierge, I received a shrug as a reply. The "business center" had one old computer but was poorly equipped with no paper in the printer, no fax or shredder.

Once you pass through the gardens, there is a steep stone staircase leading to the hotel lobby. Because we were there on business, we needed to transport a small but heavy carryon-sized suitcase up and down these stairs daily. Not once in the entire 10 days of our stay did we see a doorman. The concierge just watched us walk by and did not offer to help us up or down the stairs with the valise, nor even attempt to open the large, heavy door as a courtesy.

There were not many guests in the hotel, so the breakfast buffet was monotonous with a limited selection. Frequently there were no hot offerings. The fruit was not as fresh as it should be as it appeared to be served for days until consumed. The dinner choices were extremely limited. We got the impression that the one waiter would have preferred to be in his room rather than be on duty serving dinner. The food was not typical of a 5-star hotel.

The Excelsior Vittorio is over-rated and over-priced. We were all very disappointed with the hotel and will go back to the Sorrento Hilton in the future. The Hilton is a little further from the center of Sorrento, but the Hilton's service and rooms meet the American standard of comfort.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank KaytoRocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,744 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
1,640 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria

Address: Piazza Tasso, 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £303 - £614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-regarded Hotel comprising several buildings & newer villas in a clifftop garden, with fine views of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Excelsior Vittoria
Grand Excelsior Vittoria
Sorrento Hotel Excelsior
Sorrento Excelsior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing