We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nicola L
Preston, United Kingdom

Wonderful hotel, terrible after service.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Aug 2011
Following our recent wonderful stay at the hotel, on our departure we had overpaid 164 euro's as we were going to eat in the hotel on our last night but changed our minds. Amazed that they couldn't/wouldn't refund to the credit card that they deducted the deposit from - you only need to press the refund button, type in password and or swipe with supervisor card on the pdq machine to process! Five weeks and several emails later to remind them, I am still trying to get the refund, have even sent all my bank details, swift numbers & IBAN numbers - still no refund.

Unfortunately, this has left the wonderful memories of our stay but an annoying memory.
Date of stay: July 2011
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£619
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotel Website
0.2 miles from Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Free Wifi
Pool
£936
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.4 miles from Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Free Wifi
Beachfront
£436
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.6 miles from Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Pool
Restaurant
£316
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.4 miles from Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Pool
Restaurant
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £646
  • Booking.com
0.2 miles from Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £298
  • Priceline
0.2 miles from Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £260
  • Expedia.com
    £293
0.3 miles from Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Pool
Restaurant
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    £353
  • travelup.com
0.2 miles from Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £133
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £147
  • Expedia.com
    £192
1.0 miles from Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Sorrento
Reviews (2,003)
Filter reviews
2,003 results
Traveller rating
1,774
134
47
26
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,774
134
47
26
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews michelin star restaurant bay of naples concierge staff overlooking the bay our honeymoon amazing hotel beautiful room the cliff junior suite breathtaking views terrace bosque vesuvius driveway pianist ferry amalfi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,325 - 1,330 of 2,003 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Very convenient to everything Sorrento has to offer. Once you walk out of the Excelsior you are in the main square of Sorrento. There is also an elevator on the terrace that will take you right to the Sorrento Pier where you can catch a ferry to Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Naples etc. The terrace is a wonderful place to have lunch or a drink with views that are absolutely stunning. They have live music on the terrace several nights a week. The property is beautiful with a great pool, pool bar, orange grove, terrace and restaurants. Breakfast is included in your room rate, they have a great selection in a beautiful breakfast room with an amazing sea view. The free wireless internet is always a plus.

The staff was very friendly and willing to accommodate, especially the concierge and bell staff.

The only negatives I experienced were that the check in process was a little slow when I was there, granted there were a lot of people trying to check in that day. We arrived around 11:30 AM and waited until about 3:30 PM for the room (even though check in is technically 2:30 PM). Lastly, unless you are willing to pay a lot of money for a suite, the rooms are very basic (as are most European hotels). But for all the hotel amenities it was well worth it, as I was barely in my room either way.

I would definitely recocmend this hotel to anyone travellnig to Sorrento.

Date of stay: July 2011
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guido2011, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2011

Dear Guest,

first of all, we wish to thank you very much for your kind review on Tripadvisor and for choosing the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria for your holiday in Sorrento.
We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed the location of our Hotel, facing the Naples gulf and that you appreciated the service and our staff.

We apologize for the late check-in and we do always value both positive and negative feedbacks from our valued guests, as this ensures we continue to grow and evolve our services and product out request.

We are also very pleased to learn that you recommend the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria to anyone travelling to Sorrento and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another wonderful stay in our Hotel!

Sincerely,
Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Excelsior 33 years ago on our honeymoon and returned July 26-29, 2011 based on our memories from long ago!

Sorrento is lovely...and the Excelsior commands the best spot to maximize the experience. The views from the rooms...and the patio of the Bay of Naples are simply stunning. We were in the Antique Suite that had a 20 foot long balcony with a view of Naples accross the bay and Mt. Vesuvius. Incredible. The pool is also terrific...although the bar service is spotty...have to get up and get your own drink.

Highs.....sitting on our balcony...sipping wine.....having coffee...reading the paper. Having a drink on the patio overlooking the bay. Walking down the long courtyard to the main square. The restaurant....excellent.

The hotel is located off the main shopping and dining square...so a perfect view and also for eating and shopping. Nothing better.

Service terrific....as would be expected.

Worst thing...no wifi in the room...but a plug in port.

Go ahead...splurge....you only live once....try the Excelsior!

Room tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the Bay
Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cloud9Captain
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guido2011, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2011

Dear guest,

thank you very much for having taken time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your anniversary with us and appreciated our services once again.

We are all very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

My best regards,
Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This hotel could not have been any better. Not only was it beautiful, but the staff treated us like VIPs, the pool was beautiful & the rooms clean. We were upgraded to a Suite upon check in. The view was incredible from our room, the breakfast area & the patio. We felt like we were in a tropical Oasis..secluded, yet the Piazza Tasso was just outside the driveway of the hotel. The pool staff was attentive and the pool restaurant had a buffet lunch which was delicious. Concierge was always helpful. The spa massage was great, although my pedicure was only so-so. Everything you need including shops & restaurants to entertainment was just outside the property. The only snafu is because of the Piazza being so close, the music/concerts can be heard until around midnight. If you are an "early to bed" person, you should inquire upon check-in about rooms with more buffering. I wish I wasnt half way around the world because I would make this my vacation destination every year!! Thank you to all that helped make our stay so special!!

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guido2011, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for having taken your time to post your review on Trip Advisor.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holiday at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria and that you were satisfied with our service and our staff.

We are all very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

My best regards
Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Sorrento as a town is beautiful. People are also generally very nice and greet you as you walk pass. Although I would assume part of it would be due to the fact that we are very clearly tourists in a tourist town. The view is really stunning.
The hotel is old. And in need of a serious renovation and makeover. The shower cubicle is so small, no grown man can rotate comfortably inside. Everything in the hotel is old, from the light switches, to the electrical sockets, to the wc and the sinks. The king size bed is 2 old twin beds joined together. The wardrobe was so old, it smelt of rotting wood.

Being a "leading hotel of the world", I expected much more besides a friendly face when you check in.

Very very very disappointing.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank MeiRong369
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 July 2011

My husband and i stayed here as part of out Tauck Classic Italy Tour and it was wonderful. Our room was quiet, very clean, and had lovely old-world charm. The grounds and gardens were beautiful and I wish we had time to use the pool as it looked large and inviting. Our balcony overlooked the bay and I could have sat there for hours just enjoying the view. The hotel is set back from the main road and is very quiet. The dinner we had( on the gorgeous terrace overlooking the water) was excellent and breakfast was very good too. All of the employees were helpful and friendly.The only problem we had was that the wireless connection didn't work in our room, but that wasn't that big of a deal because we were on vacation anyway. I wish we could have stayed longer and seen more of Sorrento.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poem19girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guido2011, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2011

Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for taking some time and sharing your comments on your experience at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with our services. We apologize for the inconvenience with the WiFi, and your comment will be taken into consideration to improve the service level.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards,

Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews