We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So good..coming back this year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So good..coming back this year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Had a girly holiday with my Sister in Sorrento and we shall be doing the same this Autumn staying at this beautiful hotel. The staff are amazing ,so helpful and so courteous they make your holiday special. The pool area is lovely, the gardens, the decor in fact everything is exceptional, I cannot fault it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CristalB_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido2011, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind review on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy that you and your sister enjoyed your stay with us in the heart of Sorrento and appreciated our Staff and services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Autumn.

My warmest regards,

Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,008
    85
    38
    17
    11
See reviews for
251
631
16
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

This was a wonderful place. Location was great, near everything and the views were unbelievable. Great breakfast and the people were extremely nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bayberry39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido2011, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at our property with Tripadvisor readers.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are very grateful for your compliments.

Looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We're a family of 5 with two teenagers and a 12 year old. When we arrived the first day we weren't at all sure we'd made the right choice (we were worried the children would find it boring - no kids clubs and not many other families with children of the same ages) and the hotel, whilst it has an amazing entrance and driveway, looked as though it could do with a spruce up. However, as we relaxed into the holiday we all started to love it and the hotel started to really grow on us with its seeming faults becoming part of the charm (same could be said of Sorrento). The truly remarkable points of the hotel are the pool area and pool side dining (evenings Thursday/ Friday/ Saturday - best food we ate in Sorrento) ; gardens and driveway; location in middle of the square; breakfast room and buffet and staff. Bits that could be improved are few but include more comfortable beds and pillows.

Beware the mini cruise to Caprii, Positano and Amalfi- we signed up and got off within a minute (we did get our money back). Way too overcrowded and reminiscent of a scene from Papillion i.e. the prison ship.

Room Tip: Look out over the bay if you can 1) no noise and 2) beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido2011, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Dear Guest,

firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria for your holiday in Sorrento and also for taking your time to write your kind review.

We are very pleased to learn that you appreciated our services and in particular our pool and l'Orangerie poolside bar & restaurant. Your comments are very valuable for us and we wish to thank you for all your kind words of appreciation.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria.

Sincerely,

Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We have been visiting Sorrento for over 20 years and feel that we really know the place by now and two years ago we "found" the Excelsior, it is just wonderful, the location just off Piazza Tasso is perfect coupled with the view of the Bay of Naples and the private lift to the port, you have everything. When you walk down the drive the hustle and bustle of Sorrento is behind you and you have the tranquility of this hotel. We booked on a half board basis and we were not disappointed,overlooking the Bay, the terrace restaurant is wonderful and the food was just excellent. It is certainly worth the extra for a sea view room as there is nothing better than sitting on your terrace looking at this beautiful vista. The staff made our stay just the best, nothing is too much trouble and we felt very special. We are returning once again in a few weeks time, I think that says it all. We have stayed in several hotels in and around Sorrento but this is definitely the best - my only regret is that we didn't stay here earlier!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LynnieWetherby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido2011, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for your nice review on Tripadvisor, we are very happy that you appreciated our hotel location and in particular our staff.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria in Sorrento!

Warmest regards,
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Following our recent wonderful stay at the hotel, on our departure we had overpaid 164 euro's as we were going to eat in the hotel on our last night but changed our minds. Amazed that they couldn't/wouldn't refund to the credit card that they deducted the deposit from - you only need to press the refund button, type in password and or swipe with supervisor card on the pdq machine to process! Five weeks and several emails later to remind them, I am still trying to get the refund, have even sent all my bank details, swift numbers & IBAN numbers - still no refund.

Unfortunately, this has left the wonderful memories of our stay but an annoying memory.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

Very convenient to everything Sorrento has to offer. Once you walk out of the Excelsior you are in the main square of Sorrento. There is also an elevator on the terrace that will take you right to the Sorrento Pier where you can catch a ferry to Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Naples etc. The terrace is a wonderful place to have lunch or a drink with views that are absolutely stunning. They have live music on the terrace several nights a week. The property is beautiful with a great pool, pool bar, orange grove, terrace and restaurants. Breakfast is included in your room rate, they have a great selection in a beautiful breakfast room with an amazing sea view. The free wireless internet is always a plus.

The staff was very friendly and willing to accommodate, especially the concierge and bell staff.

The only negatives I experienced were that the check in process was a little slow when I was there, granted there were a lot of people trying to check in that day. We arrived around 11:30 AM and waited until about 3:30 PM for the room (even though check in is technically 2:30 PM). Lastly, unless you are willing to pay a lot of money for a suite, the rooms are very basic (as are most European hotels). But for all the hotel amenities it was well worth it, as I was barely in my room either way.

I would definitely recocmend this hotel to anyone travellnig to Sorrento.

Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank akingsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido2011, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Dear Guest,

first of all, we wish to thank you very much for your kind review on Tripadvisor and for choosing the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria for your holiday in Sorrento.
We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed the location of our Hotel, facing the Naples gulf and that you appreciated the service and our staff.

We apologize for the late check-in and we do always value both positive and negative feedbacks from our valued guests, as this ensures we continue to grow and evolve our services and product out request.

We are also very pleased to learn that you recommend the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria to anyone travelling to Sorrento and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another wonderful stay in our Hotel!

Sincerely,
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duxbury, MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Excelsior 33 years ago on our honeymoon and returned July 26-29, 2011 based on our memories from long ago!

Sorrento is lovely...and the Excelsior commands the best spot to maximize the experience. The views from the rooms...and the patio of the Bay of Naples are simply stunning. We were in the Antique Suite that had a 20 foot long balcony with a view of Naples accross the bay and Mt. Vesuvius. Incredible. The pool is also terrific...although the bar service is spotty...have to get up and get your own drink.

Highs.....sitting on our balcony...sipping wine.....having coffee...reading the paper. Having a drink on the patio overlooking the bay. Walking down the long courtyard to the main square. The restaurant....excellent.

The hotel is located off the main shopping and dining square...so a perfect view and also for eating and shopping. Nothing better.

Service terrific....as would be expected.

Worst thing...no wifi in the room...but a plug in port.

Go ahead...splurge....you only live once....try the Excelsior!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davemanly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido2011, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Dear guest,

thank you very much for having taken time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your anniversary with us and appreciated our services once again.

We are all very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

My best regards,
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria

Property: Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Address: Piazza Tasso, 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-regarded Hotel comprising several buildings & newer villas in a clifftop garden, with fine views of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Excelsior Vittoria
Grand Excelsior Vittoria
Sorrento Hotel Excelsior
Sorrento Excelsior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing