We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally agree with all the wonderful reviews!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
255 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Totally agree with all the wonderful reviews!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Love this hotel! It was expensive and luxurious but it felt so friendly, and not at all stuffy. The grounds were lovely, staff exceptional. Breakfast is served in a gorgeous room and is delicious!
We found the pool staff so nice and friendly, even after we failed to tip them because we didn't have the proper currency on hand. We did tip them later but they didn't know we would and they treated us like royalty without the tip! I loved turning into the pretty walkway from the main square to stroll to the hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank havesuitcase153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido2011, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for having shared your nice comments on TripAdvisor.
We are very happy you have enjoyed your stay with us and liked our property, with the park, the pool and our breakfast room and in particular our staff and service.

Looking forward to welcoming you back, next time for new holiday in your summer house!

My warmest regards,

Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,008
    85
    38
    17
    11
See reviews for
251
631
16
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Perched directly above the water, the Grand Excelsior Vittoria is the perfect location in Sorrento. The entrance to the driveway is on the main town square and it leads you through a beautiful garden setting to the entrance to the hotel. The 19th century elegance is everywhere. The environment is very peaceful yet the service is just around the corner.

Our room/balcony had a beautiful view of the Mediterranean and the Bay of Naples. Many wonderful restaurants are nearby. We particularly recommend Tasso and Caruso. The food at the hotel was excellent as well. The pool and attached cafe/bar were great and, again, the service was always at the ready.

The hotel has a private elevator that takes you from their terrace down to the harbor where boating and ferries to Capri can easily be arranged.

All in all, I don't think you can go wrong with a stay at the Grand Excelsior Vittoria.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colocav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido2011, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review on TripAdvisor.
We are very happy that you appreciated so much the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria and our services.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

My warmest regards,

Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
131 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

A excellent location in the center of Sorrento. This hotel is a classic beauty overlooking the Mediterranean sea.

We had a non standard room with a large balcony overlooking the sea and the harbour with the ferry to Capri (I recommend both this room aswell as visiting Capri as it is only a short boat trip and a very beautifull island).

The hotel restaurant is not the best you can find in Sorrento but features more than acceptable Italian Cuisine. Breakfest is extensive and served with a smile in a room with seaview. The concierge will help you with your visits in the area, with restaurant reservations and I am sure with lots of other things as well.

During our stay (beginning of october) the pool was closed but it looked nice. My wife enjoyed some spa treatments that did not came cheap but were certainly worthwhile.

Room Tip: Have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gourmand_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido2011, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with you feedback following your stay at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria. We are happy to know that you have enjoied your Holiday with us and that you liked our see view rooms and our boutique Spa La Serra.

We sincerely thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back soon at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria.

Kind Regards,
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We celebrated an anniversary and big birthday so wanted nothing but the best. We are both very fussy and if paying hard earned money want the best. We had an amazing 3 night stay including DBB in a sea view room with balcony. The view was breathtaking and a trip to Capri really made the holiday. We both felt as if we had had a fortnights holiday rather than 3 days As the hotel is so centrally located but still a peaceful haven we felt it offered more than our honeymoon in the Maldives and cannot wait to return. Hotel employees were extremely helpful and the food and wine all recommended by very knowledgeable staff was excellent.

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony expensive but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gail_mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido2011, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Dear Guest,

We are so delighted that you enjoyed your anniversary holiday at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria in Sorrento. Thank you for your wonderful compliments that will be shared with all the staff.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria very soon!

Best regards,
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

After staying in Sorrento two years ago, I knew that it would be a perfect place for our honeymoon. What I didn't realize is that our hotel, the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, would make our five-day trip so wonderful! We hardly wanted to leave the hotel! But, when we did, we were only a few steps from the center of town (incredible location,) an elevator ride down to the Marina (so convenient,) a hop, skip and a jump to many restaurants (yum!) and the incredibly knowledgeable and dedicated staff were happy to help us in with anything we needed to arrange. The concierge desk was especially helpful in organizing a special boat tour of the coast, dinner out, cars, etc. The hotel itself is so lovely and beautifully manicured, it is hard to tell that it is such a historical landmark. Our suite was incredible - clean and spacious complete with a beautiful view! The pool was truly enjoyable, the hotel gym was a convenient amenity, and the hotel's restaurant a delicious dining experience. All in all, my husband and I were sorry that we didn't book a full two weeks at this hotel! Thanks to all the staff for making our honeymoon in Sorrento so special! We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cebcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido2011, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Dear Madame,

Thank you very much for your very beautiful review on TripAdvisor, it is with great pride that we read your feedback about the hotel and your splendid compliments to our staff.
It is a great pleasure to have such a wonderful guest like you.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria for your anniversary next year.

My warmest regards,

Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Well,our 4th visit and the hotel gets better every time. We did have a problem with nois on the second afternoon but it was soon sorted. ALL staff could not do enough to ensure that our stay was excellant. People who complained about the wifi reception were right but all you have to do is move to a different location. no problem.I do have one suggestion to management.

Suggestion:- make at least one side of the pool non smoking.

We had a wonderful rest and will go back in 2012.

Dr Valerie Peters

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido2011, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Dear Mrs. Peters,

thank you very much for sharing your experience at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria with Tripadvisor readers.

We are very happy that you enjoyed our property and that you noticed the improvement made in these years, your comment are always important to improve the level of our services.

With great pleasure I will relay your splendid compliments to our staff, and look forward to welcoming you next time.

Your second home in the heart of Sorrento is waiting for you!

My warmest regards,
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We walked down the long tree lined drive and knew it was just the best place in Sorrento
Yes, it was expensive, but the reception staff were more than helpful and we decided to blow the budget!
The entire staff are polite, helpful and aim to please.The pool is perfection, the view from the room fantastic and the hotel lift down to the pier was a real bonus. Ferries to Capri and the Amalfi Coast are on your doorstep.
The hotel entrance is situated in the main square which is a hive of activity, particularly in the evening, but the hotel itself, perched on the edge of the cliff with fantastic views of the Bay of Naples is a haven of peace and tranquility.
The decor is extremely elegant throughout the hotel and the terrace is beautiful
Breakfast is an amazing selection of treats to cater for all palates. We had a superb 8 days and will go back again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank europhile05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido2011, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Dear Guest,

we are pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your holiday at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria and we would like to thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria

Property: Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Address: Piazza Tasso, 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-regarded Hotel comprising several buildings & newer villas in a clifftop garden, with fine views of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Excelsior Vittoria
Grand Excelsior Vittoria
Sorrento Hotel Excelsior
Sorrento Excelsior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing