We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a View!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 2 January 2008

We absolutely loved this hotel! We booked two "double classic rooms with a sea view" and what a view it was! Both rooms and bathrooms were a nice size. The bathroom had a separate shower and tub. Each room had a small balcony and a nice terrace to sit and enjoy the view. We had a great view of Mt. Vesuvius from our balcony and a nice view of the Marina below. Both of our rooms were a bit cold. It was December and I don't think they had turned on our rooms' heat, but once we called the desk and told them, they turned it on--we could not control our own thermostat so that was a bit frustrating, Still, the hotel was beautiful! The grounds were beautiful and the hotel was decorated very nicely for Christmas. The staff was also wonderful. They helped us to continue our search for our missing luggage (Sorrento was day three of our trip and we had come from Rome still missing bags). Breakfast was included with our rooms and it was fantastic—a great buffet with fruits, eggs, bacon, cereal, juices, breads, and pastries. Don't miss out on a great breakfast. I would recommend this hotel to all!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karanowski78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,012 - 1,018 of 1,444 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2007

We made the Excelsior Vittoria our home during our 4 fabulous days in Sorrento, staying in the impressive 'Royal Suite' featuring a magnificent 185 sq.m private panoramic terrace with sweeping views over the Bay of Naples and the mysterious Mt. Vesuvius. Arriving at the hotel feels like you are entering a private villa and not really a typical hotel. The long driveway takes you away from the center of town into another world.

We have stayed in many of the top hotels around the world and do not hestitate to say that the Excelsior Vittoria ranks up amongst the top of the list of the world's very best hotels. The hotel enjoys a unique setting on the edge of a cliff directly above Marina Piccola (where the ferries and hydofoils dock). An elevator from the main terrace of the hotel whisks guest all the way down to the pier at the Marina, where you can conveniently hop on a boat for an excursion to Capri or other destinations. Up above, once you exit the hotel private driveway, you are standing right in the middle of the town of Sorrento. The location itself is as convenient as convenient can be, but the icing on the cake is, of course, the magnificent views from the hotel.

The 'Royal Suite' made for an especially memorable stay. It featured a large living room and huge bedroom with soaring ceilings. All rooms within the Royal Suite, including the very spacious marble bathroom, opens out directly onto either the front balcony or the hugely grand private terrace on the left side of the suite. It was large enough to literally hold a soccer match on it. The views from all sides were to die for and simply unforgettable.

Our room included full American breakfast served in the 'Vittoria', a truly special setting featuring beautifully frescoed ceilings and a wonderful ambience with views across the bay. The quality of the breakfast was superb (as opposed to the typical continental breakfast common in many European hotels) - a wide selection of hot and cold choices complemented by excellent personal service delivered by the ever cheerful waiters.

There were really no significant negative aspects, but the reason I mentioned that it ranks amongst the top hotels (when in fact it can easily and by far sit at the very top of the list) are due to a few minor details worth mentioning. There are a few parts of the hotel and some amenities that can benefit from some updating (or upgrading). It is understandable that a historical hotel like this intends to retain as much of its historic past as possible, but the old-style elevators (ones which you must push the doors open), for example, should at least be refursbished inside to bring to it an elegant feel. Some of the furnishing in the suite are dated (as opposed to 'antiques'), e.g. cheap sofa and rug, and of course the ancient television set on the cheap stand (doesn't blend very well with the overall plush ambience of the room). Sorry to mention these trivial things but the intention is to give a complete and accurate review. This small aspects do make a rather big difference and is something that the hotel management should address.

Lastly, we enjoyed the friendliness and personal level of attention extended by all the hotel staff, although a (very small)minority could add a little smile and lessen the 'stuffy' attitude.

All in all, we must say that we were sad to check-out after a lovely three-night stay. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Sorrento and definitely on the list of 1000 places to visit before you die.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank PourPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2007

I have somewhat mixed feelings about our stay in the EV, which was at the start of our honeymoon. There are a number of positives; the location is fantastic, with amazing views on one side, and Sorrento’s main square on the other (buffered by the hotel’s private park). The majority of the staff were very friendly and efficient - both while booking and during the stay. Breakfast was very good, and room service, though expensive, was also top quality. The problem came with our room. I had booked a deluxe sea view room, and it was big, with a large balcony and an amazing view of the Bay of Naples. However, it also felt a bit like something out of a Victorian hospital. I know that this is a grand old hotel, but the room was dark, and cold feeling, while the bathroom was tiny and not in great nick and the TV was tiny. Maybe the time of year – October - played a factor in this. For the money being paid, though, I felt it just wasn’t good enough, view notwithstanding.

Thankfully the room was also placed beside one of the hotel’s restaurants, which gave me an out. When I pointed out the noise issue after spending one night in it, we were swiftly upgraded to a Junior Suite for the rest of our stay (thanks to the duty manager who did so, if you are reading this!). This was everything the previous room wasn’t – warm, bright, luxurious, with a big bathroom. The view wasn’t as amazing, but still very good from our three small balconies.

Needless to say, as a result of this switch we had a great stay, but if I had been stuck in the room I had paid for – even if it had not been beside the restaurant – I wouldn’t have been too happy. Given not everyone would be upgraded, I have based my review on this original room.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rohickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2007

We were celebrating my husbands birthday so chose this location as a special treat and were not disappointed. We were placed at a table with a spectacular view most morings at breakfast, which was a great start to the day. Most of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, however, I feel there were one or two on the front desk that required re-training in custormer relation techniques. The room was a deluxe and over looked the garden at the front of the hotel. We had a huge terrace balcony, big enough for sun loungers and a table and chairs. Also had the sun most of the day The sea view rooms on the opposite side with balcony had no sun at all while we were there in Sept, so bear this in mind if you intend to sunbathe on the balcony for some quiet time. There was no internet access in the room but there is a computer room in the basement which was useful.
The pool staff are a definite mention, they are excellent and cannot be faulted. Richard and Stefan were always on hand to assist with any problem and were polite and curteous. They are a true asset to the hotel.
The only problem we had during our stay was when I booked a table in the hotel restaurant for my husbands birthday 2 days previously. We put in a special request for a balcony table at the front of the terrace, as we wanted a spectacular view. When we went down for dinner, all the balcony tables were taken and we were told that if people arrive and want a balcony table then they could not say no. We suggested that if that was their policy then they should advise the customers that they cannot guarantee special bookings. The waiter's attitude left alot to be desired and he seemed to be amazed at what the fuss was all about. A simple thing like a table booking would not be too difficult in any good class hotel anywhere in the world, so we were very disappointed that the Hotel Excelsior got it so wrong. To cut a very long story short, the manager apologised profusely, explained that they should have honoured our table booking and smoothed out the creases in a professional manner. We were left a bit happier, although the celebratory meal was spoilt.
The private beach by the way is not as you would expect, with loungers etc... It is a section of beach that is not used by bathers and its dirty, so its surprising that they mention it on their website. I would return to this hotel as its extremely romantic and its location is perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Unniepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2007

came here for a 10th wedding aniversary,as we wanted something special.this place is special,the views,the service,the public areas,the location and the bedrooms are all fab!!.this hotel is 100 years old and is steeped in history,you can feel it the moment you enter the gates,a long driveway leads you from sorrento's main square to a splendid hotel.relax and enjoy once inside,everythings an antique,including the furntiture in the bedroom.breakfast is to die for,so is having a drink in the courtyard looking at that view!.the bedrooms are v comfortable,terrific air con,huge beds and very spacious.nice pool to relax by with fine lunch provided next door.loved sorrento town and the location of this hotel couldnt have been better.will come back and will stay again at this wonderfull hotel.not cheap but just behind the one and only royal mirage in dubai as my favorite all time hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ytegsfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2007

romantic hotel with great views of Vesuvius. Had a terrific room with a balcony overlooking the harbor & Vesuvius. Room was charming, very clean, large bathroom with all the amenities. Location of the hotel couldn't be beat. Elevator down to the harbor, walking distance to the "old town" & the bus & train stations. Elegant breakfast (the nicest we had in Italy), lovely terrace for cocktails, large pool with umbrellas & towels provided. Can't say enough good things about our stay there. We felt pampered & well cared for by the staff. The grounds were lovely. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank upstaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2007

Fantastic Experience! We just returned from 4 nights at The Grand Excelsior Vittoria. A beautiful hotel in the grand palace style. We booked a junior suite. When we booked we were told that all rooms with balconies were taken but were assured we would have a view. When we checked in we were given room 548, a junior suite with what appears to be the most massive balcony right on the bay of Naples. The room was beautiful with the exception that the bathroom was REALLY small; the door staff, reception and housekeeping superb. The pool is great, the casual restaurant at the pool serves delicious casual cuisine. The breakfast that is included is more than enough. The location cannot be beat -- right on the main square of Sorrento, yet set back on a park with a guard gate. Best of both worlds!

There is one downside to the his hotel -- the restuarant is awful. Food is at best okay, service is inconsistent. We and all the tables around us were made to feel rushed -- we were all asked to sign our checks before dessert ever came. For a quarter of the price, eat outside on the square for great local pasta and great wine. STILL, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pimpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
993 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,610 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria

Address: Piazza Tasso, 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#13 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £367 - £1,094 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-regarded Hotel comprising several buildings & newer villas in a clifftop garden, with fine views of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Excelsior Vittoria
Grand Excelsior Vittoria
Sorrento Hotel Excelsior
Sorrento Excelsior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing