We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If money is no object...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If money is no object...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

I have to say I was slightly dissapointed with our visit to this hotel. After visiting Sorrento many times it was always a dream to stay here and is considered by many to be one of the top hotels in Sorrento if not the Amalfi Coast. The highlight of the hotel is clearly it's location. You could not find a better location in the heart of Piazza Tasso and one of the best things about staying here is the abillity to walk back to your hotel for a quick swim and change before dinner. Other highlights include the stunning grounds and entrance. The gardens are truly beautiful as is the sea view terrace. While breakfast was nice with a fantastic selection, I was dissappointed with the room that seemed in need of renovations, the pool was nice but there were old apartment buildings looking into the swimming pool grounds. I think you get the same feeling by making a lunch or dinner reservation or even drinks at sunset would give you a similar feeling without paying the higher price tag. In terms of quality, it is not on par with hotels including Le Sirensue in Positano. Having said all of this the service was fantastic and I loved the fact the hotel is still family owned. This is worth a visit if you can afford the suites.

Room Tip: Book a suite with ocean views if you can afford it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your very kind review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we also thank you for your useful additional comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria - Sorrento!
My warmest regards
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    990
    84
    38
    17
    11
See reviews for
246
620
16
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

The Excelsior Vittoria thoroughly deserves its 5 star luxury grading. The hotel is positioned in its own extensive grounds on the edge of the cliff immediately above the Marina Piccola. The hotel's modern private elevator whisks you down the 100 feet to where you can get the boat to Capri and other Amalfi destinations. The large terrace overlooking the marina is a haven of calm during the day and the perfect place to start the evening with a romantic drink under olive trees and pink blossom before heading to the Le Bosquet restaurant for an outstanding dinner while you soak up the panorama from the beautiful red sunset in the West to the impressive Vesuvius looming large to the North. Breakfast to the sound of the piano in the Vittoria restaurant is as extensive and delicious as other reviewers have already said and even those with the strongest will-power will struggle to resist the cakes!
Fortunately the hotel offers a very well equipped air conditioned gymn with a pair of treadmills, bike, rower, hand bike, stepper, free hand-weights and multi-gymn. It's an oasis from the 34 degree heat of a July day and is open from 6am to 10pm (approx).
We stayed in the main building of the hotel with a garden-facing room with views of the hustle & bustle of Piazza Tasso 100m away beyond the front gate and the walls of the grounds. The room was clean and beautifully decorated without having lost its original features. The hotel retains the beauty and grandeur of a grand palazzo, each of its public rooms are furnished with antiques and decorated with exquisite frescoes.
Finally, the staff are superb, everyone we met seems to be personally dedicated to creating the very best experience for the guests and they do it with charm and a sense of fun!
Flawless service throughout.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shop_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Your great and very detailed review is appreciated and it is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, the services and our staff.
We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria - Sorrento!

My warmest regards

Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We decided to stay here coming back from the il San Pietro in Positano because we had to take the dreaded 6am flight out of Naples the next day-driving that road in the wee hours did not sound appealing. We were half depressed when we checked in because we knew our vacation was about over and were expecting anything over the top, having just come from a gorgeous property. However, we quickly pulled out of our depression. Check-in was fabulous, very courteous, elegant lobby and greeted by a porter, bellhop and manager...along with 2 freshly squeezed orange juices. Our room was on the top floor with a balcony over looking Naples-Beautiful! Management sent a bottle of bubbly and deserts as a congratulatory gift on our recent marriage. Decided to swing down by the pool for our last day, great pool with great food. All the staff from the waitresses to the pool attendant were fabulous. Went and ate at Curruso's, 3 minute walk outside the beautifully kept grounds, came back and packed. It was just a very pleasant surprise to end our honeymoon on such a great note. We certainly will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 68J_and_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glencoe, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

What a beautiful hotel and grand service! Enjoyed a superb meal at the terrace restaurant, "Bosquet," view splendid sea views, delicious food and 5-star service. Even if you do not stay at this wonderful hotel, come to the restaurant just to enjoy the hotel grounds, its views, and this great restaurant (which somehow remains unlisted in TripAdvisor). For dessert? The crepes flambee are not to be missed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoLawyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Guest,

a sincere thank you for your nice review.
The beautiful comment regarding our restaurant Terrazza Bosquet for the food and the service is the most important compliment for a General Manager and I will be pleased to relay it to the entire team.
We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, Sorrento!
My warmest regards
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Beautiful setting, excellent location, Spectacular sea view from terrace. Delicious buffet breakfast and attentive staff throughout. . Many different category and room sizes offering various views.Great location and walking distance to cafes and shopsHad a fabulous massage at the spa on a cold rainy day but loved every moment of my stay. Would definitely return again!

Room Tip: Request a room with a covered terrace and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JillL210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind review.
We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our services and in particular out Boutique Spa La Serra.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you back at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria - Sorrento!
My warmest regards
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Upon arrival at this wonderful Hotel in the heart of Sorrento ou feel as though you have arrived at a magnificent home emblazoned with bougainvilla and citrus trees. We were traveling with our two teenage daughters and had two beautiful rooms with amazing views of Vesuvius, the sea and beyond. The staff was attentive and helpful without being intrusive. Wonderful buffet breakfast, expansive pool, great AC in the rooms. Simply one of the best in a great location. Will come back. A true 5 star resort.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DEGNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your wonderful review!
We are more than happy to know that you enjoyed your holiday at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria and were satisfied with the rooms assigned and the staff.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

My warmest regards

Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

The staff are very friendly cant do enough for you, the hotel is clean and so beautiful and the pool is wonderful to relax and read a book there is also a bar so no shortage of drinks and nibbles and also a restaurant at the pool. Sorrento is lovely and Capri is only 20mins on ferry we had a week in Capri but it is well worth going over for the day its stunning but expensive, we went away from the main places like the Marina and the plazza where it is quite expensive.....

Yes definetly go back to the Excelsior Vittoria fantastic hotel live music on the terrice at night over looking the med and mount versuvius with a drink amazing.........

Room Tip: One with a sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piglet17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for your beautiful review and for your positive comments regarding our staff.
We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria!

My warmest regards from Sorrento

Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria

Property: Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Address: Piazza Tasso, 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-regarded Hotel comprising several buildings & newer villas in a clifftop garden, with fine views of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Excelsior Vittoria
Grand Excelsior Vittoria
Sorrento Hotel Excelsior
Sorrento Excelsior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing