We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel let down by mediocre food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton
Level Contributor
137 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel let down by mediocre food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

This hotel has a beautiful location in the centre of Sorrento and the public rooms, terrace and swimming pool are perfect.The "cheaper" garden view rooms have large balconies and face south, hence are bathed in sunshine. The rooms overlooking the Bay of Naples face north and have no sun all day.The main disappointment was the food. We were on half board for 7 days and whilst the dining area is very pleasant overlooking the Bay the menu does not change at all (except for 3-4 dishes). The food was very bland and ingredients are cheap, Ditto breakfast. Stale bread,cheap ingredients. Food is far removed from 5 star luxury. For the prices charged one would expect far more. The food served by the swimming pool area was also very disappointing. I would advice the hotel to look for a new chef and to improve on the quality of the food. Staff are very pleasant. For a hotel charging these top prices this is an average experience for those on half board.

Room Tip: Garden rooms have sun; others not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aart8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    990
    84
    38
    17
    11
See reviews for
246
620
16
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
176 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed 3 nights in June. It was an AMAZING experience! Had a suite on the 6th floor. With the 3 balconies having 3 different views -- sea, garden and mountain -- it was like a suite made in heaven. The service was impeccable from the time we arrived. The suite was huge and so clean. Bed seemed larger than the usual kind sized ones. Very comfortable. The location of the hotel was impossible to be any better. Right at the town's piazza but without the noise of the traffic or tourists. The garden that seperated the busy town-square was certainly beautiful. Orange and lemon trees line the driveway. Loved the boutique pool. Great pool bar service. Extremely well equipped gym. Daily breakfast spread was more than decent and a restaurant ambience that cannot be compared. From the sea, the view of the hotel was magnificent. Had a perfect stay at a perfect hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyn1170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Dear Sir,
thank you for your kind review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with and appreciate our services and staff.
We looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria Sorrento!
My warmest regards,

Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

This is the iconic seaside hotel on the cliffs of Sorrento. The service was outstanding both with room service and the main restaurant. A beautiful pool and elevator access to the beach. It made our short stay in Sorrento memorable.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Myself and my partner stayed at the Excelsior Vittoria for a long weekend in mid August.

Upon arrival we were greeted with drinks an early check and free room upgrade. The room was beautiful with an amazing view over the marina and of Naples. The entire hotel is beautifully decorated with wonderful views of Naples. Breakfast was great and the painist a lovely touch.

The pool was lovely with lots of space and plenty of sun loungers and towels provided. There is a very good bar service and all of the staff were excellent. Location was perfect, just minutes from the main town.

The town is a lovely and relaxed with the roads closed off at night perfect for visiting the collection of shops and restaurants. We took a day trip to Capri, the boat takes around 20 minutes and leaves from the marina at the bottom of the hotel which you can access directly from the hotels terrace via an elevator. Capri was fabulous with some beautiful views and restaurants and fantastic shopping.

I cannot recommend the hotel enough and we are already planning a return trip next year. The hotel, location, service, views and weather all contributed to an wonderful visit to Sorrento.

Room Tip: A view of the marina and Napels is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your positive comments. We really hope to welcome you back soon to Grand hotel Excelsior Vittoria!

Kind regards
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

From the moment that you step through the guarded gates and walk up the driveway,past the orange groves you know that you have found an hidden gem. Once inside the grounds its very private. Just off the main square and a hop and skip away from the lovely shops and bars. This is the place to be.
On arrival champagne and canapés were in the room and this was a lovely touch.
The hotel has the most beautiful decor throughout and the breakfast room is fantastic. The restaurants and terraced areas have breathtaking views over the bay of naples. I recommend the restaurant as the food here is exquisite and is served silver service is second to none.
The hotel has its own private lift which takes you down to the jetty where the ferrys leave.
In my opinion its worth paying the extra money to stay here if you want to indulge in the finer things in life, without being too costly. You may even bump into the occasional celebrity as I did.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the bay of naples
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea2470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Lovely hotel absolutely perfectly located right in the middle of Sorrento but surrounded by beautiful gardens. Once you go through the gate you leave the bustling town behind and you enter a realm of calm and beauty. Nice pool and sunbathing area with helpful staff. Breakfast is a treat in the beautiful restaurant. A gem.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JKM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your beautiful comment.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
My warmest regards
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

One arrives down a long driveway through a garden to a charming hotel with European grace. The setting is secluded but close to the doings in the seaside town of Sorrento. The front desk was welcoming and the concierge staff was knowledgeable and always helpful. The harbor view from our hotel room was breathtaking with Vesuvius in the background. Service was superb, and the breakfast buffet was elegant, enhanced by the pianist at breakfast playing standards, all complemented by the scenic views from the expansive windows. The rooms were well-appointed and we enjoyed sharing a glass of wine on our balcony high above the harbor. The hotel has a very nice pool, great for a refreshing swim after the warm summer days. A great hotel in the European tradition.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikejd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your detailed and beautiful review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel, facilities, the room assigned and, above all, the service of our staff that it is the best compliment that we can receive.

We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria - Sorrento!
My warmest regards,

Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria

Property: Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Address: Piazza Tasso, 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-regarded Hotel comprising several buildings & newer villas in a clifftop garden, with fine views of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Excelsior Vittoria
Grand Excelsior Vittoria
Sorrento Hotel Excelsior
Sorrento Excelsior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing