We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AN OUTSTANDING HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Santiago, Chile
1 review
“AN OUTSTANDING HOTEL”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

With my wife we have stayed twice at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria in Sorrento and hope to continue doing so in the future.
An outstanding Hotel, the ambiance is perfect, the atmosphere great, the views from the main terrace, restaurants, and ocean view rooms are unbelievable. In this Hotel dreams come true.
Special recognition is a must to all Hotel personnel. Mr. Nicolino Grigio, Resident Manager, is permanently observing and giving silent instructions just by looking at Hotel personnel. Most guests do not realize that Mr. Grigio is the Manager as he walks and talks with the guests as if he is one of them. Many thanks to Maria Russo from the Reservations Department, who always manages to accommodate guests in the exact requested room. Besides having a great sense of humor, Maria is a fine lady and her professionalism is remarkable. Thanks also to Corrado (he also has an excellent sense of humor), Tony, Franco, Enzo and all the rest of the personnel from the Concierge Desk: all of them real and true gentlemen reflected on their attitude and advices on restaurants and places to visit. Rita from the restaurant is always paying attention to your needs and finding the best table and view. Paula who’s memory is uncommon, as she remembers the songs requested by the guests from one year to the other. Angela and Maria had always our room in perfect conditions. And the list goes on and the space to refer to each of them is not sufficient. Many thanks to all of them.
In sum the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria has had the ability to combine in perfect terms outstanding personnel with an outstanding infrastructure

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernardo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear Sir,

I am writing to thank you for taking the time to complete the above review.
It is with great pride that we read your feedback about the hotel and the entire team.
Your comments have clearly given us the certainty of the success we can achieve.

Once again I would like to thank you for sharing your comments with us and would be a pleasure to welcome you back again at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria - Sorrento!
Yours sincerely,
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,134
    90
    39
    18
    11
See reviews for
293
690
23
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

When I had read the reviews on tripadvisor and seen their website - we had initially wanted to stay here but found the rooms a bit out of our price range.

We ended up booking a room at a different hotel but were fortunate enough to get moved here after our original hotel overbooked. Boy were we lucky !!! We are used to 4.5-5 star hotels in the US and this is one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed at.

This place is incredible. It is an older historic hotel that has been kept up wonderfully and is classically elegant with marble floors and artwork on the ceilings. The rooms were a good size for American standards. The bathrooms updated with modern conveniences though a little on the smaller side.

The entrance has a wonderful garden and the back overlooks the water. The hotel is located in Sorrento's main square but feels like it is completely isolated since their grounds are so big.

The service was excellent with a great attention to detail; the breakfast buffet enormous.

Can't wait to come back here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sxp16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your positive review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria - Sorrento!

My warmest regards
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel for six nights, unfortunately for the room we had, this hotel is almost perfect, if location is what you are looking for this is it. This hotel is part of a chain of the Leading Hotels of the World and certainly a five star hotel. The grounds were just incredible. We did not spend much time at the pool but it was just beautiful and they also served lunch right there. The breakfast room was just beautiful, it was overlooking the ocean and there was a pianist playing every morning. The food was more than excellent, a very big selection of both European and American buffet style breakfast. The breakfast room led to a beautiful outdoor balcony where drinks were served in the evenings. As well this hotel had an elevator going straight to the port, which was where most of the tours left from, it was easy access to the beaches, some restaurants and shops. Everything was so convenient. The staff at the hotel was very courteous. The view we had asked for was supposed to be ocean view but it was more of a side view, which was a mixture of ocean view and rooftop view of another hotel, however we did not spend much time inside so this really did not bother us. One VERY BIG disappointment was the room we were given. I must admit that the room was very clean, however not very comfortable. The bed was on another level and the ceiling was very low, I am not very tall and I touched the ceiling with my hand. We had to go downstairs to the bathroom and closet area. The staircase was very narrow and not much lighting, not very practical if going down in the middle of the night. Not an appropriate room for what we paid. We should have given us a regular room, like the one right next to us, the one they gave us looked like something leftover, that no one would want. I would have said that of all the hotels we stayed in during this vacation, that was our best stay, because it is indeed magnificent, but we still cannot get over the room they gave us. The only regret was not having complained and asked for them to change our room!

Room Tip: Make sure you you do not get a room with bedroom on second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxanne076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

i was taken here for our first couple only holiday since the children it was amazing so clean staff was so helpful and so clean i cant recommend it enough
it is on the door step to the town and you can eat at the hotel or in the town on the door step to the port so you can go anywhere
we had the hotel arrange a trip for us with our own private giude i highly recommend it this a hotel we shall keep for us only and hopefully return again

Room Tip: as this was a treat we had the orange suite witch was lovely but for another visit we would go to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bracken55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your lovely comment.

We are very happy that you appreciated our hotel and enjoyed your stay with us.

We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria - Sorrento!
My warmest regards
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed four nights in this hotel and loved every minute of it! When we got to the hotel they advised us they upgraded us to a suite with a view over the Bay of Naples. The room was gorgeous, very spacious and with a nice sized balcony. The view from our room looked like something out of a painting. I did wish the bathroom was a bit bigger, but really, I'm just being nitpicky with that one. It rained for the first two days of our stay, but we really didn't mind. The hotel has a number of rooms where you can just sit and relax, enjoy a cocktail and admire the view. They also had musicians playing almost all day long. There was even a piano player at breakfast. The breakfast was amazing, they have a chocolate almond cake that is delicious. There is an elevator that takes you down to the bay where you can take a boat to Capri or any of the other islands. The location is perfect, it is near all the shops and restaurants, but you really don't even have to leave the hotel. We enjoyed one day by the pool, which was nice and relaxing. The only complaint was that the pool was freezing. We had dinner at the hotel two nights, once at their more upscale restaurant and the food was very good. Our second dinner was at the restaurant by the pool and the food was delicious. I had a half lobster pasta dinner and it was so much I couldn't finish it. Thankfully my husband is a bottomless pit, and he was able to finish what I left. The staff here are delightful. At the end of the day, they will ask you "how was your day" and really want to hear the details. They go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and to make sure you are enjoying your stay. It is pricey, but truly worth every penny...you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your beautiful and detailed review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our services.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria - Sorrento!
My warmest regards
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We were staying in another hotel in Sorrento and having tried one restaurant on our first night were so disappointed with what Sorrento had to offer (all the restaurants were tourist traps) that we decided to see what else was available. We walked through the hotel grounds which are absolutely beautiful and having discovered the amazing views from the patio decided to eat here for the final two nights of our stay.

Everything was perfect. The excellent service on the patio for our pre-dinner drinks with nibbles, the wonderful service in the restaurant again overlooking the bay - we asked for a table at the front directly with a view and even though we weren't staying at the hotel they were happy to give this to us. The food was excellent - my husband eats for a living (nice job) and he was extremely impressed with the quality of the food. Yes, it is expensive. But you're not just paying for the food as it's the view and ambience that matter as well to us. At a restaurant in the town you get rushed in, ripped off, get grotty food and are then hit with a unreasonably high bill. At the Excelsior you can relax and be waited on all evening, be entertained by a pianist and generally watch the world pass by.

Next time we'll make sure that we stay here too!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WickedTraveller41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind review.

We are very happy that you tried our hotel Terrazza Bosquet Restaurant and you enjoyed it!
We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, hopely for a complete stay with us!

My warmest regards
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

My husband and I recently topped off our trip to Italy with three days in Sorrento. What a perfect place to end our trip. The hotel is fabulous, our room was gorgeous with a huge balcony over looking the Bay of Naples and the Sorrento harbor. We could watch the ships and boats all day long if we wanted to. The location is right in the heart of the shopping area, but privately set off the Piazza and amazingly noise and traffic free. Its a two minute walk to shops, restaurants and sites you may want to see.Great pool and a really nice staff who couldn't do enough for you. There is a nice breakfast, is it fabulous, no, but it was included in our room charge and was adequate. This place is not inexpensive, so not for the budget minded. I hope I can go back there sometime. We did take a day trip to Capri which was a mistake. It was so crowded and the cabs wanted 100 euros to tour the island for one hour. I don't blame them as they have limited time to make money but I would skip Capri unless you had plans to stay there over night or are in the know about what to do there. We did hire a cab and had a great ride to Positano and along the coast. That was memorable. If you can, I would stay at this hotel. You will love it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a direct Sea view and make sure you get a balcony. The rooms in the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your positive review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria - Sorrento!

My warmest regards
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,681 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
539 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria

Property: Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Address: Piazza Tasso, 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-regarded Hotel comprising several buildings & newer villas in a clifftop garden, with fine views of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Excelsior Vittoria
Grand Excelsior Vittoria
Sorrento Hotel Excelsior
Sorrento Excelsior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing