We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to leave” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hard to leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We had seen this hotel when visiting Sorrento during a cruise and had thought that it would be a great place to stay. It exudes exclusivity with a fantastic location in the middle of the town but down a long garden drive so well away from the hurly-burly. We had a classic sea view room which was extremely well appointed, with a large balcony and a superb view. We were on HB and the food was excellent although some might find some of the dishes a bit too adventurous. Staff extremely efficient and charming and we struggle to find anything to complain about - except that the outdoor pool water was too cold for comfort despite the good weather and the piano in the breakfast restaurant needs tuning! This is a hotel we very much hope we will stay at again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your lovely comment and suggestions.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon in Sorrento!
My warmest regards

Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    990
    84
    38
    17
    11
See reviews for
246
620
16
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wantagh, NY USA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

As part of a Tauck tour, we stayed at the Grand. Clean, quiet and attentive staff. The grounds are beautiful and you are right in the center of Sorrento. The ferry terminal is at the base of the hotel for easy connections to Capri, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxwelldrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment.
We are very happy that you appreciated our hotel and enjoyed your stay with us.
We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria - Sorrento!
Best Regards

Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. The location is great for getting around the amalfi coast and especially to Capri. The ferry leaves right in front of the hotel for Capri which is definitely worth going to. The hotel is in the center of Sorrento so you can easily walk around to stores and restaurants. The day concierge is wonderful and very helpful. This is a 5-star hotel but I would have rated it a 4-star in nyc. It is 100x better than the Excelsior in Rapallo as far as service goes but still could use some work in certain areas. For example the pool was closed since it had rained earlier that day and apparently nobody could be on the lounge chairs unsupervised when the sun reappeared? Seemed odd and we had no less than 3 employees tell us we needed to vacate the pool area. Another couple by the pool had the same issues. They did send a fruit basket to apologize for the whole ordeal though which was a nice gesture. The only other complaint I had would be room service. For a 5-star hotel, the menu was terrible. Small selection and only cold cuts after midnight (probably not a problem for the older clientele in the hotel). On a positive note the brunch was included in our room fee and had a nice selection/ambience.

Room Tip: Garden suite was spacious. large bedroom, livingroom, and 2 bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wests2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your nice review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with our services.
All your comments, both positive and negative, are very much appreciated and very important for us because they help us to focus on our areas of improvement. We are very pleased that you liked our hotel and the location but especially that you appreciated the service of our staff, despite the inconvenience during your last stay for which I sincerely apologize.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria - Sorrento!
My warmest regards

Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We travel extensively for both business and pleasure and found this hotel to be one of the best we've ever stayed in. Location is outstanding, the short walk up the beautiful road leads right to the heart of Sorrento. Views from our room were indescribable and the suite itself was perfect. What really makes this hotel stand out though is the level of service, from everyone at the hotel including the belldesk, front desk, concierge, servers and restaurant staff. All in all, a truly outstanding 5 Star experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJJR-48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your nice review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in the center of Sorrento and look forward to welcome you back at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria – Sorrento very soon!!
Best regards,

Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Wow! Hands down the only place to stay in Sorrento! Fantastic location , unreal panoramic views from a large corner room with balconies overlooking the sea and a huge patio with vies of the countryside... Just awesome! Great staff,very good food amazing state of the art gym , fantastic pool ! Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vimatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review.
We do also hope to have you back in the near future.

My warmest regards

Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We have been visiting the Excelsior Vittoria for more than 20 years and each visit is even better than the last. The hotel and its views are beautiful, but, as others have said, it is the staff who make it amazing. Nothing is too much trouble and everyone is welcoming, professional and friendly. We are so pleased to have found this fantastic place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear Mrs. Rebecca,

Thank you very much for your nice review.

We are really proud that you are coming back at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria every year for more then 20 years!!

We really consider you part of the Exvitt family.

choosing to spend your holidays at the Grand Hotel Exclesior Vittoria for so many years.

We look forward to welcome you back very soon!!

Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

The service at this hotel was impeccable- anything we needed, the concierge could help. Even when we needed to leave at 4:30 am to get to the airport on our last day, he personally made cappuccino for us. The suite was amazing - the balcony over the water was a lovely place to sit and relax. The room was quiet and comfortable. It was lovely to stroll through the gardens, and lunch was nice in the poolside restaurant. The location is ideal- with access to the main square and an elevator down to the ferry dock. I cannot say enough about this wonderful hotel and wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear Mrs. Elizabeth,

Thank you so much for your nice review.
We do also hope to have you back at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, Sorrento in the near future.

My warmest regards.
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria

Property: Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Address: Piazza Tasso, 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-regarded Hotel comprising several buildings & newer villas in a clifftop garden, with fine views of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Excelsior Vittoria
Grand Excelsior Vittoria
Sorrento Hotel Excelsior
Sorrento Excelsior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing