We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on 3 occasions now, and we just love it! It first became know to from the film Avanti, with Jack Lemon & Juliette Mills, The front of the hotel to the left which is the original building and also the wonderful terrace looking out to the Bay of Napoli. This is the reason we originally wanted to stay there. It's an old family run hotel, and we travelled down from Florence for our wedding anniversary 4 years ago. The hotel is set in the most beautiful grounds, with a huge swimming pool, orangery & a private lift through the rock down to the marina below. It has a wonderful place to eat by the pool during the daytime, and a bar so you can order a cocktail & have it brought over to your lounger. The staff are very friendly. We went back for a week 3 years ago and had an amazing stay. They know us now, and we always have the same room with stunning views across the bay, but I'm not going to say which one, in case it isn't available next time we go. We stayed there again the year before last, when we did a bit of a tour around southern Italy. As always we were extremely well looked after & remembered. The hotel is situated on the rocks, and there is a long driveway with big gates at the end, and a guard is always on duty. You walk through the gates, and you are in the middle of Sorrento. Next time we are in the neighbourhood, we will definately return for another stay. Many famous people have stayed here over the years, including Caruso. We think Billy Wilder the Director of Avanti has stayed here, and also Sophia Loren. Anyway, there is a lot of history to the place, and it is just wonderful.

Actually, we didn't stay here last year, as we went to Sicily, it was 2011, but there was no option to put that date in, and this hotel deserves my review. Must get around to it, much more quickly next time.

Room Tip: Try & get a room with a view of the bay, it is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzanneb255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very honored to read such a beautiful review and happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We are really very happy to read such a positive comment and we are pleased that you enjoyed, for the third time, you stay with us! Are this kind comment that encourages us to continue working with the same passion and dedication. We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at your summer home in Sorrento!!
My warmest regards,

Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

806 - 812 of 1,415 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013

I use this hotel for business. It is an amazing place. Family owned, it is the Gem of Sorrento, italy. The rooms vary in size and shape, and the hotel was built in 1800's. The entrance is amazing, and it has a lemon orchard, and a terrace with a view you only see in the movies. With Naples and Pompeii , in the distance. Rooms are done in blues, yellows or Reds, and the television is old and poor, but not why your there. It is in the heart of Sorrento, with a myriad of shops and restaurants al around. Pay the extra and ensure you get a room with a view. Prices include breakfast, but are on the high end. Summer is $600 or higher per night.

Room Tip: PAy for the water view room. Garden rooms are small, but nice. Filed with sunshine in mornings. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter747_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review, and we look forward to welcome you back at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria soon!
My warmest regards,

Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Fabulous property with breath taking views, large ocen front rooms overlooking Mt. Vesuvius and Naples. 5 minute walk to the ferry to Capri and a 5 minute walk to the town of Sorrento.
Great daily breakfast. One of our favorites in all of Italy!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our property in all its aspects: from the location to the service.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria - Sorrento!

my warmest regards,

Guido Fiorentino

________________________________________

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

I was sure I had found paradise when I arrived at this hotel, and it was confirmed as a sipped the freshly squeezed orange juice that i was offered as I checked in that day. Here is a lush diamond inside busy, bustling, crowded Sorrento. It is truly old world elegance, from the pristine rooms to the tuxedoed staff. Richly colored flowers and trees dot the property, and you truly feel miles from anywhere while staying at this hotel. The smell of the orange and lemon trees on the property permeate the air. The breakfast buffet was elaborate, and included wonderful pastries, omelets cooked to order, bacon, juices and coffee. It is served in a beautiful room with gorgeous frescoes on the ceiling. Each evening we enjoyed our dinners outside, where we could watch the talented chefs prepare our dinners inside of their outdoor kitchen. Everything we ate was delicious and was clearly made from scratch. Our favorite way to end the evening was to sit on the outdoor terrace overlooking the bay of Naples and Mt. Vesuvius and listen to the piano player as we sipped a glass of wine. And the next morning we were eager to swim in the beautiful swimming pool, where we were spoiled but the polite staff who were ready to wait on us. Although it feels secluded, outside the hotel are the hotels and shops of Sorrento. But why would you ever bother to leave the property??

Room Tip: Spurge on a room with a terrace overlooking the bay if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1travelerof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your beautiful review!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your first experience a Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria - Sorrento and that you had a nice stay with us!
We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

My warmest regards
Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I am writing this review for two reasons: 1) Because there is not much written about Sorrento at this time of year (Xmas through New Years) and 2) For the fabulous experience we had here on New Year's eve (also not much written about the availability of options for New Years Eve). We didn't stay at the hotel, but happened by it on the way to the train station on the way to Pompeii. The entrance is barred by road gate to prevent the casual visitor. The promenade to the hotel entrance is beautifully lit and makes a nice stroll in of itself. If you are ok with spending a little for a special experience ($240pp), this is it. The evening started at 7 pm with a trio (piano, cello and violin) in an atrium area. The lavishly decorated dining room contained a raise stage where dueling grand pianos serenaded us for the evening meal. Most of the food was based off of seafood (which is the typical fare of the areas). The choices were imaginative and delicious! The evening went on after the fireworks with jazz dancing to the wee hours.

Sorrento was fantastic for this time of year in the world. Temperature was high 50's F throughout. Pompeii is a great place to visit in the cool air and allows you to wander minus the heat. Visits to the Amalfi coast was easy with none of the usual summer (maddening traffic). Highly recommend this as a destination.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Thunderdogct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your very nice review and are happy that you enjoyed New Year's at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria - Sorrento!! And we are already looking forward to welcoming you very soon!!
My warmest regards,

Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We chose this hotel for the location and weren't disappointed. It is right in the center of town.

Positives: the hotel has beautiful, old world charm. The staff are fantastic and so helpful. Whatever we needed, they were quick to provide and in a friendly manner. The concierge was very helpful and gave us several great restaurant choices for lunch and dinner.The views from the terrace are breathtaking over the bay. The spa was great. Sorrento is an amazing city, and the hotel is the perfect place to take full advantage of it.

Negatives: the floors are not carpeted so that you can hear the guests above you walking around (in our case it seemed like either young children or a sports team based on the non-stop movement until after 11pm some nights). If you stay here, request a top floor room, if possible.

Overall a great stay in a beautiful city. For anyone questioning Sorrento at Christmas time, we vote that it is a great time to visit. The town was lively and lit up for the season, and it was very festive. The only knock on the hotel was the noise from above.

Some restaurants that we liked there were: L'Antica Trattoria (beautiful restaurant, amazing pasta), Zintonio (very relaxed environment, reasonable prices) and Tasso Ristorante (great pizza and pasta).

Room Tip: go for a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelwithkids_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear Sirs,

We thank you for your comments and we are happy that you overall enjoyed your stay and liked our hotel.
We apologize for the noise you report and we can inform you that in these month we are doing renovation work also to avoid this type of issue.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria - Sorrento!
Best regards,

Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We arrived in Sorrento for the last three days of a 12 day Girl's Trip to Europe. AAA had booked us at the Art Hotel Gran Paradiso which was up high overlooking Sorrento and the Mediterranean. We arrived via the train from Naples which was like an above ground Subway. We all seven had to stand the whole ride with all of luggage! We had a driver pick us up and take us up to the hotel. We were so glad to finally be in this picturesque place for some relaxing down time at the end of our wonderful vacation. The man at the desk said he was so sorry but they had over booked and would gladly put us down at the Michelangelo. They treated us to lunch while we discussed. We decided to have them take us down there to check it out. It was NOT the caliber of hotel we had been staying in and was no where near the level of the Paradisio. So we refused. That meant we were on our own according to their policy. So we headed into town to shop and make several calls back to the states to our AAA agent with no avail. At around 9:00 pm we went to a small trattoria called Trattoria Chantecler. The precious men in there helped us and let us use their phone/fax machine to make calls. We used our ipad and iphones to search for hotels. We had passed a wonderful looking place while walking down town called Excelsior Vittoria. I ended up being the nicest hotel in Sorrento. We called them and they had the three rooms we needed. We checked in after 10pm and the took us to our rooms. We felt like the girls in the recent movie "Montecarlo" we had truly died and gone to heaven and the Lord had answered our prayers and given us a place to stay. Our room overlooked to breathtaking marina, the Mediterranean and Mt. Vesuvius. We can not say enough about the staff at the EV!!! They quickly learned our names and each of our wished was their command! The led us to the best restaurants where we had the best meals of our trip. They were kind and very also very handsome! We were supposed to take a day trip on a bus the next day along the Amalfi Coast, but with our hotel drama from the day before we decided to just sit by the pool and relax. The pool was amazing with these cool seats that had jets that you could turn on. The place to eat by the pool was outstanding with a brick pizza oven. We had to keep pinching ourselves! This was by far the best part of our trip because of our stay at the Excelsior Vittoria. On a day trip to Capri they suggested for us to eat at Il Riccio and it was off the charts! In Ana Capri on a cliff overlooking the water right by the Blue Grotto. The food was amazing and you could use their suntan chairs and cabanas after you ate. We took a swim in the Mediterranean that changed our lives! We would recommend the Excelsior Vittoria to anyone!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind review, we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria and that it helps to make your holiday memorable. We all look forward to welcome you back very soon!!
Best Regards

Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,768 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
981 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria

Address: Piazza Tasso, 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £280 - £594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-regarded Hotel comprising several buildings & newer villas in a clifftop garden, with fine views of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Excelsior Vittoria
Grand Excelsior Vittoria
Sorrento Hotel Excelsior
Sorrento Excelsior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing