We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regal Headquarters for Amalfi Coast sojourn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Regal Headquarters for Amalfi Coast sojourn”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Our visit to Italy's Costa Amalfitana was tricky because there are so many places to visit you get confused as to where to stay or where to simply make day trips. We chose Sorrento-- a lovely spot in the middle of the action with an active city center. A very well-traveled friend led us to the Hilton Sorrento Palace--which did have a great view atop the hills overlooking the bay-- and that's where the charm ended for us. It's probably a great value for families (we saw a lot of them at the breakfast buffet) but the rooms are stark, as is the lobby decor and we checked out after a day and ended up here after reading rave reviews online. We were lucky that the delightful desk manager accommodated us despite being booked. From that moment on it was la Dolce Vita in this 5-star, aristocratic spot which is part of the Leading Hotels of the World and a hub of celebrities since the Fiorentino family opened the opulent palace in 1834. The views of the Bay of Naples and Mt Vesuvius are expansive, the lush gardens and an uber convenient elevator cut into the hill whisks you from the port directly to the hotel. It was welcome relief after de boarding the ferry from Capri one late afternoon. The hotel is set right in the city center so you walk out into restaurants and shops--if you ever want to leave the place. The included breakfast in a majestic room with a pianist lulling you into a feast of gorgeous treats had us lingering every morning. The staff even sent us a gift of wine and fruit to our room and arranged a fabulous dinner in their gourmet rooftop restaurant to celebrate our wedding anniversary. This was our home base for day trips to Positano, Capri, Ravello, Mt Vesuvius and so much more and we couldn't wait to put our heads on the down-filled pillows and luxurious bed linens after a long day of touring. Next time we'll book way in advance and look for special promotions which they offer. Ciao..a la prossima!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ileana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,036
    86
    38
    17
    11
See reviews for
256
643
18
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England of course !
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My wife visited this hotel 34 years ago with her parents, and always wanted to return. We upgraded to a Sea View Deluxe and what a masterstroke it was, I could have sat at that balcony all day watching the harbour comings and goings, the view is just awesome with a backdrop of vesuvius. Perfect for drinking a bottle of champagne watching the sunset.

The room was stunning, huge and very clean, everything that you could expect from a hotel of this quality. Wifi works throughout the hotel, it works and is fast, even poolside.

Breakfast is in one of the most impressive breakfast rooms that you will find anywhere in the world, with a choice to suit all, all with a pianist playing as you eat.

Location.... beat this in Sorrento! walk out of the serenity of the hotel straight into the hustle and bustle of the main square.

This is truly a Grande Dame of hotels everything 5 star and I will have to search very hard to find somewhere to top this. It is not cheap, expect to pay for exclusivity but that is what you get.

I hope that I will return, Thank you to all the staff at Grand Excelsior Vittoria.

Room Tip: A sea view room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank daneworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This is one of my favorite hotels in the world... the location is right in the heart of Sorrento but the grounds make you feel like you are tucked away in the country. The rooms are hand painted with simple elegant touches. The pool area has the best restaurant and service with several choices of rose wine. There is even a glassed off area of ruins next to the modern pool (the pool reminds me of a modern roman bath, especially having visited Pompeii the day upon checking in). The front desk woman was a bit snooty but the concierge was friendly and helpful. We loved the elevator in the cliff to drop down to the ferries (to Capri or Amalfi). Swim at the ocean below or by the pool all day and then venture into the bustling streets for dinner and gelato just outside the gates of the hotel. The views are other worldly from the bar/restaurant next to the lobby. I would stay here as long as I could on my next visit.

Room Tip: We had mountain side which is so beautiful to view the gardens and the city... but I am sure the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in Oct 2012 for 4 days. We got there at night, knew it was going to be beautiful but when we woke in the morning we were starstruck! Our room was so beautiful and so Italian, the decor, the fabrics, the furniture, and then to top it all off was the terrace, which was almost the size of the room itself overlooking the Bay of Naples and beyond. Very old world charm. Absolutley stunning! Breakfast in the am is inside a grand ballroom, buffet, and just incredible. The service is 5 star, the property itself you could spend a day walking thru and around, the olive groves, lemon trees and gardens. This is a treat you will never forget! By the way, you can get on the boat to Capri right down on the beach in front of the hotel

Room Tip: Don't be near the restaurant, but being on the same floor is a great location with the best vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lalady1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your beautiful comments.
We are very glad you enjoyed our property and services.
We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria very soon!

My warmest regards,
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I have stayed in many a hotel over the years in Europe and service is of utmost importance along with respect from staff. I have to say this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in Europe. From the beautiful décor , views , the polite staff were very impressive. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the area. The gardens are enough to make you feel very relaxed , the spa had the most amazing services. The food. The breakfast room is very beautiful with a grand piano. The hotel is not of Modern deco which I usually choose above period hotels, however I would definitely give this hotel 10 out 10 for the whole experience. Well done to the manager of this hotel for having the best service I have experienced in years. Thank you for my stay. Andrianna

Room Tip: Room 143, nice big balcony and view

Room Tip: Room 143, nice big balcony and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fardoulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your beautiful comment.
We are more than happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we certainly share your appreciation with all our employees!
We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Grand Hotel excelsior Vittoria very soon!

Sincerely Yours,
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

When you are within the confines of the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, you feel like you are on a remote island, tucked away from all distractions with only the looming presence of Mount Vesuvius as a reminder of the outside world. Yet walk outside the gates and you are in the heart of Sorrento - free to explore the side streets and dine and shop at your leisure. It really is the best of both worlds and allows you to combine relaxing by the pool (and it is indeed an excellent pool) with strolling around a bustling tourist destination. You can even get a spot of culture without having to venture over the Bay, when we stayed, the local Art Museum staged a Dali exhibition and it was excellent.

The hotel itself is marvellous. Whilst the interiors, dining and facilities are all world class - the real hallmark of this hotel's quality is its standard of service. The staff combine an easy charm, warmth and friendliness with a laser-like attention to detail. They'll remember your previous drinks orders, adapt menus at a moment's notice for any dietary requirements and every single member of staff (I do not exaggerate) knows your name from day one.

It isn't cheap (just wait until you see the wine menu!) - but if any hotel can command world class prices - it is this one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing over the Bay of Naples for the perfect view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for taking time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria!
Best regards,
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

From the moment that you enter the iron gates and drive past the hotel's private park, you have arrived at a truly beautiful and luxurious "resort" in the very heart of the charming "village" of Sorrento. The hotel has wonderfully kept it's old-world charm while graciously providing modern touches such as Wi-Fi that actually works and is fast. Our room perfectly combined new contemporary furnishing with several antiques. Everything was freshly painted and very clean. The views are stunning and each day brings a renewed sense of peacefulness. While the hotel's private panoramic elevator will take you to the pier for day trips to Capri, Ischia, Positano, Naples and the Amalfi Coast, I'm not sure that you would ever want to leave this little slice of heaven! We did venture to Capri to visit friends one day but missed the opportunity to spend more time at the hotel pool. Once you check-in, you may not want to leave. Breakfast is served with soft live piano music with a wide choice of selections; there is even a chef that perfectly prepares your eggs or omelets! The spa is a good choice for a totally relaxing massage. Prior to arriving in Sorrento, we had just visited Venice and Florence and were surprised that many of the shops here were opened until at least 10pm and some as late as midnight -- prices were very reasonable and it was very clear that Sorrento likes having its annual summer tourists. You should opt for a room or suite facing the Bay of Naples and you will be overjoyed with your choice. Stay for a week and take advantage of the relaxing setting; you will not be dis-appointed! The entire staff was friendly and when we complimented our housekeeper for going that extra step in a small request, she commented that "it is my job to make you happy" -- every single employee must feel this way as they all provide excellent service!

Room Tip: Rooms and suites facing the Bay of Naples has stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your beautiful words and detailed comments!
I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our service.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria - Sorrento!

Sincerely Yours

Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria

Property: Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Address: Piazza Tasso, 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-regarded Hotel comprising several buildings & newer villas in a clifftop garden, with fine views of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Excelsior Vittoria
Grand Excelsior Vittoria
Sorrento Hotel Excelsior
Sorrento Excelsior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing