We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel: a highlight in itself” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Hotel: a highlight in itself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed in average hotels in Rome and were pleasantly surprised at the satisfying experience at staying at the Grand Excelsior Vittoria. Earlier review described the gardens and privacy well. The hotel becomes an oasis from the sea of tourists visiting Sorrento on a daily basis. It was fun sight see during the day and escape to the peacefulness of the hotel at the end of the day.
The hotel held many pleasures such as: 1) ability to take a private elevator to the level where you take ferries to the islands of Capri or Ischia. You buzz the door on the return trip and the hotel staff will buzz you in. Otherwise you have to walk up or pay a euro to use a public lift. Dining options are at the street level off the marina. 2) a talented piano player plays in the mornings on weekends as you breakfast. In a sitting room off the door to the outdoor patio, they have musicians play in the evenings. The guitarist was so enjoyable that we sat and had a cocktail in the hotel. 3) Buffet breakfast was tasty with plenty of options including a made to order omelet. Other hotels in Rome included eggs as the breakfast but they were disappointedly runny. The Belgium waffles were to die for. 4) While it was too cool for us to swim and there is not a Jacuzzi, we took to sitting outside and watching the sunset from the pool bar. The bartender and staff were friendly and their snacks, "spuntina," were the best: Italian potato ships and snack mix.5) While the hotel is a luxurious the one, the staff are friendly. A waiter to whom the staff lovingly referred to as "Mr. Bean" was particularly endearing.

Room Tip: Our room was off the garden with a balcony. We never heard any noise from guests or otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AZhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting this beautiful review!
We are all glad you enjoyed our property, with its rooms, the breakfast and we are more than pleased to read your feedback regarding our staff!

We really hope to welcoming you back at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria in a not a distance future!
Warmest regards

Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    990
    84
    38
    17
    11
See reviews for
246
620
16
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Not our usual type of hotel (usually opt for more modern) but were very pleasantly surprised with it. Staff all helpful & location superb. Spent many hours just sitting on our room's balcony watching all the boats coming & going. Very tranquil in the bustle of Sorrento. Restaurant was very good & beautiful views over Bay of Naples. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sarah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and positive review.
I'm very happy you liked and appreciated every aspect of our property and I'm already looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria!

Best regards
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

The Junior Suite views and amenity are worth the extra. This hotel has superior service but a gentle and happy style. The breakfast room, restaurant, live music, lift to the ferries, location and gym were all highlights.
Suggest outside meals at Il Buco, Il Tasso, Donna Sofia and best pizzas from Franco. Use the ferries to visit Naples, Capri, Ischia, Positano & Amalfi & the train for Pompeii & Herculaneum.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim6851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very kind review!
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay in Sorrento and we really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria!

Sincerely Yours
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel is quite possibly the best in all of the Amalfi Coast. We had two suites, both were amazing. Direct views of the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius. The hotel staff was 100% attentive, food was great. The breakfast alone was so extensive, you did not need lunch. The desserts at breakfast could put in 10 pounds. Beautiful pool (though not heated). Best of the best, is the location. It is directly in the center of Sorrento. It also has an elevator directly to the ferries below that can take you to Capri, etc. The Concierge arranged private drivers, boats, etc.

If you are looking for a high quality vacation, this is it.

Room Tip: Pay for the ocean view and get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and positive review.
I'm very happy you liked and appreciated every aspect of our property.
I'm already looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria!

Best regards

Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We have dinner at the restaurant of Excelsior Vittoria since it was rated by Travel and Leisure to be the best view in Sorrento. The service is fantastic. The view to die for but the food needs improvement. The bean soup is very salty and the Sea Bass entree is not the best quality for a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojonyc464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.
We are glad that you appreciated our service and location.
On the other hand, I do apologize for the inconveniences encountered; please rest assured that I will immediately follow up in order that this kind of issue never re-occur.

We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back!
Best regards
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, CT
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Excelsior Vittoria was one of the loveliest hotels we've ever stayed in. On entering the lobby we were instantly greeted by the welcoming and very attentive staff. Check-in was simple and our room was beautiful. As others have stated, the balcony view over the Bay of Naples with Mt. Vesuvius in the distance is breathtaking.
We stayed for three nights and felt enveloped in old world charm, simple elegance and panoramic views. There are beautifully appointed common rooms and outdoor patios that instantly transport you to another time. The hotel is a resort as well with a beautiful pool area, park-like grounds and a spa. The location is perfect for strolling around town.
The breakfast buffet was terrific and made even more enjoyable with live piano music in a spectacularly beautiful room with amazing views. We also experienced a tasting menu dinner that was truly the work of an artist.
Treat yourself - life is short and this hotel is worth the splurge!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 001LDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your beautiful review!

I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I will be also glad to relay your comment to the entire team.
We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria!

Warmest regards
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernardsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
205 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

This beautifully accented and centrally located hotel offers outstanding views of Mt Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples. Centrally located to the Old Town for fun dining and shopping options. The hotel offers and elevator from the outside terrace down to the marina which is very convenient for catching ferries to Capri, Positano and Amalfi. The staff is efficient and extremely helpful , we had a suite which was lovely and spacious. Everything is clean and kept beautiful . Breakfast is served in a lovely dining room with a person playing the piano during breakfast . The wall of windows open up to a beautiful view of the sea below . They have a spa and a wonderful pool area and gardens. Loved this 5 star resort and would definitely come back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 01ritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your beautiful review!

I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate all our services and Staff.
Next year we will celebrate our 180th anniversary, all in the same family, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back!

Warmest regards
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria

Property: Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Address: Piazza Tasso, 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-regarded Hotel comprising several buildings & newer villas in a clifftop garden, with fine views of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Excelsior Vittoria
Grand Excelsior Vittoria
Sorrento Hotel Excelsior
Sorrento Excelsior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing