We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria evokes luxury travel at its best-- celebrating its 180th anniversary this year, you can easily see why this hotel has been frequented by jet-setters for nearly 200 years. The stunning suites are classically appointed and the terraces are to die for. Dinner at Terrazza Bosquet was outstanding. I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlcuratolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review!
We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and especially that you appreciated our room and the Terrazza Bosquet restaurant.
We really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back.
Warmest regards,
Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

682 - 688 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

We were blown away with service and welcome in every sense. This hotel is located in perfect center of town but far from congestion and noise. An oasis in which you can relax and have spectacular views. We were in room 549, suite with large terrace in corner looking up the coast. Concierge is best and dedicated.

Room Tip: 549-junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind review!

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Excelsior Vittoria and that you appreciated your room and our staff.
We are already looking forward of welcoming you back soon!
Sincerely yours,
Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Beautiful luxury hotel. Services is attentive and helpful. Meals are excellent. But be prepared for a noisy hectic surrounding. Boat launch off the backside of hotel which provides a 20 min ride to Capri, but also mean a lot of noise (tour buses dropping off large numbers, exhaust from boats, boat sounds horns all day and into the night). And then on front side of the property is a busy and crowded Sorrento town square. Lots of shops on the two streets off the square absolutely packed with people. If you want to be the heart of Sorrento and be in position to catch the closest shuttle possible to Capri from a beautiful hotel this is the place. If you are looking for a home base to tour the Positano to Amalfi coast line I would suggest staying an hour up the road in Positano and catching a slightly longer boat ride to Capri.

Room Tip: Double beds are two single pushed together and on the short side (feet hanging off the end) and I am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review!
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our Staff.
We really hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon!
Sincerely yours,
Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Lovely hotel in centre of town, very handy for shopping, eating and boat tours. But as soon as you walk into main gate it is a haven of peace the walk to hotel entrance through the gardens heavily scented of orange blossom. Nice room with large terrace, only down side was no tea and coffee facilities in the room. A private lift down to the port. The hotel organised a driver to take us on the Amalfi coast tour which was very good. The best thing about hotel are the staff, very friendly, helpful, informative.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linda227124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind review!
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially that you appreciated our staff!
We rare already looking forward to welcoming you back to the Excelsior Vittoria soon!
Warmest regards,
Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is one of the best hotel experiences that we have had. The service was exceptional, the rooms were beautifully appointed, the amenities were just right, the food in the dining room was very good, and best of all-the views were unparalleled! We stayed in the oldest section of the hotel and you felt like you were stepping back in a time of elegance--however, very modern time conveniences included as well (no old timey bathroom experiences!) The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the blackout shades can fool you into a very long night's rest if you are not careful. The full buffet breakfasts included an omelet station and a live pianist playing softly. Our room overlooked the sea and Mt. Vesuvius--hard to take your eyes off that!

Room Tip: We did not have a balcony room and that would have added even more to our experience. Definitely ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happytravelers025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for your beautiful review!
We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the site assigned.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you back to the Excelsior Vittoria soon!
Warmest regards,
Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We have just spent a wonderful week at this glorious hotel. The superb reviews we read before we went turned out to be true. All the staff are friendly, super-efficient and professional. The hotel is perfectly sited in central Sorrento but the walk through the gardens serves to make it quiet and secluded.
We had a first floor room (144) with a private terrace which was bliss and contained 2 huge, square, high-sided white cane chairs which were deliciously comfortable and perfect to drape oneself over after a busy day. Our huge bed was sumptuous and the pillows were the best I've ever had the pleasure to use.
Breakfasts were superb and the cappucini made with a double espresso set us up for each day.
Everything added up to the perfect holiday I had hoped to arrange for my husband.
It was just perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AngelXosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your beautiful review!
We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we make your holiday perfect!
We really hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria!

Best regards,
Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria is simply a charming, elegant, jewel of a hotel overlooking the bay of Sorrento/Naples.

The classic sea view deluxe we had was quaint a d spacious enough considering we didn't spend hours upon end in the room, comfortable, modern with traditional Italian gold art deco & romanesque decor with a luxury bathroom and the most spectacular view of the harbour with Mount Vesuvius in the distance.

My first complaint, however, (which doesn't apply directly to the hotel) would be that hotel guests didn't appear to have the etiquette to match the elegance or ambience of the hotel and constantly made noise during the early hours of the morning by dropping heavy goods onto the floor (above our room) and slamming doors. The large group of Amercians were especially to blame. The reception staff were efficient enough in dealing with my first request for the guests in the room next to ours to keep the noise down at approximately 2:00am one morning.

Secondly, prior to the last day of our honeymoon, we reserved a table during breakfast time for lunch the following day in the Vittoria restaurant. The following morning we were told that we were unable to have lunch in the restaurant due to a private event. I was disappointed in this and asked to speak to the Head Waiter, who, upon meeting us asked me "what is your problem?!", to which I responded that we should have been informed about the private event upon request for a reservation. He then stated "I am trying to help you, so you should appreciate our flexibility and if you wish to have lunch in the restaurant, you have exactly 1 hour". We later found out that we were allowed a further 1.5 hours with which to finish our lunch. I brought this matter to the attention of the hotel manager who kindly offered us a small amount of compensation, however, I felt at the time that this was not sufficient considering the substantial amount of money we had already spent on the honeymoon as well as for dinners most nights in the hotel restaurant. I was impressed with the manner that the Manager dealt with my complaint though.

We will return to stay at this plush hotel, where most of the staff are incredibly helpful and efficient, but I strongly hope that the Head Waiter brushes up his people skills.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentFlyerHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we make your honeymoon special.
Thank you for your useful comments that we will take for sure into consideration. We are really sorry and I do a apologize for the inconvenience experienced regarding the breakfast.

We are already looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria in a near future!

My warmest regards,
Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,769 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
981 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria

Address: Piazza Tasso, 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £271 - £596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-regarded Hotel comprising several buildings & newer villas in a clifftop garden, with fine views of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Excelsior Vittoria
Grand Excelsior Vittoria
Sorrento Hotel Excelsior
Sorrento Excelsior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing