We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection Perfection Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Ranked #3 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfection Perfection Perfection”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I have been putting off writing this review because to be honest I can't think of anything to say apart from TOTAL PERFECTION. I am not sure this helps anyone reading the review - but is all that really needs to be said. This hotel was excellent. All the staff were wonderful. Our room overlooking the bay was astounding. All the food in all the restaurants was amazing. The position of the hotel was just out of this world. An oasis of green. lemon groves, swimming pool (candle lit at night) all of which you strolled through for about 2 mins to get to the busy hub of Sorrento. If you want to stay in the best hotel in the world, with a breathtaking view over the Bay of Naples, near to the centre of an atmospheric Italian town full of cafes/restaurants/ fashion shops/craft shops stay at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria. I hope to return as often as humanly possible.

Room Tip: Any room overlooking the Bay is breathtaking. Boats leaving for various locations come and go throu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Marie,
Thank you for your kind review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated every aspect of our property, from the location to the service provided!
We’re really proud that you’ve experienced a perfect holiday: that’s our reward.
We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria in a near future!
Sincerely yours
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,113
    89
    39
    17
    11
See reviews for
282
680
23
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Even if you go back 100 times this view will always leave you breathless, as if time stopped and you were suspended between the sky and the sea! Warm and friendly welcome, elegant room with a view on one of the most beautiful bay in the world, an aperitif on the terrace with live music and dinner in a Michelin-star restaurant with a sommelier who gives you an unforgettable impression, smells and flavors that you will bring with you forever! An unforgettable weekend, the perfect experience! The price? Worth everything you spend!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view on the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lalla1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review!
We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and especially that you appreciated our room, location and the Terrazza Bosquet restaurant.
We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. If you'd like to stay updated on the hotel's events and news, please follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

Warmest regards,
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Myself andy my wife stayed at the hotel for 1 week in June 2014. The stay was excellent with the service by the hotel staff exceptional. The hotel has a fantastic location in the centre of Sorrento and fabulous views of the Bay of Naples. We both would have no hesitation in staying at the hotel again but next time it would be outside school holiday time. The pool area and the pool time was ruined by the number of school children in and around the pool and did not make for a relaxing time at some points.
One other point to note is that the access to the internet was very hit and miss although for me to get away from Emails etc was not a problem it caused my wife some issues not been able to access facebook.

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of the bay of Naples and to sit on our balcony with a refreshing drink in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRANCIS D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your kind review!
We’re happy that you enjoyed your holiday at the Excelsior Vittoria and fully appreciated our location and service.
We will take for sure your useful comments into consideration, so that next time you’ll come you’ll be completely satisfied!
Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Excelsior Vittoria,
Warm regards
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

A very good friend of mine thought this hotel to be the best in which he had ever stayed.......and he'd stayed in quite a few, worldwide! It took me 20 years to try it out and I was slightly intrigued as to why reviewers did not rate it as the Number 1 hotel in the area. It turned out to be a real pleasure to find the answer to that particular question.

Quite a bit has been said elsewhere so I will try to be brief:-

Location and Provenance: Situated on the site of the former villa of Caesar Augustus (arguably the greatest of all the Roman Emperors) right in the centre of Sorrento. Owned by the same family for 5 generations. Railway station, ferries to Capri, Ischia etc., retail therapy, restaurants all within easy walking distance. Need I say more?

Buildings and Gardens: The hotel is in three distinct blocks on the top of a cliff overlooking the harbour and looks to have been developed at different times since its original opening in 1834. The gardens make up the approach to the hotel and are a joy to be in. Do note that the hotel has a private lift down to the harbour area; it will save you a considerable climb.

Access: The hotel arranged for us to be collected and returned to the airport (E130 for each journey) and this process worked very smoothly. The railway also runs from Naples to Sorrento. It's cheap but the rolling stock is more functional than stylish and it does get busy with pickpockets an ever-present menace in over-crowded situations.

Security: The Hotel security is good with access to the hotel being controlled at the rather grand-looking gate. The surrounding area is safe to walk, even at night, but do be careful in potentially overcrowded areas eg queues, buses and trains.

Leisure Facilities: The swimming pool is perhaps more for the family than somebody looking to train for the Olympics but it is in a beautiful garden setting and is very well-serviced by attentive pool staff, a bar, the L'Orangerie restaurant and toilets. This is not a hotel for sea swimmers although there are private beaches closeby in Sorrento. A word of warning: be careful when sitting around the pool in July. I got heavily sunburned even though I always sat in the shade! The hotel will also arrange upmarket motorboat excursions and the one that we had was good fun and very relaxing.

Rooms: We were in Room 649 with a balcony and sea view. Excellent; I'm attaching a picture of Vesuvius taken from our window. Sorry about the seagull in the foreground, they get everywhere!

Wifi: Free in all of the rooms and around the pool (possibly other places as well) and was good enough to drive our tablets and mobile phones.

Service: So good that at times it could be construed as pushy in the hands of a small minority of staff. The Concierge Desk has to be experienced to be believed. It completely drives the hotel and is the best that I have ever used.

Restaurants: We tried all three but breakfast in the Vittoria was definitely the best. In my view, this is the biggest problem area for the hotel. The evening meals were very good but they were expensive and you are within walking distance of a whole host of restaurants offering food of equivalent quality for less than half the price.

Clientale: Very international whilst we were there (mature and families mainly) and I sensed, perhaps wrongly, a moving population where people perhaps stayed for a few nights and then moved on. I would not choose this hotel if I was looking to socialise.

Disabled Access: Despite its slopes and cliff-top position my sense was that any issues arising were manageable. Even if all else fails, the Concierge Desk will not!

All-in-all, my wife and I very much enjoyed our visit. I can understand why some people might not find the hotel atmosphere to their liking...........it does take a little adjustment but it's well worth the effort.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view will be stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ygor705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your detailed and beautiful review!
It is with great pride that we read your feedback about the hotel and its facilities. We’re happy that you particularly appreciated our Concierge staff. Be sure we’ll extend to them your comments!
We believe in our product and our location and we’re constantly improving it.
Hope that it will take you shortly to come back to the Excelsior Vittoria and that your expectations will be even exceeded!
Warm regards
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Amazing, first class hotel, service, rooms, food and a privilege to stay there! Ideally situated for the town of Sorrento, this is the jewel in the sorrento crown! The terrace is fabulous for that special occasion, with matching wines to accompany each course! The wine flows too, with the wine waiters knowing just when to top up your glass!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Dear Keith,
thank you for your nice review!
We’re very happy that you enjoyed your sparkling week end at the Excelsior Vittoria!
It’s an honour to be considered a jewel by our guests, who we really believe to be the real kings and queens of our little castle on the Sorrento coast.
We really hope to welcome you back in the nearer future!

Warm regards
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The second part of our trip to this beautiful Italian coast line was the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria. Make no mistake this is a very good hotel and it would be churlish to try and make up too many negative points just for the sake of it - so I wont ! Instead I will repeat what has already been said in previous reviews. Great location , great staff , great overall condition , great views. This hotel oozes Edwardian/Victorian splendour and if that's not your bag seek a modernistic corporate non entity somewhere else ! No this hotel is an honest to goodness ocean liner of a hotel of previous days - it does very well what it says on the tin, that is quality and class. Of course there are a few little niggles if you hunt around hard enough but for us its an excellent hotel and long may it continue to do what it does so well - the Tymon-fields

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaun t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Dear guests,
thank you for your kind review
we’re really happy that you appreciated our historic hotel and the typical atmosphere one can breathe here.
We really hope to welcome you back to the Excelsior Vittoria soon!

Warm regards
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This was my second stay at the Excelsior Vitoria and it was even better than the first. My husband, daughter and I stayed for 4 nights July 2 - 5th on our trip through Italy. We had a beautiful suite with a fabulous balcony and amazing view. The staff is wonderful! We arrived mid day and our room wasn't ready. The check in staff made accommodations for a small room so we could change and go to the pool. Everything is lovely, from the gardens to the pool, location and restaurants all wonderful. First class staff - greetings by name, very accommodating. I highly recommend this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: recommend a room with a full balcony worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, 19 January 2015
Dear Patty,
Thank you for your beautiful review and the loyalty!
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated all our services especially our Staff. I will be pleased to share your wonderful comments with the entire team!
If you'd like to stay updated with the Excelsior Vittoria events and news, please follow us on Facebook and Twitter.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Sincerely
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,092 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
531 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria

Property: Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Address: Piazza Tasso, 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-regarded Hotel comprising several buildings & newer villas in a clifftop garden, with fine views of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Excelsior Vittoria
Grand Excelsior Vittoria
Sorrento Hotel Excelsior
Sorrento Excelsior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing