We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Nearby Hotels
US$270
US$225
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$402
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
US$345
US$338
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$481
US$451
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$222
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Bellevue Syrene(Sorrento)
US$1,067
US$892
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$182
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$316
US$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$107
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cesare Augusto(Sorrento)
US$220
US$213
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,453)
Filter reviews
1,453 results
Traveller rating
1,281
102
38
20
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,281
102
38
20
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmichelin star restaurantbosquet restaurantconcierge deskbay of naplesprivate elevatorleading hotels of the worldpoolside restaurantthe main squareoverlooking the baypool staffamazing hotelour honeymoonmediterranean sealarge terracethe cliffbeautiful roomorange and lemon trees
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
983 - 988 of 1,453 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2009

Wow! What a beautiful property, truly one of the most amazing hotels in the world. I picked the Excelsior Vittoria because of it's status on the Conde Nast Gold List. I was not dissapointed in any way. The location is perfect, right on the cliff overlooking the bay of Naples where the ferry boats come in. There's even an elevator right at the marina to wisk you up to the hotel. On the city side it's right near the main shopping area in Sorrento. The staff was exceptional at check in and with helping us for restaurant reservations and travel arrangements. Parking is on site and free. The pool area is beautiful and the pool restaurant had nice food, you eat under a lemon grove. I just can't say enought about this place, I would highly reccomend it and on top of that it was a great value.

Well done Excelsior Vittoria

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redline325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

First, I am not writing a review of the hotel. We did not stay there. Just had drinks and a lunch. We were wandering around Sorrento looking for a nice place with a view to have drinks and then lunch. The day was so beautiful and the weather was perfect. We saw the picture post card lane leading to the hotel, lined with wonderful flowers and trees. We knew that it must look out over the port and that was appealing to us. There was a gate house with staff and I assumed that we would be queried about our having a room at the hotel, etc. Instead, the gateman invited us in and said that we certainly could stroll down to the hotel and find our way to the deck over the port and have drinks, etc. We did just that and found ourselves in one of the most beautiful hotels we have ever seen. The ballestraded terrace provided a birds eye view of the port, the harbor and the coastline back towards Naples. It was spectacular. Drinks/wine were offered and served in style with wonderful green ripe olives, peanuts and snack bits. We were treated as if we were paying guests at the hotel. The staff were highly professional, yet affable and fun to talk to. Later we went down to another deck under the terrace and had lunch. Great staff there as well. Starched white shirts, etc., but again fun to talk to and making every effort for us to have a great meal and view. There was a little turret jutting out a bit from the general area of the dining deck and we were offered the table out there. It was a real highlight of our trip to Italy. Joyce had the eggplant meal and I had duck breast. Both were wonderful to taste and while the eggplant portion was a bit small, the duck meal was a good size and cooked to perfection. Sitting on that deck, looking out over the port with such good food and drink was beyond sublime. We finished with expresso and limoncello. This is an exclusive hotel and so expected the experience to be a bit pricey which it was (90 euro for four drinks, two meals, two servings of limoncello and two expressos), but well worth it for the view, the relaxation and the experience. We felt that this was the real welcome to Italy.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2009

We were on our honeymoon and this was to be the highlight hotel wise as it was quite a splurge to stay in this hotel. We thought it was lovely and enjoyed the garden, the views from the terrace, the fantastic breakfast and the service. For the price we had a smallish room which was not big on drawers or practical in terms of where to put clothing. But it was lovely. One minor complaint is that the turndown maid would come by while we were still in the room around 630 or 700pm. The usual would be to come while the guest is out, and dinner is not until 730 or 800pm earliest. So in fact we would just take some new towels and not get the full clean up treatment which in retrospect, is not right for the high price. We were on the top floor so possibly they begin there and work there way down yet it was still wrong and we would feel awkward saying "come back" later but I regret that we did not. Positive note: they have an elevator right down to the ferry which was fabulous, and the walk to the little local train is only 10 mins. Location is very good.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shozgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2009

First of all, a little about ourselves. We have stayed at Reids in Madeira, The Botanico in Tenerife and The Sandpiper Inn, Barbados to name but a few.

This hotel is certainly 5 star. The check-in was fast and efficient, and we were welcomed with a cold drink.

We booked a Garden Suite0 requesting one with two bathrooms, and were given exactly what we asked for. The accommodation was well furnished, the decor excellent, and the 2 bathrooms were modern and up to date.

The housekeeping was excellent, clean sheets and towels every day, and nightly turn-down.

The Concierge was very helpful and organized a car and driver for us for a couple of trips, along with other useful information.

The Restaurant staff were excellent. The breakfast was adequate, but not the best we have had. We cannot comment on lunch, however with the exception of one evening, when we had cause to complain in the restaurant, the service and evening meals were extremely good. The set menu, as well as the A la Carte, was imaginative, and the set menu changed every day.

The Restaurant Manager was extremely obliging and he and his staff made the whole experience a pleasure, especially with the off menu flambe cooking that they did for us more than once - they (three of them enter), have won many competitions for this in Italy.

The bar and lounge area was cozy and intimate, and again the staff were fantastic, remembering you by name and even your preferred drink. The entertainment was very low-key and the canapes & after dinner chocolates were delicious.

This was our first trip to Italy, and will certainly not be the last. We we will definitely be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TerrysTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2009

Tell any hotel conneisseur you're looking for the best hotel in Sorrento and they will name this hotel- deservedly so. It has a fantastic location built into the cliff overlooking the Bay of Naples, and the staff could not be more helpful. The rooms are well proportioned and high quality. Breakfast is a fine affair, with everything you could want.

There are a couple of niggles to which the management should really turn their attention- any reported problem, whilst attended to efficiently is not always dealt with at once, whch is an irritation if you have to wait in your room until someone eventually turns up- more than once we had to ring down a second timeto get someone to attend quickly. There are no independent health club facilities. In a hotel of this class we should have expected a jacuzzi, possibly sauna etc, but the advertised SPA is really for beauty treatments only, (and these are expensive, though lovely). After a small debacle over room service which culminated in a formal complaint we were treated to a first class dinner in the fine restaurant which did make up for the problems, however, the remains of our unacceptable room service were not removed until mid morning the following day,despite at least two requests for this.

Finally, the hotel is not cheap-a small bottle of mineral water is 5 euros (£5 at the current exchange rate) but you do get what you pay for. I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel, and will stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sisgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews