We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really grand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Had the most spectacular breakfast here with the greatest view and wonderful parma ham, Manager Nicolino was caring very much about all clients>
Rolf, MB Paris

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RudyMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,343)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

877 - 883 of 1,343 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2010

My colleagues and I frequently travel to Europe several times a year and stay at 5-star hotels. We stayed here for 10 days in early december. The hotel is centrally located in the Piazza Tasso, had a charming old world decor with beautiful gardens, with views of the Sorrento harbor, but a building obstructed our views of the bay of Naples and Mt. Vesuvio.

At first glance the room seemed clean enough, but my room had a recurring problem with ants. I killed them on the couch, dressers and desk. The beds were uncomfortable.
The heating system in one of the rooms was broken and could not be controlled from the room. My colleague had to call the concierge to put the heat on in the room.

The bathrooms were tiny (6x8') and not luxurious at all. The tub had a glass enclosure halfway that defined the shower portion of the tub. If i dropped the soap, I had to open the shower door to have enough room to bend down and pick it up. When taking a shower, I had to use a pen to pry open the drain cover to allow the water to drain out instead of pooling around my ankles. All our rooms had a terrible musty odor eminating from the drains, which the housekeeping staff tried to cover up by firmly closely all the sink and tub drains daily. The sink fronts could have used a good cleaning. The controls on the towel warmer did not work. I was unable to get Wifi and was unable to access the internet from my room even when directly connected. When I addressed this with the concierge, I received a shrug as a reply. The "business center" had one old computer but was poorly equipped with no paper in the printer, no fax or shredder.

Once you pass through the gardens, there is a steep stone staircase leading to the hotel lobby. Because we were there on business, we needed to transport a small but heavy carryon-sized suitcase up and down these stairs daily. Not once in the entire 10 days of our stay did we see a doorman. The concierge just watched us walk by and did not offer to help us up or down the stairs with the valise, nor even attempt to open the large, heavy door as a courtesy.

There were not many guests in the hotel, so the breakfast buffet was monotonous with a limited selection. Frequently there were no hot offerings. The fruit was not as fresh as it should be as it appeared to be served for days until consumed. The dinner choices were extremely limited. We got the impression that the one waiter would have preferred to be in his room rather than be on duty serving dinner. The food was not typical of a 5-star hotel.

The Excelsior Vittorio is over-rated and over-priced. We were all very disappointed with the hotel and will go back to the Sorrento Hilton in the future. The Hilton is a little further from the center of Sorrento, but the Hilton's service and rooms meet the American standard of comfort.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank KaytoRocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We went in a group of 25 in November for a business trip and the hotel and its staff were 100% excellent really. The hotel is very dramatic, perched on a sheer cliff 100 metres above the shore. Stunning views up the coast and across the Bay of Naples. Palm trees and Roman columns in the garden.

The hotel itself is beautiful with a slight 'fake-classic' feel. The staff are fantastic, utterly charming in a way that only Italians can be. The rooms have big vaulted ceilings, the breakfasts are incredible. A big thank you to the hotel and a strong recommendation from our large British group.

The only minus was no swimming pool (out of season) and I would have thought a member of the Leading Hotels in the World would have a swimming pool 12 months a year.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrDemandingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We stayed at this hotel in June 2010, it was superb, the sea view room was spacious and clean, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Stayed here at the end of a vacation with my wife, and was utterly disappointed. Having stayed in various luxury hotels in NYC and other prime vacation spots throughout the world, including other areas of Italy, this was the most underwhelming and overpriced hotel we have visited. Acknowledging the difference between four and five star hotels in Europe as compared to other places throughout the world, the hotel is in no way a five star hotel. We had several problems with the room (see Cons). We informed the staff, and though the staff is generally friendly, they were unwilling to accommodate a room change since the hotel was fully booked (despite promising an alternative when we first spoke with them), and offered no further concessions for our troubles. Just a smile and an apology. Once pushed, they offered a free meal (which was our worst meal in Italy), and then said they would not cover drinks after we ate the meal. Complete waste of money. For almost the same price you can stay at a true luxury hotel on the Amalfi Coast.

Pros: Central location in Sorrento; gardens, grounds and common areas are pretty and well-maintained; nice views of Bay of Naples.

Cons: Rooms are small and awkwardly shaped; beds are uncomfortable, old and unclean with bugs seen around them; bathrooms in non-suites are small and the toilet spills onto floor when flushed, shower drains are slow and create standing water, shower has old European style half door so water spills all over the place, drains on the bathroom floor allow smells from other bathrooms to permeate through the room, and poor offering of soap/shampoo with no body lotion offered (which is unheard of in a luxury hotel); tacky, old and unclean Victorian style decor that loses its charm the second you leave the common areas (apparently they have one modern room in the entire hotel, which makes no sense); small TVs; horrible food; Wi-Fi didn't work in room as promised.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Udo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

The hotel is in the perfect location in Sorrento - though in the center, it road leads away from the noise and is situated right be the cliff with wonderful ocean views.
We had a suite with ocean view so the room couldn't be better and we had fresh towels 2/day [very nice]. The staff were very polite and helpful so we couldn't ask for more - except from none of them seem to enjoy their jobs, which made the whole experience a bit fake. The breakfast was adequate but nothing special and though the pool was wonderful, it could have used a good cleaning [or more bleach] and it was a shame it didn’t have sea views.

I still recommend this hotel as you won't get much better views, service and food [in their main restaurant] in Sorrento!

Be sure to visit Positano by boat - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SummerBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Having stayed in Sorrento for numerous holidays previously, usually staying at the Grand Hotel Royal, we decided to go for a more central location and what we thought a little more up market hotel.....how wrong could we have been! Despite the beauty of the hotel we were very disappointed overall. The Vittoria restaurant was only open for breakfast so you do not get the choice of where to eat as is advertised which is very misleading to say the least. The food was very mediocre and most of the time we ended up eating out not good to say we had paid for half board. Having said that the staff were superb and very friendly but having paid 5k for a weeks holiday, we had better food and service in a less star rated hotel in Sorrento than the Excellsior.Sadly we will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whittaker58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,721 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,378 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria

Address: Piazza Tasso, 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £330 - £1,189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-regarded Hotel comprising several buildings & newer villas in a clifftop garden, with fine views of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Excelsior Vittoria
Grand Excelsior Vittoria
Sorrento Hotel Excelsior
Sorrento Excelsior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing