We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel but no decent view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Sorrento Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Ranked #34 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel but no decent view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

We recently stayed at the Hilton Sorrento Palace and found the hotel of a fairy modern design. Service and staff were good as were the facilities. However, our mistake was booking a standard room, which are at the front of the hotel. There is no view whatsoever apart from the rock face. For the price paid, we found this very disappointing and were not informed of this at time of booking.
This is not a cheap hotel. Food and drinks are expensive. A bottle of water at meal time will set you back 5 euros. However, this is a comfortable hotel and food choice(buffet) is of an acceptable standard - provided they remember to top up certain dishes when it runs out.
Sorrento Town is around 10 mins walk downhill, and 15 mins back, but it is a lovely town with plenty of shops, restaurants and cafes.
Car hire is very expensive so do try to book before you go away. It can work out cheaper. Parking at the hotel will set you back 15 euros a day so try to get a parking bay within the white lined area. There is a charge for the blue parking areas, but you can only obtain tickets from a tabacconist which is in the town centre. A must is the 'Amalfi drive', with stop overs at Amalfi and Ravello - you will not be disappointed!
Do enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lockemup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,455
    965
    378
    96
    55
See reviews for
834
1,152
50
425
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

This was a great family spot, although it is obviously a business convention hotel. The huge pool was great - the only "American-sized pool" out of 4 hotels we stayed in throughout Italy. The grounds were great for young children, the walk in to town was really not that bad, although would have been tough for older folks. (the hotel should really break down and start offering free shuttle service, they could afford to raise lodging rates a little to compensate). Food was not too great, but the rate could not be beat, so overall I was very happy with this hotel choice. We had balconies with a seaview, it was really enjoyable to watch the boats on the water.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexTraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in May 2011, using points. Of all our hotels during out trip to Italty, this was the worst one (we stayed in Westin's otherwise). The hotel is in a beautiful location - the views are stunning. It is a 10 min walk from downtown which wasn't all that bad. The grounds of the hotel - its outdoor pool is stunning and large - the lobby is also beautiful. However, the rooms are another story. We got upgraded to an ocean view room - which was very nice - but even as a Gold member they would not upgrade us to the executive area (even though it was avialable since I checked on the internet). We were told however that we would get free breakfast for being Gold. However, we later realized - that everyone gets free breakfast - the area is not supervised and they never once asked for our room number. The breakfast was decent with lots of selection.


The rooms are tiny - and cheap looking. The room had a tube TV (most by now have some sort of flat screen tv) which was placed on a metal stand of some sort, along with the mini-fridge. This hotel lacked any sort of elegance. The bathroom was small and the shower so tiny! Another thing that bothered me as that you could hear everything! There is a gap between the doors and so anyone out in the hallway, could be heard from in the room. People with screaming kids, people opening and closing their doors, etc. The room had a balcony which was its only saving grace as you could really enjoy the views from your room.

Overall, it was an Ok hotel in the sense that it was clean, etc. but I believe the hotel is considered at a Category 6 - and that is so wrong - it is more like a cat 4-5 max. I've stayed at other Hilton hotels which were much nicer and worth the points. I would perhaps pay up to EUR 200/night - but nothing more.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MillerCorona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Excellent hotel. 10 - 20 minutes walk to town center. Friendly staff. First class indoor pool, usually empty when we were there. Excellent tours, we took Day in Rome, Amalfi drive and Pompeii/vesuvius. Outdoor pool excellent too. Wonderful views. Breakfast good.

Room Tip: Family room large, extra bathroom bonus. We fitted five in the room with extra bed. View of mounta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyTrip15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

This is a lovely hotel in a fantastic location. The pictures on the website and elsewhere do not do it justice. Views are amazing. Sorrento is a great town for a home base to tour Amalfi coast. The town is a quick walk away (the walk is very easy and really not that uphill coming back...challanging only for those who might be impaired). Our room was on the fourth floor and was a bit dated in terms of furnishing, but very clean and comfortable -- great a/c. We had an executive room, and I would highly recommend the extra cost for this perk. The 7th floor exec lounge is one of the best I've seen, with a private (albeit small plunge) pool, even better views than elsewhere on the property and a full array of drinks and spirits for the taking with indoor and outdoor seating overlooking the vista. The main breakfast room is very large and the buffet has a huge variety -- go early and you'll have a great selection, great service and a nice table. Go later, say 9am as we did one day, and its too crowded for the staff to handle the amount of guests. This is a combination of a business hotel and a resort hotel -- there is a large conference center on the lower level but its generally well hidden from the resort areas so you dont feel like you are vacationing in the middle of someone else's conference.

The main pool is very nice...plenty of seating, towels and shade or sun available. Nice bar poolside for snacks and drinks. However, the main pool is the reason I give this hotel 4* instead of 5*. The pool closes at 6pm. In Southern Italy in the Summer, 6pm is the equivalent of 3pm elsewhere! The sun is still out, its somewhat cooler, and for an area where lunch is served at 2 or 3pm and dinner not until 8 or 9pm, we spent a few afternoons "admiring" the closed pool from behind the gate. From 6pm to say 9pm would be prime swimming time for those returing from a day of touring Amalfi, Capri or any of the fantastic sights in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aremk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

I booked this holiday as it had no single room supplement so although the cost per week was quite high, it wasn't any more than adding a nightly single supplement at a lesser hotel.

The hotel is lovely although a little lacking in character but then it is a world brand so not unexpected. The reception area is lovely with views straight through the bar to the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius. The bar and outside terrace were stunning and the staff incredibly charming and polite to this single lady traveller!

Breakfast was amazing and I ate outside every day - a perfect start. The half board dinner was very, very good - not the indistinguishable gloop that I usually find on that kind of self serve option. Plentiful, tasty and well presented given that it is serve yourself. There was also one chef served option too which I guess was something more expensive so that it didn't get snaffled all at once!

The pool area was wonderful with plenty of sunbeds at any time

The downside was my room - there was no single supplement because they do have quite a large proportion of single rooms but the single rooms are very basic. My room was only as wide as the patio doors with a single bed, wardrobe and the much mentioned metal stand with a tv and fridge on it. However, I had a balcony although it overlooked the cliff but it got the sun late afternoon so quite pleasant. Given that I had fabulous weather all week, I was hardly in my room but if it had not been so good I might have felt as if I had been put in a hall of residence! Also the doors were very noisy and given there were a lot of early starts from other guests, it was hard to get a lie in.
All in all a great choice for the single traveller - I never felt like I stood out when dining/in the bar. However, one suggestion I would make is that, bearing in mind the number of single travellers that it might be an idea to have what some hotels call a 'social table'. This means there's a table set aside for people who are holidaying alone to sit with other single travellers for dinner if they like.

Lovely hotel, great week's holiday and would love to return

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SazzB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Beautiful setting on a hillside overlooking Sorrento and the water. Definitely worth the price of upgrading to a room with a seaview because otherwise you are looking at the side of a rocky hill. Breakfast was included and was great- a good variety or Italian traditional breakfast foods and Americanized additions. Go EARLY to avoid big crowds.

There is an amazing infinity pool and deck on the roof of the hotel-- unfortunately it is not open to all guests... this is the beautiful pool they show in the photos on the website. It is reserved ONLY for their exclusive "club level" guests and we were asked to leave and escorted out (even after our hotel room key mistakenly granted us access). Instead we were relegated to another pool on the ground level-- a nice pool but swarming with children and noise and NOTHING like the view from the rooftop pool. We were very disappointed.

Internet is also a insanely overpriced and ridiculously slow.

Rooms are nice enough- spartan furnishings, old-school "box" pay televisions, and the bare minimums, but they were clean and afforded AMAZING views of the water.

Overall a great stay and highly reccomend the place. The walk to town is about 10-minutes but not too bad (much easier INTO town downhill than on your return trip to hotel). The town is lively and fun in the evenings and everything felt very clean and safe.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a seaview room- otherwise you will be disappointed. Also worth upgrading to the club lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JV101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,809 reviews
0.4 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sorrento Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sorrento Palace

Property: Hilton Sorrento Palace
Address: Via S. Antonio 13, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sorrento Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting destination all year round, the Hilton Sorrento Palace retains its charm throughout the seasons. The Hilton Sorrento Palace is only 5 minutes away from the historical centre of Sorrento, which is the ideal for shopping 7 days a week or enjoying the bustling nightlife. The Hotel offers a breathtaking sea view: just in front of you the enchanting Gulf of Naples dominated by Mount Vesuvius and from behind Punta Campanella you may catch a glimpse of the exclusive Isle of Capri. The Hotel offers rooms with sea view, garden view, mountain view and family rooms for 3 or 4 people. All Executive Rooms, Deluxe and Suites have large windows and balconies with breathtaking views over the Bay of Naples. Executive and Suite Guests also enjoy exclusive access to the Settimo Club Lounge, where a rich and varied buffet is always available and a private swimming pool waits for you. The property is located a 5-minute drive away from the port of Sorrento, where guests can catch ferries to the island of Capri. The Amalfi Coast is 30 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Hilton Sorrento Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sorrento Palace Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Palace
Sorrento Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing