We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Ranked #32 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh on Sea, Essex
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

If you are lucky enough to have a room with a sea view of Sorrento bay and Mount Vesuvius then you are going to have a wonderful experience! Had a room on the fifth floor. The Hilton is a great place to stay in Sorrento with the usual high standards of service expected with a Hilton.
Great breakfast and really friendly and welcoming staff from the check-in to the cleaning team.
The five minute walk to town is more like fifteen but that will be to Tasso Square the main shopping and eating area but a pleasant stroll nevertheless. There is a bus from the Hilton, line E, but would suggest the walk.
Internet is not free but quite cheap from the foyer unless you bring a laptop for the room.
Slept like a log as the beds are very comfortable and little noise after midnight.
No faults so book in and enjoy the experience! Will definately be back in the future.

Room Tip: Request a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bazzerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,594
    1,024
    395
    99
    58
See reviews for
892
1,235
52
475
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here at the end of June/beginning of July 2011 for our 30th wedding anniversary. We went here on the recommendation of friends who had been about five years ago. Firstly - let me be fair and list the good points - nicely appointed hotel - we had a room on the ground floor with a lovely sunny patio style balcony - hotel gave us a bottle of champagne on the day of our anniversary (many thanks) - my husband was unwell on the last day and they gave us a courtesy room till we left as our room was pre-booked (again, many thanks) - lovely views from the swimming pool area - never felt overcrowded - town is within walking distance - gym is excellent, great equipment and fully air conditioned. I think we paid a fair price for the hotel.
To give a balanced view - there are some things that we felt could have been improved - it costs 22 euros a day to use the internet (isn't this a five star hotel? do you therefore expect to pay for wifi?). You can pay as you go, but you are charged per minute and it takes about 3 minutes to get on to the internet - you can very quickly clock up 7 or 8 euros just for a quick glance at your e.mails. Other hotels seem to charge 1 euro for 10 minutes and their systems are much, much quicker - this seriously needs addressing. Food was good, but not exceptional. It is buffet style and there is adequate choice - but we have stayed in other hotels with much more choice and I would say the Hilton's choice was average. Drinks are 'eye-wateringly' expensive - e.g. 13 euros for a gin and tonic - 9 euros for a brandy, 7 or 8 euros for 40 cl beer (not a pint). I stood behind some people who ordered 6 glasses of wine, 6 beers (which would be a 40 cl measure) and a pizza - their bill was 121 euros!!! Everyone says Italy is expensive, but we thought this was very expensive. I know the situation with the euro aggravates the problem, but this does seem expensive to me. Fortunately, I am not a drinker so we only experienced the expensive drink problem once when sitting with another couple (who very kindly returned the favour and bought our drinks the following night).

To sum up - all in all, our stay was pleasant - for the right price, we would go back. The drink prices can be avoided by going into town and the internet problem only applies if you need access during your holiday time. However, I'm trying to give people a balanced view. Staff were very efficient and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRRStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Great hotel on the hill with lovely environment and service.
Walk to down is 15 minutes-longer returning as uphill. Great walk.
The exterior of the hotel has large swimming pools, activities for kids, tennis courts and even a lemon grove for relaxing. Our room was lovely overlooking the bay.
The manager goes out of his way to accommodate guests.

Room Tip: Make your reservation early and request an upgrade-as available. Strive to be a Hilton Honors member...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snoopuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We have just returned from a week half board at the Hilton. Please do your homework. I was shocked at the prices for beverages! 5 euro for coke and 8 for a glass of beer! Reception staff could not accommodate our request to have 2 rooms next to each other ( we had an elderly lady with us) They were very matter of fact. We did not get our travel agent welcome pack until much later that evening. Not made to feel special at all. The rooms were nice but a disappointing view of the rocks. Breakfast good( drinks incuded here!) Dinner variable. buffet style mixture of hot and cold. No complimentary soft drinks at all. So if you don't drink alcohol it is 5 euro for water! Cheaper to order bottle of wine than by the glass! Pool lovely. Indoor poor closed. ( winter season only)

Bar nice with longe music pianist and mandolin player.
Gardens lovely, lemon and orange groves.
Breakfast staff cheerful. Dinner staff in the main friendly. They do not provide non alcoholic drinks lists so you need to know what you want and the prices before hand.

No tea making facilities in the rooms so again you have to pay if you want this after dinner in the bar. No complimenary water in rooms unless you have a vaild Hilton Honours card! ( This automatically expires if not used within a year) You have to ask for a safety deposit key!

I possibly would visit again but would not choose half board.
We booked through a travel agent.

It is a good 10-15 minute walk to town so be prepared and ensure you have a map. No shuttle service provided by hotel.

We have experienced many Hilton hotels all over the world and I have to say this was disappointing. I thought it was much over priced and not what I was expecting.
Again check out was very business like. No pleasantries at all!
I know others have had better experiences but simple "enjoy your stay" and "thank you" at reception goes a long way.
We could not afford an executive suite which appears to be well stocked.
A large drinks bill at the end which was mainly soft drinks and teas and coffee. There was avending machine on floor 5 which was averagely priced.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ridgewaylass5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Best Hotel and service in Sorrento, we really enjoyed the stay and will come back on the future
Location is great; you could walk or take the Hotel shuttle to downtown
We have rented a car there, don’t worry about the 15 Euro parking fee as I always find a free parking spot outside for my entire stay (5 days) and its even closer than their parking area
Included breakfast was awesome so many variety and good food, coffee shop and restaurant at the hotel were great with a very professional service you should try them
You ask for a coffee or drink then you will get all kind of other appetizers of drink on the house, very nice view from their terrace, swimming pool is big and great, the kids really enjoyed it, if you have a small kids try their kids club
Our stay at the hotel was great except one incident happened to us while we were having breakfast on the terrace enjoying the shade under one of their big umbrella, one of the staff moved the umbrella away from us to cover other table then I told her that you took the shade away from us by moving it but she didn’t care and left me I found that rude then I pulled the umbrella myself back as that behaviours made me really mad then I went to talk to the manager on charge she came over to inquire from another waitress then she told her that was Isabella not me but didn’t the manger didn’t do that much trying to hep

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nemir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel (10 year gap between stays) The improvements to the hotel are fantastic and the staff are very helpful. Anything we asked for was delt with efficiently and quickly. The food on half board basis was 7 out of 10 and the other restaurants are better.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9RussellHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Looked like Sorrento's largest hotel; great situation above the town with sea views across the Bay of Naples to Mt. Vesuvius and Naples itself (seaview room). or the cliff face (std room). BIG public areas inside the hotel, with sofas on the enormous staircases that no-one will sit on, indoor pool that no-one goes to,and a very spacious reception and bar area. In every case, I couldn't fault the staff - polite and helpful - though the table service by the pool could have been a little speedier - but hey, you're on holiday! Special mentions must go to Rosetta in the breakfast room who smiled all the time even though the queue for pancakes never stopped (one day she had to look after the waffle machine, two pancake hotplates, and the egg section all by herself without seeming to lose her smile!) and another mention to Giuseppe in the outside bar/restaurant who was most attentive and charming - well done!
Best thing about the breakfast - huge choice of food and the fresh orange juice machine - get there before it gets blocked by rogue orange halves and has to be dismantled daily
Minus points - and there are just three:-
1) WiFi access is expensive - join the call for free wifi access in all hotels -even if it's just free in the lobby area. Not expensive to install.
2) Car parking - available on a large piece of land about 200m distant from the hotel - 15 euros a day! When you're paying in excess of 200 euros a day for your room, this is highway robbery. You might understand it in the crowded town centre, but not out of town. There is limited road parking outside the front of the hotel, but we never found a space in 7 days.
3) Not enough parasols by the pool to give shade
Enjoyed our stay, apart from the above points which have been submitted to the hotel by me in writing - let's see if I get a response

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,001 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,292 reviews
1.2 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,276 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,483 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sorrento Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sorrento Palace

Property: Hilton Sorrento Palace
Address: Via S. Antonio 13, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#27 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sorrento Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting destination all year round, the Hilton Sorrento Palace retains its charm throughout the seasons. The Hilton Sorrento Palace is only 5 minutes away from the historical centre of Sorrento, which is the ideal for shopping 7 days a week or enjoying the bustling nightlife. The Hotel offers a breathtaking sea view: just in front of you the enchanting Gulf of Naples dominated by Mount Vesuvius and from behind Punta Campanella you may catch a glimpse of the exclusive Isle of Capri. The Hotel offers rooms with sea view, garden view, mountain view and family rooms for 3 or 4 people. All Executive Rooms, Deluxe and Suites have large windows and balconies with breathtaking views over the Bay of Naples. Executive and Suite Guests also enjoy exclusive access to the Settimo Club Lounge, where a rich and varied buffet is always available and a private swimming pool waits for you. The property is located a 5-minute drive away from the port of Sorrento, where guests can catch ferries to the island of Capri. The Amalfi Coast is 30 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Sorrento Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sorrento Palace Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Palace
Sorrento Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing