We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Ranked #33 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Just returned from Hilton Sorrento Palace after a very enjoyable holiday. After reading previous reviews I was a little apprehensive but I was pleasantly surprised. The food was varied, well presented and delicious - the dining room bright and airy with fabulous views. Our room was clean and comfortable and I would suggest that you request a room with a sea view. I do however think that internet access should be free in a hotel of this calibre, particularly as it is used for business conferences as well. The walk into Sorrento old town is about ten to fifteen minutes but this is fine if you have normal mobility. It is very easy to access the bus, ferry and rail network should you wish to sight see independently. Try the Officers Club in town in the evening as entertainment in the hotel was limited. Happy Hour between 5pm to 6pm is a good idea for an aperitif around the pool.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,388)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Sorrento Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,992 - 1,998 of 3,388 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

The Hilton in Sorrento is no palace but it is a good 4* hotel. Perhaps the high prices in Italy at the moment may lead people to think they're in a 5* establishment, but they're not - nor does the hotel claim to be.
However, what it does offer is a family friendly poolside holiday in a great location where you can chill and thoroughly relax.
The Good: Staff in general were excellent. Executive lounge staff were fabulous and housekeeping friendly, observant and on the ball. I do agree though that reception staff need to learn how to smile. They were somewhat frosty in their approach shall we say, although polite and efficient.
We booked an executive room to give us access to the Settimo Lounge on the top floor. If you can manage this then do so. Firstly the facilities it offers are superb ( they raised my impression of the hotel from acceptable to very good.) Secondly it will save you money in the long run. The lounge provides complimentary drinks and nibbles throughout the day and Hilton prices are not low; 10 Euro for a glass of wine in the bar, 5 Euro for a coke by the pool. It soon adds up. The room was fine, a good size, on the 4th floor ( they seem to have ex. rooms on several floors ) and an additional bed for our son was full size - not a z- bed and didn't impact on the feeling of space.
We ate breakfast in the main dining area as opposed to the executive lounge. A wonderful choice although queues for omelettes and crepes/waffles were off-putting for the majority of our stay. Standards of service varied enormously - they tended to run out of teapots etc when it got busy, but what I would say is the supervisory staff, there to ensure breakfast ran smoothly, were superb and always picked up on problems.
The hotel was clean throughout although some lower level areas looked tired. Gym was good and usually quiet. The pool area was well maintained and great fun for adults and children alike. And our room did have a key-coded safe! No need to worry about losing the key. Turn down service was reliable and professional.
The Not So Good : What let our room down, in my opinion, was the very outdated bathroom. If you like the retro look this is surely the hotel for you! It was clean and tidy but the ancient shower, old tiling and lack of illuminated mirror highlighted its age. Badly needs refurbing. Added to this, on our first two days there was an almost hospital like smell in the hotel. I don't know if we just became accustomed to it, but it eventually disappeared. At its height though it was most unpleasant.
Breakfast, though excellent in its choice, was a bit of a 'bun fight' and not really relaxing. We ate breakfast in the executive lounge on our last day and I wish we'd taken it there more often.
To add to a few comments made by other reviewers:
Walk into Sorrento - differing opinions are due I think, to the fact that people are taking different routes. The quickest way we found was no more than 10 minutes to the main street in Sorrento. Walk down the bank to the main road, cross over and bear left. Keeping the Parco Ibsen on your right walk through the gate of the old city walls and there you are, right on the Corso Italia. It's really not onerous at all although I agree if you are infirm it may be prove difficult.
Hilton Honours Lounge - is situated on the second floor and food and drink wise looked very similar to the Settimo lounge. What it didn't have was the fabulous terrace and the splash pool of the upper lounge which were great.
So, a good family friendly hotel in a beautiful area of Italy. Well positioned for exploring the coast. Great for children, relaxing for adults. Sorrento is very commercialised but you can still find good food and amazing wine! This is not a 5* hotel so adjust your expectation levels accordingly. However, what it does it does well. But, remember, at the moment Italy is a very expensive place to visit. Prepare yourself!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ReviewerCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

definitely not what we were expecting, the rooms looked like they had been designed by a13year old let loose in ikea. with the large spotlights hanging 3ft above the bed we felt like we were in a cheap movie. no wardrobes just a hanging rail, an old tv ,plastic floor covering and a very expensive minibar.not Hilton standard by along way! the public areas by contrast were much better all marble and glass.the pool area and gardens were excellent with great views.breakfast was very good with lots of choice, dinner unfortunately was not so good with an average buffet, very disappointing as we were expecting waiter service.the service generally was poor except when they were selling you overpriced drinks.one lad couldnt even put a knife and fork the right way round.dress code in the restaurant included jeans and trainers i didn't know trainers could be part of any dress code.the only part of this hotel that is 5 star are the prices. we will definitely be returning to sorrento it's a fabulous place but definitely not to the Hilton r.skipper

Room Tip: rooms noisy
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

This hotel is certainly not a palace from the exterior. It is surrounded by absolutely nothing and is a good 20 min. walk to the beach and 15 min walk to the city center. The lobby is lovely. The rooms are typical Hilton. It is not an area where I would care to walk around after dark. If you want to just sit by the pool and stay in your room, this hotel will do. €15. per day parking.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loralu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We had a lovely stay at this hotel but I was worried prior to going as some of the reviews had not been glowing. However, we are a family of 3 (grown up children left at home!) and spent a lot of time around the pool which is great with 4 pools connected by little slides - our 13 year old loved it. We had a family room with sea view and I would recommend you book this otherwise you could look out onto the cliff at the rear of the hotel or maybe a basement view. Although we didnt have a balcony the view was fab looking out over Sorrento and Vesuvius from the 3rd floor. Breakfast is very good with a huge variety on offer. Generally food and drink is expensive in the hotel but as we were by the pool we did buy lunch from the restaurant there, which was always very good. In the evenings we would walk into the town where there are many very good restaurants at much better value for money. After though we would always return to the hotel and sit out on the balcony at the bar and have a drink before going back to our room as the view at night is glorious. The walk to the town is merely 5/10 minutes and didn't bother us at all, however, if you have any difficulty walking or have a push chair you may need to get a taxi. The tours are very overpriced 30 euros per person to Pompei plus entrance, but we walked to the train station (10 minutes) and it was 3.40 euros return each and then 11 euros entrance but our child was free. You only need allow 2 hours at Pompei but go early it gets very hot!! The staff at the hotel were always helpul but perhaps not as friendly as if you were staying at a family run hotel - but thats what you would expect from a big hotel chain.

Room Tip: Request a sea view - why go to Sorrento and look out onto the cliff
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank windsorci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I was on an amazing trip all through Italy and Switzerland, breathtaking. I was so looking forward to going to Sorrento and Capri. We arrived at the Hilton and while an impressive hotel, what I strangely felt was missing was warmth. Don't get me wrong, this place is professional and gorgeous, the views will stop you dead in your tracks, but what I had grown accostom to throughout my journey in Italy was the warmth of the people and this was not there. The people seemed a tad alloof, and abrupt- that was my take. I had beens staying in similar hotels in terms of caiber, so this stood out. Also they were not helpful. Trying to get to town, which is a bit far away down from the hotel is a challenge, and you have to take a taxi., there is no shuttle, and we couldn't find out if there was a bus or anything, again lack of assistance from the hotel. We walked as much as we could but we did end up shoving a bunch of us in a taxi, much to the drivers horror.. after securring a crazy high price.. but getting back and using the nice prodcuts and enjoying the fact that house keeping folded my socks and underwear perfectly made the front desk rudeness dissipate. The rooms are made up so nice and after a really comfy sleep you awake to the most divine breakfast with a spectaculare view out looking all of Sorroento and over to Capri.. simply wonderful. I have said time and time again some of the best coconut yogurt I have ever had was sitting in that very room looking out at lemon trees and just thinking that with this view and this food, the world in fact just might be absolutely perfect. Worth the stay, just don't get offended by the rude front desk staff.. hopefully Hilton pays attention to these postings and can fix this issue. Also I bought a robe and they gave me the wrong size... turns out they just assume your size, they don''t ask, and I never thought to check, as I was in a rush, big mistake. The robes were a great deal but again don't rely on front desk staff, they got me the robe and grumbled about it.. and then to know that they think all americans/canadians are sized ginormous just makes me kinda mad.. so that was a let down, but I still liked staying there, it was that pretty.. just really kind of far away from the town. But so very very beautiful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scr8on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

In Brief,

Reception and check in were a little disappointing, not the best front of house welcome i have received. Nothing fundamentally wrong just not what you expect from Hilton.

Room - family room, well appointed, plenty room for 4 with excellent cleaning/maid service

Common areas - well designed and large in area. Lots of marble and glass

Swimming pool and facilities - superb for all ages, brilliant design and really well thought out.

overall very good and would have been excellent other than reception and on site prices for drinks etc. £5 for a glass of coke is far to much in any country and any hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weydin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
1,121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sorrento Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sorrento Palace

Address: Via S. Antonio 13, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#27 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £173 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sorrento Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting destination all year round, the Hilton Sorrento Palace retains its charm throughout the seasons. The Hilton Sorrento Palace is only 5 minutes away from the historical centre of Sorrento, which is the ideal for shopping 7 days a week or enjoying the bustling nightlife. The Hotel offers a breathtaking sea view: just in front of you the enchanting Gulf of Naples dominated by Mount Vesuvius and from behind Punta Campanella you may catch a glimpse of the exclusive Isle of Capri. The Hotel offers rooms with sea view, garden view, mountain view and family rooms for 3 or 4 people. All Executive Rooms, Deluxe and Suites have large windows and balconies with breathtaking views over the Bay of Naples. Executive and Suite Guests also enjoy exclusive access to the Settimo Club Lounge, where a rich and varied buffet is always available and a private swimming pool waits for you. The property is located a 5-minute drive away from the port of Sorrento, where guests can catch ferries to the island of Capri. The Amalfi Coast is 30 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Sorrento Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sorrento Palace Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Palace
Sorrento Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing